We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best accomodation we had in 2 weeks journey in Turkey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elif Star Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elif Star Caves
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
AB,Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best accomodation we had in 2 weeks journey in Turkey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

The Elif Star Caves is very nice, as everybody here says.
IN brief: best breakfast we had in 2 weeks.... you can have breakfast at 9am and walk 16Km without felling hungry... as we did! :)
The position is perfect: slightly off of the noisy and busy central area og Goreme. The hotel is located on the patch the the Pigeon Valley. Ask Mustafa for direction in the valley and what to see. He is very nice and will show you the way, based on what you want to do that day.
Cleanness is OK. Rooms are very clean. hot water all day. Do not throw the tpoilet paper in the WC! you will obstruct the new pipes!
We stayed 4 nights and we really regretted to move to Kas. The place is wonderlful. We did not have dinner there. But I heard is quite good, indeed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beibo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    81
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
63
143
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

I really liked this hotel-- great location, nice room, quiet night sleep, spacious bathroom, and good breakfast. My one complaint is that our room was never cleaned while I was there. I'm not sure if it was an oversight, but it would have been nice for someone to come and clean the bathroom and tidy up the room. Other than that, it was a great place!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeilaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

My fiance and I stayed here during our travels to Turkey in the spring of 2009. We had a very good experience and enjoyed our cave room (we were in #7) very much. The Elif Star staff was very accommodating and set up a trip for us to see the Whirling Drevishes (they even drove us for free) and advised us on which balloon companies were reputable (Kapadokya Balloons with Mike at the helm for sure!) and set us up with (safe) scooters to ride around the surrounding villages. My one complaint was that the common room seemed a little unclean and always seemed a little smokey but it was a realizing place to chat with others and check your e-mail. Like most cave hotels, wifi isn't really an option but was available in the common room. While I know there were other "nicer" cave hotels in Goreme, we found that the friendly atmosphere and value of the Elif Star Caves made it our top choice when settling down in Goreme.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, BC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

We stayed for 4 nights at Elif Star Caves while in Cappadocia and we couldn't be happier with the level of service. When we called ahead for the reservation, Mustafa said we could move right in even though we arrived on an early morning bus... and we had been planning to walk to the hotel but one of the bus company ticket agents called the hotel and Hassan (Mustafa's uncle) was there before we could even walk across the street to pick up a map at the tourist bureau! Rahmi's breakfasts were terrific - not a disappointing item on the menu. And even though they were no longer serving dinners, we had some excellent recommendations for local restaurants from Mustafa and Hassan. Our host even accompanıed us one evening! To top it all off, Hassan spent a day, using his local connections to help us shop for carpets and silver. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squamish_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

We stayed 2 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. There is a computer with free internet access, the breakfast was great as you were given a choice, they helped us book a tour for the day and they even drove us to a local pottery shop to purchase some ceramics. I would say that the cost was a little steep in my opinion. There was no hot water and when we inquired we were told that he needed to turn it on and then wait 2 hours...well we didn't really have that kind of time to wait around...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fieldhockey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greymouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

We stayed at Elif Star Caves for four nights at the end of a 6 week journey overland from Tashkent. The hotel was a perfect conclusion to our trip. Location is near perfect, quiet yet within 5minutes walk from the village centre. The rooms are authentic caves and the decor is tasteful. Bathrooms were definately the cleanest we encountered in Turkey. . Have to say that the crowning glory were the spectacular breakfasts and the polite helpful staff. Keep up the good work boys.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silkroad_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

We enjoyed this hotel. Our room was large and very comfortable, a good bed. the weather was cold during our stay but the room was just right. We were surprised that the cave materials kept the rooms warm in cold weather, cool in summer.

The hotel enjoys a good location in Goreme. You can walk out into Pigeon Valley and the other valleys from it. It also afforded a great view from our balcony. The other guests were interesting to talk to and cosmopolitan.

We liked the relaxed yet friendly and well informed interest shown by the staff and the owner, Mustapha, to us and would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkeytraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#8 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anatolian Houses
Anatolian Houses
#18 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#10 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#11 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dervish Cave House
Dervish Cave House
#28 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elif Star Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elif Star Caves

Property: Elif Star Caves
Address: Uzundere Caddesi No 37 - Goreme (Nevsehir) | Cappadocia, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Goreme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Hotel Class:2 star — Elif Star Caves 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over Goreme and Pigeon Valley, the family-run Elif Star Cave Hotel has a terrace and a restaurant. It offers traditionally decorated cave rooms and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Goreme Bus Terminal is within 5 minutes' walk. If you like to stay in a historical Orthodox Cave Monastery, Elif star Caves is exactly the hotel that you looking for. All the caves carved out at 8 century... Chapel, dining room, foodstore, shelter, watchtower, pigeon house, winery... The cave rooms at Elif Star are heated and feature traditional textiles, parquet floors and carpets. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet and shower. Each is decorated with a combination of Ottoman and Greek interior style. You can taste a traditional Turkish breakfast while you waching Fairychimneys. The hotel's a la carte restaurant also serves traditional home made dishes like kofte, Pottery Kebab and fresh local trout. Dining is possible either indoors or at the open courtyard with flowers. The reception works 24 hours aday, provides room service. Laundry and ironing services are available upon request, at an extra charge. Guests can relax in the garden and enjoy scenic views of Goreme from the hotel's balconies. Hotel Elif Star Cave also organises Hot Air Balloon Rides and Semi-Private Daily Cappadocia Tours with small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Elif Star Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elif Star Caves Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey
Elif Star Caves Hotel Goreme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing