We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elif Star Caves The Best In Goreme”
Review of Elif Star Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elif Star Caves
Ranked #35 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2008

I have been lucky enough to live in Turkey for 18 months in Ankara and was able to visit Cappadocia many times. Luckily for me I chose the Elif Star Caves!! Your hosts are Jacky and Mustafa and their delightful daughter ELIF.The 'cave rooms' are spotlessly clean and the bathrooms immaculate.Wonderfully furnished and warm as toast in winter and cool in summer. A wonderful breakfast is included cooked by Jacky with her home made jams a real treat. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, it is in the most amazing setting with fairy chimneys all around. Goreme is AMAZING.....GO!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tripper069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2008

After seeing a few reviews of some hotels on Trip Advisor we decided to go to Elif Star, couldn't have done anything better!!
The cave rooms are fantastic and each of them is unique, (we could choose ours as there were a couple available when we arrived). Both the room and the toilet were really clean and everything looked brand new.
Breakfast was lovely, and Jacky and Mustafa were really good answering all our questions and providing us with information about the area.

What else can we say? Loved the hotel and will definetily go back when we get the chance to visit Cappadocia again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scarleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Elif Star is a cool cave hotel in Goreme. We stayed somewhere else the first night (Sato Cave) and were so pleased to switch to Elif Star to join friends traveling at the same time. Breakfast was a great change from the traditional Turkish selection and abundant and fresh. Our friends said the dinners were excellent as well. Clean rooms, great host Jackie who helped book trips and give travel advice.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Rowersue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2007

We spent 5 nights in a wonderful cave room. We arrived by bicycle sick and Jacky took care about us in a superb way. Rooms are impeccable, clean and wonderfully decorated. Jacky is a great cook and fulfilled all our whishes and desires. Breakfast was the best in 7 weeks cycling through Turkey. When we go back to Göreme once - we certainly go back to this great place.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bicyclefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

My partner and I stayed four nights in Elif Star Caves (70 Lira/night) and it was absolutely wonderful! Jacky, Mustafa and Elif were delightful people and provided a very warm and friendly atmosphere. The cave room we stayed in was lovely and cosy and very beautifully decorated. Jacky cooks the most amazing dishes and helped us organise our daily adventures. Jacky also went out of her way to look after us when we caught a cold. We would return to Goreme and Elif Star in a second! An excellent place to stay!
Leonie and Michael.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank blondebloompty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2007

Just got back from a trip from Turkey and Greece, and our stay at Elifstar Caves was definitely the highlight. The owner, Jacky, is very welcoming and helpful, arranging transport and recommending hikes and tours. Rooms are cozy with lots of character. Be sure to have dinner at the hotel. The owner, Jacky, is an excellent cook. Home cooking after a week of restaurant food! And make sure to meet her daughter, Elif, who gives the common area an extra spark of character.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank wakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2007

We were happy to have stayed in a cave room at the Elif Star hotel. It appears that one pays a bit of a premium to stay in cave rooms in Cappadocia, but such a hotel is not easy to build. The hotel overall was pretty average, except for the breakfast. It's not just that the breakfast is a change from the regular Turkish breakfast, but that it's delicious. Kudos.

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#17 of 77 in Goreme
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 77 in Goreme
1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
1,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 77 in Goreme
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#16 of 77 in Goreme
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elif Star Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elif Star Caves

Address: Uzundere Caddesi No 37 | Cappadocia, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elif Star Caves 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over Goreme and Pigeon Valley, the family-run Elif Star Cave Hotel has a terrace and a restaurant. It offers traditionally decorated cave rooms and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Goreme Bus Terminal is within 5 minutes' walk. If you like to stay in a historical Orthodox Cave Monastery, Elif star Caves is exactly the hotel that you looking for. All the caves carved out at 8 century... Chapel, dining room, foodstore, shelter, watchtower, pigeon house, winery... The cave rooms at Elif Star are heated and feature traditional textiles, parquet floors and carpets. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet and shower. Each is decorated with a combination of Ottoman and Greek interior style. You can taste a traditional Turkish breakfast while you waching Fairychimneys. The hotel's a la carte restaurant also serves traditional home made dishes like kofte, Pottery Kebab and fresh local trout. Dining is possible either indoors or at the open courtyard with flowers. The reception works 24 hours aday, provides room service. Laundry and ironing services are available upon request, at an extra charge. Guests can relax in the garden and enjoy scenic views of Goreme from the hotel's balconies. Hotel Elif Star Cave also organises Hot Air Balloon Rides and Semi-Private Daily Cappadocia Tours with small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Elif Star Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elif Star Caves Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey
Elif Star Caves Hotel Goreme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing