We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with Great Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Ranked #40 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with Great Manager”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was a great find for our girls getaway. It was in a great location close to everything. The manager Numan was great he was very helpful and kind. The staff was great and were very helpful the breakfast was great and had lots of variety.The beds were comfortable and there was coffee and tea available in the room.Numan was great he helped us with our balloon rides and all our travel needs...This hotel is a great deal and is a must stay when you go to Gorme..

Room Tip: Upper rooms have a view ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eggo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    63
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
60
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Had a great stop while in Cappadocia. Numan went a step beyond to help us collect our requests, send us off in the right direction and guide us to the most desirable stops in town. Friendly staff, clean rooms and great food. This is a must stay.

Room Tip: Cave house is a cave house. No windows, so no view. Always quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DChababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

stayed there during my visit to Cappadocia. and had a great experience.

the room is comfortable and of course it is in a cave! the staff is very nice and helpful!

we were the only guests in the hotel and everything was simple, just like at your home. Nothing fancy but sometimes you really need some normality! thanks for everything.

Room Tip: go for the room in the cave... it is an experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nfprodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Numan is an excellent host with an educated and intimate inter-generational knowledge of the place. Seek his wisdom and your stay will be enjoyable. The 'Numan Tour' was a highlight of our Turkey experience. Cave Hotel Saksagan is well located in the centre of Goreme with easy access to tours, shops, restaurants and adjacent to the balloon tour office for that 5 am start ! It has a fine panorama of the township and surrounding landscape from the terrace. Our chimney cave room was quiet and cosy, consistent with the ambience of this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernest-Cave, Manager at Cave Hotel Saksagan, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear James C, Thank you for this great review! We are very pleased to see that you've enjoyed your trip to Cappadocia and the experience of staying at Cave Hotel Saksagan. We hope to see you again among us. Best regards..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed at the Cave Hotel Saksagan for 3 nights. Only planned for two but it was nice and convenient, so I stayed an extra night. I was greeted by Nasir bik Buhara, he was very friendly and spoke decent English. I hadn't made a reservation so he showed me two of the rooms. The hotel has rooms in an actual "cave" of real rock and some in a started brick building. He showed a "cave" room were pretty and spacious with nice fixtures. I liked the room but the price was just above my price point. He showed me a room in the standard building. It was big enough for a queen bed a few chairs and table. Small but worked well for me. The bathroom was standard "asian" with shower not separated from sink and toilet. But again, I am used this traveling all over SE Asia so it was just fine. The bed was very comfortable with nice comforter and pillows. One of the best parts of this little hotel is the outdoor spaces. The lobby/breakfest area is nicely decorated with eight large arched window/french doors. You have a nice view of the city and Goreme Fairy Chimneys. Through one of the doorways you go into the very nice courtyard leading to the rooms. There are many tables in the tree lined courtyard as well as many plants and other decor. One other type of room you can get is one with a porch leading out to the courtyard with comfy pillows and a table to "lounge" outside. Up to the second floor area, there are more rooms, the "cave" rooms and a very large open deck with more tables. This is a great area to relax, read a book, and look down in the main city. You have an amazing view of the town and the lighting in the afternoon is very picturesque with all of the fairy chimneys. The bus stop (otogar) is less than 250m down the street. Which is also where the main street is for restaurants and shopping. Nasir was very helpful explaining where to go to take the dolmus/buses to other towns. He helped me get reservations at the Balloon company that was just next door. Kapadokya Balloons (not to be mistaken with Air Kapadokya Balloons right next to it). It was the highest rated company with good recommendations by more than a few sources including tripadvisor. He got me a good deal on the first flight, smallest amount of people (only 13), I will review that adventure in another post. Khairu Asqalani was also very helpful and served me breakfest each morning. It was your standard Turkish breakfest. The bread was especially good. My room was cleaned very nicely each afternoon by a very friendly lady. The hotel is secure at night. They lock the front door and gate door into the courtyard. There is no other way into the areas. I was always greeted with a nice hello from all the staff. I felt at home at this hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: They have 4 type of rooms. The deluxe is the "cave" rooms. Spacious with nice fixtures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FECTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a group of 16 students. We had an excellent experience with the staff, who were very amicable and helpful. Numan, the son of the owner who managed the place during our stay, was fantastic and friendly, and spoke excellent English, which was very helpful. The included buffet-style breakfast was excellent and abundant, and as much chai tea as you wanted was available. We visited in February, so a number of the rooms (caves) were cold at night, while others of us were fine. That was our only complaint. The hotel is located within the town so restaurants, cafes, grocery stores, etc. are just down the street. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: No. 12 was a comfortable temperature in the winter (wrt the colder other rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langley, bc, canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

This small hotel is very well located and comfortable. Numan went out of his way to be helpful; prompt replies to all my email questions, help with tour and car bookings. There is absolutely always a member of staff to greet you whenever you come in and offers of assistance. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed if not luxurious. From the fairy chimney rooms you can watch all the balloons rise with the sun at dawn. Magic. Breakfast was delicious and very fresh. We were always happy with the cold breakfast, although cooked to order eggs and such were offered. If you are self driving, this hotel is easy to find, which is often not the case in Turkey!

Room Tip: Definitely take the upper rooms in the fairy chimney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llsanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#30 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#32 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matianasos Hotel
Matianasos Hotel
#48 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#18 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#14 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Stone Palace
Cappadocia Stone Palace
#45 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave Hotel Saksagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Hotel Saksagan

Property: Cave Hotel Saksagan
Address: Kagni Yolu Sok. No:1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cave Hotel Saksagan 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Hotel SAKSAGAN is an old cave Cappadocian house turned into an inn in 1983 and restorated in 2002. At the moment it is a small boutique hotel with 12 en-suite rooms that offer you history, nature and culture altogether and is ready to become your own home in Göreme. Rooms are located within fairy-chimneys and carved into rocks. All the rooms are clean, spacious, and decorated in the Ottoman Style by owner Osman Atak. “Although it wasn’t easy to work in the fairy-chimneys, because they are very tough, we achieved to set up the rooms and bathrooms into the fairy-chimneys with the help of modern devices” says Mr. Osman. Cave Hotel SAKSAGAN has a wonderful garden with the smells of hundreds of different flowers. The hotel is also known as “Garden of Piraye Hanım” by Turkish people after taking part in the common film series “Asmali Konak”. Breakfast in Cave Hotel SAKSAGAN is served either on the terrace, with its magical Göreme view, or in the garden accompanied with birds in songs. Special dinner parties or BBQ can be arranged on request. The hotel has 24 hours reception and provides hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cave Hotel Saksagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cave Hotel Saksagan Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing