We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy rooms, excellent breakfast”
Review of Elif Star Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elif Star Caves
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

The room we stayed in turned out to be the best in the whole trip. It was all made of rock and stayed cool at night. In the morning you can see the balloons rising from behind the mountains and flying over Goreme. The staff was very friendly and helpful and breakfast was so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JumpingLangur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Elif Star Caves
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Elif Star for two nights last month (17/8 &18/8). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this pleasant, centrally located hotel. The manageress, Perihan, made up for her inexperience in her new position with amicablity and zealousness. Communication was never an issue for us, for two reasons: Firstly her grasp of the English language was 1000 times better than my Turkish! And secondly, we were able to navigate our way around any linguistic obstacles with imagination and humour. We engaged with her, precocious Nimet (daughter), Gizem (junior manageress) and Erurul (junior assistant) on many topics. This interaction was as precious to us, if not more so, as our witnessing of the surreal Cappadochian landscape. The room itself was spotless, large, secure and 'air-conditioned' cool with unproblematic hot showers. Hopefully it will maintain all these charms for our next visit..... Thank to all at Elif Star Caves. Happy travels. Asokan Sadayan - Durban, South Africa, 22/8/2012.

Room Tip: First floor on the left.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Asokan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Had a mediocre stay at this hotel. The hotel was authentic and "cave like" but we had trouble communicating with management and lacked a few things.

We had a language barrier with most of the staff including main manager. Luckily her daughter was able to communicate with us better. Though we arrived early, our room required several hours to become ready and we were placed in line behind another couple who the manager told us was "angry", although they seemed fine to me. However the staff was helpful in setting up the tours, although the manager kept pushing the camel rides, which her husband owned.

Our room was up 4 flights of stairs and as I was recovering from a torn calf muscle, I had to request assistance carrying my suitcase and had trouble walking up and down each time. Again, I probably could have asked for another room but did not want to make my cousin wait longer than we already had, as it was just a one night stay.

Our bathroom lacked some amenities (we were given an almost finished roll of toilet paper) and the toilet leaked. We also had trouble with locking/unlocking our door. There was no A/C in the rooms, which bothered my cousin especially when we tried napping during the day. The free wireless internet was great, but spotty in room.

They had no credit card machine so we were required to pay in cash. They directed us to the ATM if we didn't have it. I did not like this at all but luckily only had to pay for one night and one tour. We were also wondering what to do in case of emergency once reception closed - there were no phones in the room and no emergency numbers or instructions given.

This hotel did have a good location within the cluster of hotels in Goreme and we were close to where our hot air balloon ride picked up/dropped off. It also had a nice outdoor patio area and a good, hearty breakfast, which was included in the very affordable nightly rate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosyNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I'm writing this review to counter the one that was pretty tough on the place. Elif Star Caves is, first of all, not a luxury hotel. It's quite nice, and an exceptional value, but it's not first-class. If you want that, go elsewhere.

In my opinion, it's a great value in a very touristy area. You're right up the street from town and all the major necessities. The staff are wonderfully warm and "Turkish" in all the best ways (very service-oriented and helpful). It's true that Perihan (the manager, and yes, she has a name) and her daughter Nimet (very young and lovely) are working very hard to manage the hotel. I, too, had some problems with the hot water.

But I was won over by the location, my 14-year-old son's near-refusal to leave his bed (the best in Turkey, he said) or our cave room, and Perihan an Nimet and the rest of the staff, who were always helpful, warm, and welcoming.

The rooms are mostly quite large (I saw several) and the bathroom as well. The shower had no curtain/door, but we didn't care as the water ran to the drain. It was a cozy place to stay, and at E40 a night, I considered it a real bargain.

And not to feel any pressure, but there is the opportunity to do various tours and events. We took the Green Tour, which I'd highly recommend (to Ihlara Valley), and Turkish Night (a bit of a tourist "luau", if you've ever been to Hawaii--kitschy but cute, and the booze runs all night...).

At any rate, my son and I really had a great stay at Elif and we LOVED Perihan and Nimet. Please, no matter what you do, try to get to know your hosts as you travel. They are often wonderful, warm, and interesting people, especially the Turks. They have interesting lives and histories and your travel will be enriched by getting to know them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christojb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Forget everything you've read in all of the other positive reviews: the management has changed very recently (just days before our 5-night stay at the beginning of July 2012) and the new management is having some serious start-up problems. At the moment, it seems that the entire 8-room hotel is being run by a woman who appears to have little experience running a hotel and her two charming and diligent but school-age daughters, with only occasional help from others, and nothing like a real staff. The biggest problem is hot water. Apparently, the manager turns it on between 06:00 and 10:00, which begs the question: what do you do if you wake up late? Or return hot and sweaty from a hike in the valley? She will turn it on if you ask, but it took a while to figure all this out. Don't expect your room to be cleaned every day. Ours was cleaned once in the middle of a 5-night stay. The wi-fi is spotty; the password supplied doesn't always work. And finally, at the end of our stay, I found out that the manager's credit card account hadn't been set up yet. Since I had the balloon reservation on the hotel bill, the bill was expensive. It was difficult to get enough cash from the ATMs in Göreme, and in any case I maxed out my daily card withdrawal and cash advance limits. If only the manager had said something a few days earlier, we could have planned better. On the positive side, the cave rooms are authentic and charming (although the bathrooms are quite spartan) and the views of the nearby fairy chimneys and caves from the terraces, while not the most spectacular in the area, are quite intriguing. The manager tries to be helpful and prepares a nice breakfast. Most of all, we paid very little (€225 in two with breakfast for 5 nights in a cave room).

All in all, we had a good time in Cappadocia and were able to deal with the problems at the hotel with a sense of humor. I can see potential in the hotel, and maybe once the startup problems are worked out, it will return to something like its former status. But, in the meantime, we cannot avoid recommending that one can probably do better elsewhere in Göreme.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mulsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The hotel is located in very beatiful and quiet part of the town, view from the room is amazing, we had 2 nights there wish we had more time, our room was amazing cave room it is just unbelievable experience. the hotel staffs were so helpful, very nice breakfast. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Had a 2 night stay at Elif Star Caves Hotel in Goreme during June 2012. It was just as the website and reviews had stated.....wonderful experience at a cave room. Ali & Ali were wonderful hosts and we enjoyed our stay there. It was close enough to restaurants and shopping, but down a quiet street so there was not too much traffic. They arranged all the transfers, tours etc. We also has a once in a life time experience with a balloon ride as well. Unfortunately, we just heard that the management has changed hands, so cannot vouch for standards in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nazmimukthar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 78 in Goreme
594 reviews
4.4 mi away
Elif Stone House
Elif Stone House
#23 of 66 in Urgup
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kismet Cave House
Kismet Cave House
#41 of 78 in Goreme
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#32 of 78 in Goreme
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artemis Cave Suites
Artemis Cave Suites
#14 of 78 in Goreme
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traveller's Cave Hotel
Traveller's Cave Hotel
#28 of 78 in Goreme
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elif Star Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elif Star Caves

Address: Uzundere Caddesi No 37 | Cappadocia, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Goreme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elif Star Caves 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over Goreme and Pigeon Valley, the family-run Elif Star Cave Hotel has a terrace and a restaurant. It offers traditionally decorated cave rooms and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Goreme Bus Terminal is within 5 minutes' walk. If you like to stay in a historical Orthodox Cave Monastery, Elif star Caves is exactly the hotel that you looking for. All the caves carved out at 8 century... Chapel, dining room, foodstore, shelter, watchtower, pigeon house, winery... The cave rooms at Elif Star are heated and feature traditional textiles, parquet floors and carpets. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet and shower. Each is decorated with a combination of Ottoman and Greek interior style. You can taste a traditional Turkish breakfast while you waching Fairychimneys. The hotel's a la carte restaurant also serves traditional home made dishes like kofte, Pottery Kebab and fresh local trout. Dining is possible either indoors or at the open courtyard with flowers. The reception works 24 hours aday, provides room service. Laundry and ironing services are available upon request, at an extra charge. Guests can relax in the garden and enjoy scenic views of Goreme from the hotel's balconies. Hotel Elif Star Cave also organises Hot Air Balloon Rides and Semi-Private Daily Cappadocia Tours with small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Elif Star Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elif Star Caves Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey
Elif Star Caves Hotel Goreme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing