We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and tasteful decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Traveller's Cave Hotel
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Ideal location and tasteful decor”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Despite being a bit pricey, we opted for Traveller's Cave Hotel for its ideal location (high up in the mountain and away from the crowd) and it's proven to be a right decision. The views from our balcony and the hotel's rooftop terrace were terrific, people were nice and friendly, rooms and common areas tastefully decorated. If I revisit this area, will choose Traveller's Cave Hotel again.

Point to note: There're 3 Traveller's Caves at Goreme (hotel, pension, inn) run by the same owner. Even locals mix it up, so pay attention to the signs if arrive by own private transportation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacjac0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    83
    31
    5
    9
See reviews for
80
202
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The location is perfect, with a terrific view. The room was large, comfortable and very nice-- much nicer than we expected considering the modest price. We found the staff very accommodating- facilitating tours of the region, etc. Some people might find the running of the place too informal for their taste, but we loved it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Fabulous! Bekir and his staff were very welcoming. We were upgraded to a deluxe room (jacuzzi) and had a great time. The rooms were large and spacious. The beds were comfortable. The place was just built in 2007, so it is brand new and looks as if it was built last year. All of the nice touches make it feel very native: broken clay pots, underground city doors, all perfectly placed. The staff were very helpful and helped choose a day tour for us. There is free wifi and great air conditioning. It overlooks all of Goreme and is just great. We were also given a great going away gift: a great bottle of Cappadocian wine!

The only con was the transfer. Our driver on the way from Kayseri stopped at the grocery store AND picked his family up making a 1 hour ride last nearly 2 hours and 930 pm.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyvegaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

First of all I must say this beautifull Goreme hotel's location is one the best around all the others. They are located in a very advantage point of Goreme. At 6 o'clock in the morning you can observe and take wonderfull photos of baloons. Service is very simple but they are all very warm hearted, giving people. Especially Hakan Bey gave us very usefull recomandations. Price of this hotel is high for the season but it definetelly worth it, I saw many different nations in this hotel and they were all looking happy. Housekeeping and restaurant very good but they can do little bit better about breakfast.

Room Tip: try to get a room close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abubd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Location: the hotel was truly like staying in caves, with beautiful formations all around it. great view from the terrace where you could hangout in the evening or have coffee in the mornings.
The city center in a few mins walk away, easily accessible to a lot of restaurants.
Staff: I exchanged emails with Bekir (hotel staff) He was prompt and very helpful. he helped book my bus back from Goreme to istanbul, the hot air balloon ride for a great price 110 EUR,
a car and driver for two days for 12 people.
Other: we stayed there one night and checked out at 11am the next day but our bus wasn't until 7pm. The hotel has a few extra showers and bathroom. they kept our bags and gave us towels to use. Also dropped us to the bus stand in the city center.
They even got us scooty rental to explore the town around.

when u arrive by bus into goreme, there is a information office. just call from there and the hotel car will be there in less than 4 mins to pick you up.

absolutely lovely stay!

Room Tip: stay high closer to breakfast + reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shahpuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We splurged on a cave room with fireplace. The room is a good size and the bathroom large with a spa tub, heated towel rail and separate shower. Breakfast is buffet style eaten on the roof patio - fantastic view over Goreme. There are many small private areas with chairs dotted around the property if you want to chill out. So leave some time as the view really is spectacular!
Bekir and Jin really are super helpful and will help you decide what to do, and make sure you get to the event on time. The hotel is at the top of a mound, walking distance into town, but a ride is usually offered. There are many tours to do in the area - the Green Tour covers a lot, underground city, walk along the river, climbing around in a cave monastery..... The Turkish Night show is touristy - but well worth it. If you go to the Haman make sure you have a bikini bottom otherwise you will not be allowed in the spa. Also would not recommend ladies to join the men's side unless you are very comfortable with no clothes on in front of whoever is there!
We started our Turkey trip in Goreme so did not buy here, but the prices are the best here so wished we had!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedgewog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very happy with our choice of this hotel. Room had a great view and was very charmiıng. We were picked up and dropped off at the bus terminal and all tours were very well organısed. This hotel has lots of character and the host Hakan went out of his way to help us.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#16 of 77 in Goreme
1,022 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 77 in Goreme
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#19 of 77 in Goreme
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#15 of 77 in Goreme
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Cave Hotel

Property: Traveller's Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mahallesi Gorceli Sokak No 7 | Nevsehir, Goreme, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Goreme
#16 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Traveller's Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Traveller's Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller`s Cave Hotel Hotel Goreme
Travellers Cave Goreme
Traveller's Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing