We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a romantic cave!”
Review of Elif Star Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elif Star Caves
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a romantic cave!”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here in February/March 2008. We moved herefrom the Flintstones (disastrously cold and dirty rooms). The owners were so accommodating. Our room was beautiful. It was a real cave unlike in Flintstones. We had an electric blanket in the extremly comfortable bed. The room had lots of niches cut into the wall with candles placed into them and a box of matches - a very romantic touch to an already unique and comfortable room. The bathroom was spotless. The breakfasts were delicious! I loved that it was prepared freshly each morning. And the big portions set you up for the day.

I would recommend my family and friends to only stay here if visiting Goreme. For my enemies I'd recommend Flintstones!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    81
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
63
144
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Mustafa was a great host, very friendly and helpful, providing lots of information on the sights, a nicely drawn map with hiking routes, and dining options. I really enjoyed my stay in Goreme, especially at Elifstar Caves. The breakfast, as many other reviewers have noted, is delicious, with a range of options one can choose from. The view from the hotel rooms is also great, and at sunrise one can see the many hot air balloons landing over pigeon valley. The beds are extremely comfy, and all the rooms are cave rooms--something important to note, since many other hostels and hotels in Goreme claim to be situated in caves but aren't. In short, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2011

My friends, my mom and I were absolutely charmed by the region and the pension, but especially by its owner Mustafa! As most reviews already mention, he has been of great help in the organization of our daily activities, made excellent recommendations for restaurants, and was almost always available for a chat. It is the kind of places where Id happily stay for a much longer period of time. The environment was definately very peaceful; we felt very comfortable and welcomed.
Thank you, Mustafa :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielleMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Mustafa the owner was helpful and got us a really good deal on a balloon flight, even though we only decided at 10pm the night before that we wanted to do it.
He also recommended a good restaurant on the hill (I think they are his business partners but, all credit, it was by far the best place we ate at in Cappadocia and plus he got us a discount - ask him for the name as I've forgotten, begins with m).
The breakfast was good as you have a choice from a menu (most places just do a Turkish breakfast).
Our rooms were clean but on the basic side. It was more expensive than all the other places we stayed in Turkey except Istanbul so I think we were expecting a bit higher standard, but I think it is actually decent value and the problem is Goreme is a very touristy area and overall more expensive. The only other downside is that they don't clean the rooms unless you ask - we did ask one day and it wasn't done, but I suspect this was a communication issue as some of the staff don't speak much English.
It was also very quiet in the rooms at night, which was great.
Finally, we arrived at night and it was quite hard to find as the sign was not lit up - we suggested to Mustafa that he put a map (which he has already drawn and gives out) on his website but he said that if you ask anyone they will tell you the location. This may be true but not helpful if you arrive at 2am or are bad at following directions! It's near Flintstone's guesthouse, but the other side of the road.
If you want to contact him it's kapadokyamustafa@hotmail.com

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneInLondonStill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2011

is a beautiful hotel and very typical.
good rooms, family and good treatment
very good breakfast.
if i return to goreme I ever would do it in this hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eriki112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I can recommend this place - Hasan took great care of me as a single female traveller - it's clean and safe. He even helped me buy a carpet.
Clean rooms, and quiet and very well located.

Room Tip: Good Place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ursula43093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We spent 1 night at the Elif Star Caves while visiting Cappadochia. It is a real cave hotel with ALL rooms in caves (some hotels say they have cave rooms but when you get there, they are full and you are put in a normal room). Rooms were spotlessly clean; bed and linens excellent quality. Bathrooms clean and modern; floor is cold since it is tile on rock so bring slippers. For those who need it, there is no TV in the hotel room, but there is one in the common area.

Staff were very accommodating. For supper, we were too tired to go out so they arranged for a restaurant to deliver food for us and we ate in their common area. They also offered to drive us anywhere we needed to go (for no additional charge). The hotel is near the main streets of Goreme - restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#8 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anatolian Houses
Anatolian Houses
#22 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dervish Cave House
Dervish Cave House
#32 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#23 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elif Star Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elif Star Caves

Property: Elif Star Caves
Address: Uzundere Caddesi No 37, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Goreme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2 star — Elif Star Caves 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over Goreme and Pigeon Valley, the family-run Elif Star Cave Hotel has a terrace and a restaurant. It offers traditionally decorated cave rooms and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Goreme Bus Terminal is within 5 minutes' walk. If you like to stay in a historical Orthodox Cave Monastery, Elif star Caves is exactly the hotel that you looking for. All the caves carved out at 8 century... Chapel, dining room, foodstore, shelter, watchtower, pigeon house, winery... The cave rooms at Elif Star are heated and feature traditional textiles, parquet floors and carpets. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet and shower. Each is decorated with a combination of Ottoman and Greek interior style. You can taste a traditional Turkish breakfast while you waching Fairychimneys. The hotel's a la carte restaurant also serves traditional home made dishes like kofte, Pottery Kebab and fresh local trout. Dining is possible either indoors or at the open courtyard with flowers. The reception works 24 hours aday, provides room service. Laundry and ironing services are available upon request, at an extra charge. Guests can relax in the garden and enjoy scenic views of Goreme from the hotel's balconies. Hotel Elif Star Cave also organises Hot Air Balloon Rides and Semi-Private Daily Cappadocia Tours with small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elif Star Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elif Star Caves Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey
Elif Star Caves Hotel Goreme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing