We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an amazing hotel”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Adana, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“an amazing hotel”
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My family had a great time on this small hotel, the people at the hotel were great and helpful, breakfast was good and the location is fantastic a 5 minute walk from the center of Goreme. The rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aguirreferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
193
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Our Stay at Darvesh cave hoyse was extremely warm and welcoming. we were greated with drings and snacks. MR. Cemal and mr. levent were very kind and helpful and accomodating in everything. They helped us with our food, siteseeing, price, toom service and comfort, and delicious breakfast and their friendly nature

We were 2 couples, had our most memorable stay as compared to all our countries we have visited in the past.

I definitely recommend all who want to visit turkey must visit cappadokya for adventure and relaxation. and stay and DARVESH CAVE HOUSE.

Good luck and good wishes

GAGAN AND RUBY
SAMIT AND CANNIFER

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAGANSINGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Should've written this a while back --- I stayed here for three nights (60 euro a night) in October with a friend and had a truly fantastic time. As soon as we got there, Dervish offered to give us the choice between two rooms: We could stay in the one we had booked, or we could move to another that was higher up and brighter and officially more expensive (#8, I think) at no additional price. Like any New Yorker, I immediately assumed this was a scam. Luckily, my friend talked a little sense into me. We took the better room and loved it -- comfy and cave-like in the best sense, with nice perks (satellite TV, a tea pot, and a shower better than the one I have at home). After staying there a couple days, I realized that not only is Dervish definitely not the kind of guy to rip you off, he's the kind who offers you a lift to the open air museum, gives great restaurant recommendations (a place called Nostalgia, I think, just up the hill), and is happy to arrange the day trips and balloon ride you were too lazy to book until the night before. And the cave house really is a special place. There's a gorgeous little rose garden, a cozy kitchen, and free WiFi (perfect for Skype), all right up the hill from the center of Goreme. Not a deluxe hotel by any means, but rustic and clean and charming for a great price.

A few other tips: The hot air balloon really was incredible. Don't miss Selime Monastery. Don't bother with the day trip that includes the open air museum -- it's only a few minutes away, and you can do it by yourself. (Go early or late to avoid massive crowds.) Ask Dervish how to walk over the lookout ridge to Love Valley; we stumbled over one afternoon and it was a highlight of our trip. If you take the public bus to Uchisar (a 10 min ride), make sure the driver knows to let you off there. We ended up doing an accidental roundtrip to Nevsehir, although the guy didn't charge us because we looked so hapless.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emu02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The advice offered by Cemal re getting around Cappadocia without a car and ballooning (going with a professionally trained pilot in a not too large basket) was fantastic. Breakfast was one of the best we had in Turkey and the room lovely. It was winter and we found the room a bit too warm for comfort with a big doona at night - but the mattresses were comfortable and it was lovely to be warm in the room during the day. These guys went out of their way to be kind and helpful and even insisted on driving us with our suitcases to the bus stop in the evening of our departure - only 500 metres down the road! And they had a laptop available in the reception area for the kids to use anytime they liked, untimed and uncharged. Just the sort of place to stay when you're away from home.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Cute and quaint boutique cave hotel in Georeme, Cappadocia. The place only has 8 rooms so it's nice and quiet. The service is amazing. We booked all our tours and my shuttle service to the airport through the hotel.

The bathroom was probably my favorite part. It was big and spacious and had a jacuzzi inside.

The breakfast is a simple buffet of bread, olives, cheeses, muesli, and Turkish yogurt and you can order eggs or french toast made to order. And of course hot Turkish tea or coffee.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnBKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We had a great experience at the Cavehouse. The two owners are very helpful and hospitable. The cave room was everything we hoped for - clean, unique and authentic. Gave us a GREAT dinner recommendation at a nearby family restaurant. Best meal we had in two weeks in Turkey.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidGarcia33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Dervish Cave House is definitely the most unique place I have stayed at. Located in the heart of Cappadocia with splendid day and night views. The management are just amazing, arranging our balloon trip and tours. They even arranged our transport and hotel for Pamukkale. Having gone there in winter , the private jacuzzi is the best way to end the day. There is free internet/laptop use for any amount of hours. And breakfast is served in such a homely and cosy manner. My advice would be to take the red tour as it has the more panoramic views. Have a great trip!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#32 of 77 in Goreme
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 77 in Goreme
601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#43 of 77 in Goreme
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#54 of 77 in Goreme
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hills Cave Hotel
Hills Cave Hotel
#61 of 77 in Goreme
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#17 of 77 in Goreme
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#26 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing