We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located with potential.”
Review of Gultekin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gultekin Motel
Ranked #64 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well located with potential.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The cave room was cool in two different ways: cute and unusual to sleep in a comfortable cave. And a refuge from the heat in the middle of the day.

The terrace was a plus and a great place to start and end the day. Don't try to order anything in the evening - we were served warm white wine that sat out all day. We ended up buying our own beverages at the grocery store across the main street and had them on the terrace instead. Breakfast was good if you got up early. Otherwise it sits out and the flies feast before you get there and the food dries out. The staff was very inattentive and disinterested. I felt like I was inconveniencing them when I asked questions.

That being said, the location is excellent and we really enjoyed the room. Wifi service was good. It was a good base for our daily exploring, but we would probably not stay there again.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms before you book and and ask for the one you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santobottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    31
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
57
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Based on the reviews of this pension, we were disappointed. The positive aspects are the location (5 minutes from main centre) and the beautiful view from the terrace, which one particularly enjoys over breakfast. However there are many many options in Goreme and this is one I would not recommend. The shuttle we confirmed over email never arrived at the airport, the service when we arrived was less than cheerful (hardly a greeting and no smile), the 'cave room' had dust and sand falling from the ceiling, meaning the beds and sheets were gritty (not pleasant) and and and....Basically, our experience in Turkey has been fantastic and similarly priced pensions in other places far outstripped this one in all ways. I am sure there are many better options in Goreme.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CALM4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great choice in Goreme, you are very close to the center and to panoramic view, staff is very friendly and breakfast is served on a terrace with a nice view of the village. Good quality and reasonable price!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calabrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Gultekin Motel surprised me with its sheer failure given its resoundingly good reviews. Gultekin confirmed an online reservation through hotels.com, but declined to respond to emails prior to arrival, and on arrival denied that any reservation existed. Gultekin placed us in a dormitory room instead of a private room as a result, shared with other guests who had also made confirmed reservations, only to be told no reservation existed, and no room was available. The manager refused to apologize for this error, and seemed neither surprised nor caring about his mistake. Hotels.Com later confirmed that a reservation had been made, and that the Gultekin had confirmed receipt of the reservation (accepting my credit card information).

The Gultekin staff was thoroughly unhelpful and disinterested including the manager. Gultekin's room did not have air conditioning as promised, and instead had a heater that would not turn off. Worse yet, the windows did not open, leaving the room extremely hot. The walls were very thing, so we could hear everything in the hotel, and we could hear absolutely everything occurring out on the street (a particularly loud and lengthy cat fight truly completed our experience). Gultekin provided only one key to the dormitory (even though multiple unconnected guests shared it), and refused to lock the door when guests without a key left (saying "there are security cameras, it will be fine.") The internet at the hotel was horrific, reminiscent of dial-up, and the breakfast was limited with too little seating.

Neither my girlfriend nor I got much of any sleep at this hotel, significantly dampening our experience in Cappadocia. It was cheap and well-located, and clean, I will admit -- but I would highly recommend finding alternative lodging. There are plenty of options in Goreme, all nearby, and every tour will pick you up from your hotel, so location really isn't even important.

Room Tip: Do not make online reservation through any third-party service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dupreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goreme, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This property is on a very nice location. Every thing seems good except internet connection. Only you can use wifi in the common area connote use in the room. Also not good signal as it should be. I had to come to the reception for internet because it is the best place for wifi signal. But staff won't let you stay their in the late evening time because he sleep their also after breakfast they will close for cleaning. If you need good internet connection this place is not ideal for you.
The other things are good as many people already mention.

Room Tip: Not sure if any room has wifi signal. But you should ask from staff at the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenDuckonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Nice location. Near the market, bus station and tourist shop. include buffet Turkey breakfast on terrace

on the terrace you can see many balloon up to the sky in the morning. so beautiful

You can walk around in the city to buy souvenir and fruits or meal , many shop you can choose.

Stayed February 2557, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PhotoNTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed at the Gultekin for 4 nights and really liked the location which was very central and also the lovely terrace. The room was large and spacious - there was a double and a single bed. The only gripe I had about it was the toilet was tiny and the shower not screened off, so the whole toilet would be wet after we used the shower. Otherwise, we were happy with the room we got which was a lovely stone arch room. Not sure much housekeeping was done while we were there besides making the bed and emptying the bins, though the room seemed clean. The rooms face a courtyard so it can be a bit noisy, like when some people arrived in the middle of the night and were chattering among themselves. Considering that most tourist attractions in Cappadocia were open at 8am, it was a bit frustrating that breakfast was only served from 8am - would have been nice if it was offered a earlier. Breakfast was OK - the standard fare as well as random offerings such as chips and sausages (which were nice!) There was a nice view from the terrace and it was a lovely place to have breakfast when the weather was nice - you could also see hot air balloons in the air when they were in flight! When we were there, we only met one person handling the bookings and he was helpful enough, though once he questioned whether my husband was staying there and my husband had to show him the room key to 'prove' that he did. The balloon flight was arranged for me with Butterfly Balloons and there were no problems, everything was seamless, so that was great. There is no real parking, just a small street behind the hotel next to what looks like a construction site, so we just parked on the roads nearby. All in all, we were very happy at Gultekin - we got a large room for a reasonable price and the location was really good, with easy access to the town and to the Sunset View Hill. Wouldn't hesitate to return to Gultekin if we visit Goreme again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Nature Park Cave Hotel
Nature Park Cave Hotel
#44 of 76 in Goreme
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#32 of 76 in Goreme
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sarihan Cave Hotel
Sarihan Cave Hotel
#61 of 76 in Goreme
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.1 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#40 of 76 in Goreme
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Inn Hotel
Cappadocia Inn Hotel
#23 of 76 in Goreme
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gultekin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gultekin Motel

Property: Gultekin Motel
Address: Gaferli mahallesi mudur sokak No:3 | Roma Kalesi Arkasi Sehir Merkezi, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gultekin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gultekin Motel is situated in Goreme, Cappadoccia. It is a friendly hotel with cave rooms unique to Cappadocia. It is located at the centre of Goreme, 5 minutes to the bus station by foot. All the rooms are ensuite. We have a large terrace with a magnificent view of Goreme valley, which is also great for barbecue parties. For airport transfers from Kayseri or Nevsehir please contact us. English, German, French and Dutch spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gultekin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gultekin Hotel Goreme
Gultekin Motel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing