We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elif Star Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elif Star Caves
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Elif Star Caves Hotel is perfect place. The localization is very good. Rooms are lovely, warm and comfortable. People (especially owner of the hotel) are very helpful and friendly.
I can recommend this place to everyone! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    81
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
63
144
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed at Elif Star in November 2011 and also again in January 2012. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, individually decorated rooms (the rooms have stone carvings, kilims and decorations on the walls), retained heat well while it was freezing outside, always hot water in shower, abundance of fresh linen and my room was kept very clean.
good variety of delicious breakfast to choose from, plenty of coffee and a never ending pot of çay!! Staff are attentive and always there to help with queries, tours and bookings.
Ali and Ali thanks for making my stay so wonderful :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

I like the laid back style of this genuine car hotel, it's fun. Good Internet and a reasonable breakfast. Downside was the hot water and the fumes from the coal fired water heating system.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Thanks so much to the staff for a lovely stay. Room was a lovely cave with ensuite and a heater for the cold weather on all the time so cosy at night. Great view from the room too. All tours and the shuttles to and from Kayseri airport arranged easily by the staff. Breakfast good too. Nearby to the restaurants and shops. All in all a great little place to stay in Goreme. Thanks to both Alis for all their help. Kirsten

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at Elif Star Caves in Goreme in April 2012. We are a family of four and we were very happy with the spacious cave room and good value for the price. The owner of the place - Ali - was very helpful and friendly. Airport transfers were arranged through him and worked out well. We also went on the Green tour arranged through the hotel. Ali was nice enough to drive me to a carpet showroom in Avanos. I did not buy a carpet there as I thought the prices were inflated, but it was a very instructive/educational trip. The morning breakfast is somewhat limited in terms of options, but was adequate for us. In fact, Elif Star had omelets as an option which was not the the case in other hotels we stayed at in Istanbul. The atmosphere of the cave hotel room was nice and the beds were among the most comfortable I've slept on - my daughter really enjoyed it. The bathroom was quite functional with good hot water. All in all, we were very pleased with our stay in Goreme at Elif Star.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NivyUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Hotel owner very helpfull and friendly! nice authentic atmosphere in the rooms.. and very homey breakfast offered! a must to experience..would stay there again for sure...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZainaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The view and beauty of our real cave room was a wonderful experience. Nice smelling sheets and confortable bed, the cave rooms are a soundproof most quiet place to sleep. But the best of it all is the staff and owners. Helpful in every way, they make you feel like the most special guests in a very friendly athmosphere; they really go out of their way to make your stay memorable. We really felt part of Goreme! I strongly recommend this hotel for it's authenticity, comfort, ambiance and turkish hosting experience at it's best!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yultraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#8 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anatolian Houses
Anatolian Houses
#20 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dervish Cave House
Dervish Cave House
#29 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#25 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elif Star Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elif Star Caves

Property: Elif Star Caves
Address: Uzundere Caddesi No 37 - Goreme (Nevsehir) | Cappadocia, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Goreme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2 star — Elif Star Caves 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over Goreme and Pigeon Valley, the family-run Elif Star Cave Hotel has a terrace and a restaurant. It offers traditionally decorated cave rooms and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Goreme Bus Terminal is within 5 minutes' walk. If you like to stay in a historical Orthodox Cave Monastery, Elif star Caves is exactly the hotel that you looking for. All the caves carved out at 8 century... Chapel, dining room, foodstore, shelter, watchtower, pigeon house, winery... The cave rooms at Elif Star are heated and feature traditional textiles, parquet floors and carpets. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet and shower. Each is decorated with a combination of Ottoman and Greek interior style. You can taste a traditional Turkish breakfast while you waching Fairychimneys. The hotel's a la carte restaurant also serves traditional home made dishes like kofte, Pottery Kebab and fresh local trout. Dining is possible either indoors or at the open courtyard with flowers. The reception works 24 hours aday, provides room service. Laundry and ironing services are available upon request, at an extra charge. Guests can relax in the garden and enjoy scenic views of Goreme from the hotel's balconies. Hotel Elif Star Cave also organises Hot Air Balloon Rides and Semi-Private Daily Cappadocia Tours with small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Elif Star Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elif Star Caves Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey
Elif Star Caves Hotel Goreme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing