We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Elif Star Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elif Star Caves
Ranked #35 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed two days and one night here and it was fantastic. Our room was half cave half room which is exactly what you want to experience in Cappadocia. The best part of our experience was Kadir, who runs the hostel. He speaks at least four languages and did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Our balloon ride was cancelled due to weather which means I will have to return someday. When that happens, I will definitely stay at Elif Star.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was the best that i ever visited. Although we stayed in a cave room, it was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The owner of this hotel offered to cook dinner for a reasonable price. The owner is a licensed tour guide and on our first and second day, he took us on a tour around cappadocia with a reasonable price. He was very nice and helped us, in anyway he could. Personally, i would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank mirza89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I cannot begın to descrıbe how wonderful of a tıme we had ın thıs place. The famıly that runs the place was amazıng. We got our room upgraded for free. The breakfast was amazıng. They helped us coordınate all of our excursıons and even helped plan out our flıghts and shuttles to the aırport. We were even gıven a personal tour of the area and he used to be a guıde as a professıon so he ıs very knowledgeable and knows the area very well. They really went the extra mıle to take care of us and make sure we had what we needed and saw and experıenced what we wanted. I would never choose to stay anywhere else. We have been travellıng for 4 months and thıs has been the absolute best experıence.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I booked this room through a travel agent. I stayed in November 2013, and it was amazing. I see why my travel agent spoke so highly of the place. It was an amazing value for the price (I stayed in the dorm room, but it was relatively empty so I had the room mostly to myself). The breakfast was good, and the staff and manager were very friendly. I even slept in one day and missed breakfast by a couple hours, but the manager said no problem and willingly offered me a whole plate! Great place to stay, good location, overall A+.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thmfsanfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Elif Star Cave Hotel right away seemed like a dump. The main reason we chose it was because all their rooms are cave rooms, but the novelty wore off fast. When we checked in, the woman at the front desk spoke no English and had to go in the back and wake up a teenaged boy, who spoke barely any English. They seemed to have no idea we were coming. They gave us a room with five single beds in it. We were expecting one double bed. The place had a lot of problems: there was no separation between the shower and the rest of the bathroom; they never gave us toilet paper (we had to keep asking for it); there was a sizable gap between the door and the frame; there was a hole in the wall that they decided to stuff with paper; the room wasn't vacuumed once during our stay; there were no sheets underneath the comforter; they didn't turn the heat on even when it was below freezing at night. And, worst of all we were forced to take ice cold showers half of the time because of no hot water. Overall I found this place very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The rooms were clean and the beds had fresh towels waiting for us. It was surprisingly cold the few days my friends and I were there and the receptionist took great care of us by shifting the portable heater in. Walking distance between hotel and restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minzhen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here over 10 years ago and recently stayed again. This place is fantastic. Peri and all of the staff took exquisite care of us. I really felt at home here. It was also so nice to see that though Goreme had grown tremendously since my last visit this cave hotel kept all of it's amazing views and charm. The location is perfect....beautiful views, close to hiking trails and town but very quiet. I would stay here again! The balconies have 5 star views!!!! I highly recommend Goreme and Elif star caves. It is a magical place.

Room Tip: I loved our room with balcony on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitori2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#17 of 77 in Goreme
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 77 in Goreme
1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
1,316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 77 in Goreme
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#16 of 77 in Goreme
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elif Star Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elif Star Caves

Address: Uzundere Caddesi No 37 | Cappadocia, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elif Star Caves 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over Goreme and Pigeon Valley, the family-run Elif Star Cave Hotel has a terrace and a restaurant. It offers traditionally decorated cave rooms and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Goreme Bus Terminal is within 5 minutes' walk. If you like to stay in a historical Orthodox Cave Monastery, Elif star Caves is exactly the hotel that you looking for. All the caves carved out at 8 century... Chapel, dining room, foodstore, shelter, watchtower, pigeon house, winery... The cave rooms at Elif Star are heated and feature traditional textiles, parquet floors and carpets. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet and shower. Each is decorated with a combination of Ottoman and Greek interior style. You can taste a traditional Turkish breakfast while you waching Fairychimneys. The hotel's a la carte restaurant also serves traditional home made dishes like kofte, Pottery Kebab and fresh local trout. Dining is possible either indoors or at the open courtyard with flowers. The reception works 24 hours aday, provides room service. Laundry and ironing services are available upon request, at an extra charge. Guests can relax in the garden and enjoy scenic views of Goreme from the hotel's balconies. Hotel Elif Star Cave also organises Hot Air Balloon Rides and Semi-Private Daily Cappadocia Tours with small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Elif Star Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elif Star Caves Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey
Elif Star Caves Hotel Goreme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing