We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good service”
Review of SOS Restaurant & Cafe - CLOSED

SOS Restaurant & Cafe
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really good service”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Everything worked and food was delicious
Everything worked and food was delicious
Everything worked and food was delicious

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CoolBoy_HKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Service, Great Food”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We stayed in Goreme for 4 days, and every one of those days, we had either lunch or dinner at SOS Restaurant. Yes, it was that good :) There were other restaurants around with great food too, but what really distinguished this restaurant was the service. The waiter was always helpful and friendly. You can't help but feel welcomed when the waiter remembers you from the day before. The restaurant is on the second floor, so it has a terrific view of the town and mountains.

Great service, great food that's reasonably priced and comfortable surroundings with terrific views made it a wonderful dining experience everytime.

Oh yes, try the pottery kebabs.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayis_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service and location”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Frankly, the best food I tasted during my whole trip in Turkey. If only I had space to eat for 3 people... Do eat as much as you can! The food is all home made, local and amazing! Be ready to change your mind on lentil soup, like I did :) Do try their delicious pottery dishes.
During my stay in Göreme, I always had my meals at SOS and would do it again till trying everything on the menu.
The service is fast, with sense of humor and very friendly making you feel like a real guest at their home.
Both Ismail (waiter), Harun (owner) and the kitchen staff (can't remember their names...) make their absolute best to please you.
The decoration is well put together and the ambiance is cozy.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tulipa07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“best potery kebab in town and very good sauce + nice atmosphere and staff”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

SOS is a very cosy restaurant (they have a lovely corner where u can sit comfortable on pillows and enjoy ur dinner in a traditional way) of medium class with moderate prices and delicious food.. especially the sauce they serve as appetizer is great and i think unique in cappadocia.. the staff is very friendly (and speaks excellent english) and can also give u competent advice in sightseeing questions.. waterpipe is for free there and u dont have to wait long for ur food.. i also liked that its easy to find and located central next to busstation..

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bianca21022012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No problem!”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

These owners paid attention to the decor, there is a nice atmosphere. The waiters were smooth, and the food was good. This was our first stop in Goreme, don't be frightened by the emmergency-like name, this place is one to spend a nice moment! On the other hand, definitely don't go to the spa on the other side of the road!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ImpressiveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SOS Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing