We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, great views, good value, proper cave rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Ranked #57 of 80 Hotels in Goreme
Reviewed 23 May 2010

For the money this is as good as you're going to get - the cave rooms are authentically cavey but with lovely modern bathrooms, satellite telly and their own terrace looking out over the village.

The ancient stone house rooms each have their own cushoined-porches and there are lush communal gardens and a roof garden with a great view.

The staff are brilliant, knowing six languages (from English to Spanish and Korean) and while we were there looked after everyone from young backpackers to golden oldies with charm and endless patience. At no time were trips foisted on us, but they can arrange everything, including airport transfers, hire car, private tours, laundry and haircuts. Nothing seemed too much trouble - even spending an afternoon making sure we understood the proper rules for a Turkish tile game.

The hotel's location is great - very central, but with perfect views of the Goreme valley. I'd wake up every morning to see hot-air balloons floating past my window. There's a welcome variety to breakfast (it's not always the inevitable boiled egg, there's sometimes yoghurt, fresh fruit or omelette), and drinks are available until late.

The cave rooms are hung with carpets, and are cool by day and warm at night, but there are also blankets and duvets on hand as Cappadocia can be a little colder than other bits of Turkey. Rooms are cleaned thoroughly and regularly, which makes a nice change.

I've stayed in several places in Goreme - all have been great, but you had to be prepared for the odd eccentricity - from staffing crises, relentless tour selling, or just carpet on the toilet seats, but this place had none of those drawbacks. If you've got the money for something mid-range, then you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eustonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2010

I stayed for 3 nights. The owner Mustafa and the staff was fluent in English and so nice - I enjoyed our late night visits around the heater with lots of coffee so much. Always helpful and served a delicious breakfast. The room was nice - with a definite Turkish atmosphere. It was cold when I was there, but they gave me a heater and exstra bankets. The room was neat and with a great shower with an unlimited supply of steaming hot water. It did not feel like staying in a hotel - more like visiting Turkish people. They were very helpful and helped me plan the rest of my trip. They arranged a lot of trips and activities for me - at no extra cost .

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scholtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

I do not understand prior opinions on this hotel.
We went there because most of other recommended hotels were full.

Room was cold, dirty, to be painted urgently,basic hugly furniture and light, small basic bathroom,....minimum breakfeast (our worst breakfast in Turkey so far)...

And we have paid 65€...

Note: this is the first time I write such a negative review

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AymericB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Don't expect 5 star accommodation, and you will not be disappointed. What you will get is a comfortable room in a charming hotel, run by some very friendly people. It feels like staying with friends, rather than a hotel or motel.
The garden is absolutely lovely, with lots of fruit trees and flowers where you will have your breakfast. Within minutes you will meet a friendly cat who will come to say hi, give him a piece of cheese under the table and he will love you forever.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erkyDallas_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

Our time in the Cappadocia region of Turkey was made more enjoyable by our stay at the Cave Hotel Saksagan in Goreme.
This hotel met all of our expectations of a lovely family run hotel.
The rooms were clean, spacious, and nicely decorated with Turkish rugs and furnishings.
The setting was very unique - imagine, sleeping in a cave.
The owner, Osman, was attentive to our every need: from arranging treks to booking Turkish baths, he saw to it all.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wegosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Cave Saksagan is truly a gem of a hotel and a perfect base for exploring the wonders of Cappadocia. The location is quiet and central. The rooms are really nicely furnished and decorated, beds are comfortable and the washrooms are large (by Turkish standards). There was even a lovely deep bath! Best of all though is the owner, Osman who went out of his way to make our stay perfect. He speaks English, knows the area intimately and is extremely helpful. All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Merrytraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Meltem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.4 mi away
Lalezar Cave Hotel
Lalezar Cave Hotel
#70 of 80 in Goreme
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valleypark Hotel
Valleypark Hotel
#58 of 80 in Goreme
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#47 of 80 in Goreme
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nature Park Cave Hotel
Nature Park Cave Hotel
#50 of 80 in Goreme
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mevlana Cave Hotel
Mevlana Cave Hotel
#72 of 80 in Goreme
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#41 of 80 in Goreme
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave Hotel Saksagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Hotel Saksagan

Address: Kagni Yolu Sok. No:1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £24 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cave Hotel Saksagan 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cave Hotel SAKSAGAN is an old cave Cappadocian house turned into an inn in 1983 and restorated in 2002. At the moment it is a small boutique hotel with 12 en-suite rooms that offer you history, nature and culture altogether and is ready to become your own home in Göreme. Rooms are located within fairy-chimneys and carved into rocks. All the rooms are clean, spacious, and decorated in the Ottoman Style by owner Osman Atak. “Although it wasn’t easy to work in the fairy-chimneys, because they are very tough, we achieved to set up the rooms and bathrooms into the fairy-chimneys with the help of modern devices” says Mr. Osman. Cave Hotel SAKSAGAN has a wonderful garden with the smells of hundreds of different flowers. The hotel is also known as “Garden of Piraye Hanım” by Turkish people after taking part in the common film series “Asmali Konak”. Breakfast in Cave Hotel SAKSAGAN is served either on the terrace, with its magical Göreme view, or in the garden accompanied with birds in songs. Special dinner parties or BBQ can be arranged on request. The hotel has 24 hours reception and provides hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Cave Hotel Saksagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cave Hotel Saksagan Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing