We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent value”
Review of Holiday Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Cave Hotel
Ranked #10 of 77 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We mainly checked Flintstones out because of its mention in The Lonely Planet. Lets just say we weren't dissapointed! We arrived in the area without having a hotel booked and after securing a place in another hotel for the first night we walked down to these guys and they gave us a tour of the facilities and showed us our room options. We were first shown the cave room (which we chose) which had three beds in it, two singles and one massive double bed. It had a large bath and a shower. In the wardrobe were extra blankets etc. which we ended up needed because it was quite cold in general.

The balcony room that we were shown was also gorgeous and generally I would have chosen it, however the bathroom wasnt as big and didnt have a bath.

The managers were great and they had no problem arranging things for us- we went on horseback through the hills and it was great value.
The food was good- excellent breakfast, you had a choice of french toast, omelletes, muesli etc. and it was included in the price of the room which I believe was 25-35 Euros.
There were great little places to sit and have a glass of wine etc. and every guest we met were very friendly.
The only unfortunate thing was that there was no internet in the room- only in the lobby. This was due to the thickness of the cave walls or something but they are planning on improving this soon. they had a few computers for general access in the lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SminxZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2009

I booked this place due to Lonely Planet and the hotel's website... but this is definitely what I had in mind. First of all, the place seems to be run by very young people, who seemed to be more interested in the money they could get from us than in trying to make the place nice for us. I know it's low season, but come on! and the room... yeah could have been much nicer... and the fact that the heat in the room was non-existent, and that I had to sleep with my jeans on, well that made me thankful I was there only one night. I should really have just checked out and gone to another hotel. There are much better places in Goreme than this... and definitely more worthy of the 60 TYL.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
5  Thank kikovox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2009

The Flintstones should be the 1st choice of travellers to Goreme. It's well situated a couple of minutes from village centre with great views. But best of all is the home from home feel of the place provided by Mehmet Ali and his team for whom nothing 's a problem. They help with tours, walks and anything else you may need. The accommodation is a mix of cave and modern rooms of various sizes, many of which were completely refurbished last winter with the remainder due to be done this winter. Whilst we were here in June '09 all the beds, mattresses and bedding were completely renewed. This gave us our best night's sleep in our 4 week visit to Turkey!
There's a large pool which is cleaned daily with free use of sun loungers, a big poolside terrace and bar where meals are served (breakfasts are fantastic) and a lounge with pool table, library and free internet use. The whole place is just so friendly you don't want to leave and whilst it's not the Ritz , it's definitely fantastic value for money. We'll be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KermitFormby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Having stayed in several places in Goreme, including Pasha Han and fantastic Walnut House, the Flintstones came as a big disappointment. Our room on the ground floor was changed from the one we looked at and paid a deposit for. All the surfaces were grimy, dust everywhere, and the bathroom was beyond belief.

What's more the pool looked like it hadn't been cleaned for a while and the breakfast was poor compared to other places in a similar price range.

Not recommended - what a shame!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank groundcontrol09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Flinstones Pansion was a perfect place to hang out in Cappadocia - the rooms, surrounds and pool are excellent (the dorm is dry and warm unlike some others in the area) ... more importantly, the hosts are helpful and generous (to the extent of driving 10km to drop my camera to me when i left it behind without asking for payment). Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

A very neat and clean place with very helpful staff. Actually there we felt more like being guests rather then being tourists, clients or foreigners. A great atmosphere and a 5star service!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KievKatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

If you choose this one you cannot go wrong, you will feel home! Rooms are nice and great value for what you pay, but most importantly, sfaff is incredibly nice. There are 3 Memeths and all of them great, freindly and superhelpful. There is also a nice common room with great views and restaurant. I have travelled more than 50 countries, but this is surely one of my best stays ever! Thank you, again!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rasto_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.4 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 77 in Goreme
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 77 in Goreme
1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#42 of 77 in Goreme
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#20 of 77 in Goreme
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Cave Hotel

Address: Orta Mahalle, Masat Sokak No: 4, Goreme 50180, Turkey (Formerly Flintstones Cave Hotel and Pension)
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: £25 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 5 minute walk out of the small town Göreme, the Flintstone Holiday Cave Hotel has been offering a unique experience in Cappadocia for the last 19 years. Our rooms have been converted from traditional Cappadocian caves with single, double, triple and family rooms available. With spacious unique rooms, clean modern bathrooms with hot water showers for 24 hours, hairdryer and toiletries, big comfortable beds and free wi-fi throughout, our hotel is great value. You can relax at our bar, next to the biggest pool in town or enjoy delicious traditional Turkish cuisine at our restaurant. A complimentary buffet breakfast is included with your stay. Our hotel is located one of the mountain side in Göreme, surrounded by nature, The terrace features beautiful views of Pigeon Valley and the surrounding landscapes. In hotel we have private parking lot and biggest garden in town. Our helpful and friendly staff are happy to accommodate to all of your needs. Whether it is arranging a balloon ride with our own Balloon Company Maccan VIP , daily Cappadocia tours, airport shuttle, bus tickets, domestic plain ticket rent a car we are always there to help. With Göreme so close, the bus station, restaurants, shops and many attractions are only a short walk away: 15mins walk to the Göreme Open Air Museum and 20mins walk to Red Rose Valley. Come and unwind with a stay in the tranquillity of our hotel, a very cool cave hotel that speaks the feeling of Cappadocia, as we make your holiday in Cappadocia a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing