We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!”
Review of Elif Star Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elif Star Caves
Ranked #30 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We went to Cappadocia in November and stayed on the third floor. This hotel gave us a wonderful cave experience with a great price. The room was warm and cozy and the warm water was in the shower was welcoming after cold days outside. The staff at the hotel MADE our experience. They were freindly and helpful in everything we did. They made a wonderful breakfast and were always happy to help us in whatever ways they could. We will definitely be back and will stay here!

Room Tip: All of the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank texanturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    81
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
63
144
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Ali and his brothers (new management, can't remember their names...) were the most friendly and helpful people i̇'ve met during my stay in Turkey.
As soon as I checked in, Ali gave me the best offers on tours around Göreme region, restaurant and even a very nice hamam to relax with discounts.
I've spent 2 nights in Elif Star Caves and it certainly was the best hotel I've stayed during my 2 weeks holidays: the room was cozy, warm at night, clean bathroom, hot water all the time and complimentary tea/ coffee. I also got the best view during sunset, possibility of shower after check out, pick up and drop off at bus stop (center of Göreme) and always with a smile. The breakfast was also delicious with home made fruit jams (a variety of choices for breakfast). I couldn't ask for more...
Thank you all so much and hope to stay at your hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tulipa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed in October, on third floor. We loved our 2-bed room. Every part of the hotel (except the flies in the breakfast room) was utterly charming. Great location, with wonderful walks up into the hills (and into a hidden church) across the street, and balloons overhead every morning. They sent us to our favorite rooftop restaurant in Goreme -- the SOS. When electricity went off, they'd start the generator quickly. (Two things I would have liked in our room: a mat to make the bathroom floor less slippery when showering, and something lighter than the very heavy duvet for cover at night.) But what an experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hangini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Elif Star Caves is under new management and is still a warm friendly place to stay. The new managers are very friendly and accesssible. The rooms are comfortable and the view excellent. The hot water system could do with some improvement.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsaldanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Friendly staff, great location, and big rooms...caves, I mean. And the made to order breakfast is just cherry on top. Our hosts gave us all the information that we needed for our stay in Goreme; great tips on which tours to take; and generally helpful with any questions that we had. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the blankets were nice and warm. I can't say enough good things about Elif Star Caves. Great value for the kind of service we received.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ani_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here in February/March 2008. We moved herefrom the Flintstones (disastrously cold and dirty rooms). The owners were so accommodating. Our room was beautiful. It was a real cave unlike in Flintstones. We had an electric blanket in the extremly comfortable bed. The room had lots of niches cut into the wall with candles placed into them and a box of matches - a very romantic touch to an already unique and comfortable room. The bathroom was spotless. The breakfasts were delicious! I loved that it was prepared freshly each morning. And the big portions set you up for the day.

I would recommend my family and friends to only stay here if visiting Goreme. For my enemies I'd recommend Flintstones!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Mustafa was a great host, very friendly and helpful, providing lots of information on the sights, a nicely drawn map with hiking routes, and dining options. I really enjoyed my stay in Goreme, especially at Elifstar Caves. The breakfast, as many other reviewers have noted, is delicious, with a range of options one can choose from. The view from the hotel rooms is also great, and at sunrise one can see the many hot air balloons landing over pigeon valley. The beds are extremely comfy, and all the rooms are cave rooms--something important to note, since many other hostels and hotels in Goreme claim to be situated in caves but aren't. In short, highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.2 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#9 of 76 in Goreme
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#47 of 76 in Goreme
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 76 in Goreme
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ansia Hotel
Ansia Hotel
#1 of 30 in Uchisar
218 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jacob's Cave Suites
Jacob's Cave Suites
#1 of 9 in Cavusin
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 76 in Goreme
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elif Star Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elif Star Caves

Property: Elif Star Caves
Address: Uzundere Caddesi No 37 | Cappadocia, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Goreme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Elif Star Caves 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over Goreme and Pigeon Valley, the family-run Elif Star Cave Hotel has a terrace and a restaurant. It offers traditionally decorated cave rooms and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Goreme Bus Terminal is within 5 minutes' walk. If you like to stay in a historical Orthodox Cave Monastery, Elif star Caves is exactly the hotel that you looking for. All the caves carved out at 8 century... Chapel, dining room, foodstore, shelter, watchtower, pigeon house, winery... The cave rooms at Elif Star are heated and feature traditional textiles, parquet floors and carpets. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet and shower. Each is decorated with a combination of Ottoman and Greek interior style. You can taste a traditional Turkish breakfast while you waching Fairychimneys. The hotel's a la carte restaurant also serves traditional home made dishes like kofte, Pottery Kebab and fresh local trout. Dining is possible either indoors or at the open courtyard with flowers. The reception works 24 hours aday, provides room service. Laundry and ironing services are available upon request, at an extra charge. Guests can relax in the garden and enjoy scenic views of Goreme from the hotel's balconies. Hotel Elif Star Cave also organises Hot Air Balloon Rides and Semi-Private Daily Cappadocia Tours with small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Elif Star Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elif Star Caves Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey
Elif Star Caves Hotel Goreme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing