We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melek Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melek Cave Hotel
Ranked #47 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An amazing Experience”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The First Cave Hotel of Goreme (as given by the Owners), this cozy place actually gives you the feeling of staying inside a hotel. Slightly off the main road it is walking distance to the city centre and the top 5 rooms (out of a total of 10) are really nice and cozy. A really nice place for backpackers, my wife and I had a great three days stay thanks to the helpful and sweet people running it.

Room Tip: Choose the top rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirbhay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    31
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
26
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at Melek Cave, we were the only guests. Our bedsheets hadn't been changed for a long time, we discovered several pubic hairs in the sheets ... Asked the host to change them immediately, he just shook them off and put them again on the beds .... Later we took a shower and realised the towels were dirty too ... Litterally with blood and yellow stains, also covered with pubic hairs ... Absolutely gross. In the morning, breakfast was supposed to be served at 8.30am, all lights were off at the réception and dining room, out host jumped of bed and started to hassle in the kitchen, but at that point we were late for out tour and so suspicious about the cleanliness of the place that we didn't feel like eating much.
In short, the place is not far from downtown, 5mn walk, the rooms are ok, but there's a feel of an abandonned hotel, the host was a teenager left to himself, and probably can't handle the place, even though he tries hard and apologized many times.
The place is just disgusting and unattended, don't go there !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Typhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The owner is very good and very helpful. family runs business. Good location. The room is quite warm as well, clean toilet. We had a BBQ chicken order with them, served with soup, salad, bread, grapes and cay, nice and pleasant meal.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seamonster1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We were in Antalya, Turkey and had tentative plans to rent a car and see some of the well known sights in Turkey. After much thought, we decided to drive to Cappadocia. With short notice, we were able to reserve a room at the Melek Cave Hotel. I wanted to stay there because the rates were reasonable and I thought it would be fun and different! We arrived pretty late at around 7:00pm, but we gave the owners notice. The hotel did not show up using our navigation map and after a call to the hotel, the owner was there in about 5 minutes to show us to the hotel. We got to the hotel and the owner's wife and daughters were there to greet us. We got checked in and I was VERY happily surprised at this cave hotel. It was at the top of the hotel and as described, the room was small but very clean, well lit and nicely decorated. The "living room" area was on a platform and kind of divided the room. We were there to sleep and shower and the hotel was more than sufficient for our needs. That night, owner was nice enough to show me around town a bit and show me to some of the resturants. We stayed there 2 nights and had one typical Turkish breakfast. We left very early after our second night as our road trip plans had changed.
We enjoyed staying at the Melek hotel. The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and at home. We make it a point to stay at family run hotels on our travels and would gladly stay at the Melek again!

Room Tip: There were lots of steps to climb to get to our room. Request a room on a lower level if climbing s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darla6368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We rode the car to see the beauty of Cappadocia a very long time and we needed a good rest. We arrived late in the evening and after a call the owener was so kind to pick us up to the hotel. Room was clean and nice. People were very friendly. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piano6368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I stayed this hotel two days. I thought about cave hotel, it's dark in the room.
But it was bright than expeted. Especially an owner amd owner’s father of an honor were kind。 Thier personal character was wonderful. It became a hotel which is not forgtten. I'd like to stay again.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jihah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I think in Goreme tourism increased too fast, much more than service level.
Melek Cave is a normal place run with a superficial mood but, fortunately for everyone, the overall context is such a fairy place that you don't usually need much to enjoy your time...
We saw the owners/managers once arrived, then no more. To tell the truth, we never looked for them, and they never crosschecked with us. Beakfast was standard, again, with the whole service table left under the rising sun, butter and jam melting together with olives cheese and tomatos (an adjoining much nicer hotel adopted the same melting approach, actually... at least we paid less!). Room was nice, in the cave, great termal insulation then, and bathroom was essential. No one entered our room to clean or tidy it, but we're not maniacs and we survived our mess!
Last day, checkout time, here they are again, the owners/managers, wishing us we've been fine and asking for a Trip Advisor review: here we go, review is served!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gneppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#9 of 69 in Goreme
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cave Life Hotel
Cave Life Hotel
#31 of 76 in Goreme
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roc Of Cappadocia
Roc Of Cappadocia
#22 of 76 in Goreme
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Walnut House Hotel Goreme
0.1 mi away
View Cave Hotel
View Cave Hotel
#43 of 76 in Goreme
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melek Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melek Cave Hotel

Property: Melek Cave Hotel
Address: Gaferli Mah. Cevizler Sok. No 28, Goreme, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melek Cave Hotel is located in the center of Göreme and surrounded with fairy chimneys. We have both cave and Ottoman-style arched rooms to offer the best comfort for our guest. In our cave hotel, you may have your drinks and meals in our garden or on the terrace, where there is a good choice of local and imported drinks. The owners have good knowledge about the region and are happy to share it with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melek Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melek Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing