We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed, good breakfast”
Review of Elif Star Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elif Star Caves
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Our cave room was spacious and charming, and the views from the terrace were just beautiful (basically it's like this everywhere in this area). The location is just slightly off the main road so it is quiet and still close enough to the restaurants, shop and the bus station in Goreme. Hot and tasty breakfast was included (the only place that offered hot breakfast throughout our trip in Turkey).

It seems to me that it's running by a lady with her daughters who although might be inexperienced (when we were there, a year ago) but for sure they tried to make sure that we had a great stay. The lady tried to sell us some tour packages during our first breakfast. Once we told her that we wanted to explore Cappodocia on a rental scooter, she didn't try to convince us anymore. We booked our hot air balloon ride through another place, she didn't say anything. One night we returned to the hotel really late. She was concerned but didn't ask too many questions so I'd say she is quite reasonable.

We had the chance to see another two hotels in Goreme and one of them wasn't even a real "cave room" as they advertised. Elif star is worth the price we paid for.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
Thank YYTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Elif Star Caves
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have very conflicted views of this property. The location is quite good - just outside the main strip in Goreme. Good access to Pigeon Valley, which is a pleasant 45-60 minute hike. Unfortunately we had to listen to a lot of dog barking and howling all night (something that is likely a problem all over the region) and my husband complained that the plumbing was very noisy (although the plumbing didn't bother me).

Our 2 rooms were pleasant - our bed was one of the more comfortable that we had in our 2 weeks in Turkey. My kids complained that their bathroom leaked water from above, but they were clean and tidy. The shower head in our bathroom was hilarious - shot water out the sides, so finding the best angle to hold it was an adventure. The common areas really leave a lot to be desired - the tables are cheap and the balcony areas seemed inaccessible, which is a shame because the view is nice. The complimentary breakfast is OK - nothing special, but did the trick. The staff are friendly and helpful - very accommodating. If you are committed to a cave hotel experience, this is a reasonable cost alternative. At the end of the day, it suited us fine. We would have liked a more pleasant area to lounge out of the sun in the hot afternoons, but at the end of the day, we had a great time in Goreme.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to face the same way. We were in room #6. Our kids had room #5. Our kids room...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Kind staff, comfortable rooms, amazing location. Unlike some hotels that advertise "cave" but there isn't one in sight, this hotel has rooms with cave walls throughout. I am happy with my choice in hotel here in Goreme. A great price for such a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natashamariewiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I'm stealing another reviewer's title because it captures the hotel well. The staff was the friendliest and most helpful we experienced during our stay in Turkey; just super-nice. (Thanks to all there!!) It's a simple hotel, not fancy in the least, but quite functional---and you get the experience of staying in a cave. Great value.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rekmvbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed a week at this hotel; lovely room tastefully decorated; staff very helpful and conveniently located for walks in Pigeon Valley which start just a few yeards up the road.
However and this is no fault of the owners and the staff there is a lot of animal noises which kept me awake at night. A number of neighbours keep dogs - one next door and one across the road (possibly the man with the horse that carts tourists about- this are kept dogs not the strays) and they bark loudly the whole night. Also the top rooms are homes to sparrows - I love birdsong but a few hundred sparrow chirping just outside one's room at 5.30am is a bit much. I know this is possibly outside their control and animal noise is afact of life in the country but this was excessive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichouD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My friends and I went to stay at this hotel last week and we are quite impressed with the service. They really treat you like family. We had a free day in Cappadocia and the staff really help us plan the trip.

What ever you asked them they will try their best to give it to you, I guaranteed! There is one staff who really impressed our group, he couldn't speak any English and he tries his best to give us what we want. It was pretty funny when we had to ask for the foot towel for the toilet, anyway he was really helpful.

Also the hotel was kind enough to let us use their lobby toilet for taking a bath (after we have checked out), there were 15 of us so imagine the chaos. They gave us everything, the soap, shampoo and bath towels. I mean you cannot find this kind of service anywhere else!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I stayed that hotel 1 month ago, Hotel has good location just near by center, the rooms were clean and the staff was helpful and friendly also the room has a perfect view, Thank you Elif Star Caves ;)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vsl1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 78 in Goreme
593 reviews
4.4 mi away
Elif Stone House
Elif Stone House
#23 of 66 in Urgup
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kismet Cave House
Kismet Cave House
#41 of 78 in Goreme
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#32 of 78 in Goreme
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artemis Cave Suites
Artemis Cave Suites
#14 of 78 in Goreme
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traveller's Cave Hotel
Traveller's Cave Hotel
#28 of 78 in Goreme
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elif Star Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elif Star Caves

Address: Uzundere Caddesi No 37 | Cappadocia, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Goreme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elif Star Caves 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over Goreme and Pigeon Valley, the family-run Elif Star Cave Hotel has a terrace and a restaurant. It offers traditionally decorated cave rooms and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Goreme Bus Terminal is within 5 minutes' walk. If you like to stay in a historical Orthodox Cave Monastery, Elif star Caves is exactly the hotel that you looking for. All the caves carved out at 8 century... Chapel, dining room, foodstore, shelter, watchtower, pigeon house, winery... The cave rooms at Elif Star are heated and feature traditional textiles, parquet floors and carpets. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet and shower. Each is decorated with a combination of Ottoman and Greek interior style. You can taste a traditional Turkish breakfast while you waching Fairychimneys. The hotel's a la carte restaurant also serves traditional home made dishes like kofte, Pottery Kebab and fresh local trout. Dining is possible either indoors or at the open courtyard with flowers. The reception works 24 hours aday, provides room service. Laundry and ironing services are available upon request, at an extra charge. Guests can relax in the garden and enjoy scenic views of Goreme from the hotel's balconies. Hotel Elif Star Cave also organises Hot Air Balloon Rides and Semi-Private Daily Cappadocia Tours with small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Elif Star Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elif Star Caves Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey
Elif Star Caves Hotel Goreme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing