We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inoubliable!”
Review of Elif Star Caves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elif Star Caves
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Inoubliable!”
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Rooms in the Cave were clean. We did not have lot of space for our luggage (which were minimal) and to place our things but... we experienced a very special environment! The view from our terrasse was fantastic. Mustafa was very kind for us,,, giving us a bottle of wine because it was my birthday.. Nice from him. The breakfast were fantastic... lots of great food with eggs and so, as we wanted. Thank you for Amir, the cook. We spent there 5 wonderful days.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    81
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
63
144
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Caribbean
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Our room was lovely with view over the beautiful valley and the bed was the most comfortable one we slept in while in Turkey. The location is great - walking distance to town center but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was fantastic with lots of choices and the service excellent and very friendly - felt like staying with good friends - would recommend it to everyone. Lena & Kevin

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We stayed here a few nights and it was my favorite part of the trip. The hotel was so nice with a very modern bathroom, cute balcony, and exceptional service. The beds and bedding were so comfy too! If the others who wrote about cleanliness would have read the info in the room it said to ask if you wanted your room cleaned. If you ask they are very prompt about responding. Also, the breakfast was amazing, thanks to Rami! And you even have a few choices instead of the standard Turkish Breakfast Buffet. Mustafa was also great about providing info on the area and suggestions for what to do. I would go back and stay there in a second. Goreme is a cute town and the Cappadocia region is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCTraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AB,Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

The Elif Star Caves is very nice, as everybody here says.
IN brief: best breakfast we had in 2 weeks.... you can have breakfast at 9am and walk 16Km without felling hungry... as we did! :)
The position is perfect: slightly off of the noisy and busy central area og Goreme. The hotel is located on the patch the the Pigeon Valley. Ask Mustafa for direction in the valley and what to see. He is very nice and will show you the way, based on what you want to do that day.
Cleanness is OK. Rooms are very clean. hot water all day. Do not throw the tpoilet paper in the WC! you will obstruct the new pipes!
We stayed 4 nights and we really regretted to move to Kas. The place is wonderlful. We did not have dinner there. But I heard is quite good, indeed.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beibo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I really liked this hotel-- great location, nice room, quiet night sleep, spacious bathroom, and good breakfast. My one complaint is that our room was never cleaned while I was there. I'm not sure if it was an oversight, but it would have been nice for someone to come and clean the bathroom and tidy up the room. Other than that, it was a great place!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeilaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

My fiance and I stayed here during our travels to Turkey in the spring of 2009. We had a very good experience and enjoyed our cave room (we were in #7) very much. The Elif Star staff was very accommodating and set up a trip for us to see the Whirling Drevishes (they even drove us for free) and advised us on which balloon companies were reputable (Kapadokya Balloons with Mike at the helm for sure!) and set us up with (safe) scooters to ride around the surrounding villages. My one complaint was that the common room seemed a little unclean and always seemed a little smokey but it was a realizing place to chat with others and check your e-mail. Like most cave hotels, wifi isn't really an option but was available in the common room. While I know there were other "nicer" cave hotels in Goreme, we found that the friendly atmosphere and value of the Elif Star Caves made it our top choice when settling down in Goreme.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, BC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We stayed for 4 nights at Elif Star Caves while in Cappadocia and we couldn't be happier with the level of service. When we called ahead for the reservation, Mustafa said we could move right in even though we arrived on an early morning bus... and we had been planning to walk to the hotel but one of the bus company ticket agents called the hotel and Hassan (Mustafa's uncle) was there before we could even walk across the street to pick up a map at the tourist bureau! Rahmi's breakfasts were terrific - not a disappointing item on the menu. And even though they were no longer serving dinners, we had some excellent recommendations for local restaurants from Mustafa and Hassan. Our host even accompanıed us one evening! To top it all off, Hassan spent a day, using his local connections to help us shop for carpets and silver. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squamish_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#9 of 72 in Goreme
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#24 of 72 in Goreme
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#47 of 72 in Goreme
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Suites
Goreme Suites
#14 of 72 in Goreme
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 72 in Goreme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elif Star Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elif Star Caves

Property: Elif Star Caves
Address: Uzundere Caddesi No 37, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Goreme
#5 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Elif Star Caves 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With views over Goreme and Pigeon Valley, the family-run Elif Star Cave Hotel has a terrace and a restaurant. It offers traditionally decorated cave rooms and free Wi-Fi in all areas. Goreme Bus Terminal is within 5 minutes' walk. If you like to stay in a historical Orthodox Cave Monastery, Elif star Caves is exactly the hotel that you looking for. All the caves carved out at 8 century... Chapel, dining room, foodstore, shelter, watchtower, pigeon house, winery... The cave rooms at Elif Star are heated and feature traditional textiles, parquet floors and carpets. All rooms have their own private bathroom with toilet and shower. Each is decorated with a combination of Ottoman and Greek interior style. You can taste a traditional Turkish breakfast while you waching Fairychimneys. The hotel's a la carte restaurant also serves traditional home made dishes like kofte, Pottery Kebab and fresh local trout. Dining is possible either indoors or at the open courtyard with flowers. The reception works 24 hours aday, provides room service. Laundry and ironing services are available upon request, at an extra charge. Guests can relax in the garden and enjoy scenic views of Goreme from the hotel's balconies. Hotel Elif Star Cave also organises Hot Air Balloon Rides and Semi-Private Daily Cappadocia Tours with small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Elif Star Caves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elif Star Caves Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey
Elif Star Caves Hotel Goreme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing