We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, perfect location - but it's the service you'll remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great hotel, perfect location - but it's the service you'll remember”
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Couldn't have been happier. The rooms literally are caves and are all very big - even by American hotel standards. The bathroom was huge, the bed was comfortable. WiFi was a little weak but, hey, it's a cave. It has satellite TV, an in-room electric water boiler for tea/coffee, and tons of space. The location is perfect, just a few minutes' walk into downtown Goreme, a 15 minute walk to the Open Air Museum, and easy transit to any of the other sites in the region. The views from the many terraces were gorgeous morning, noon, and night.

What stands out is the hospitality. We were welcomed with tea and one of the owners sat down with us and gave us a lay of the land. He presented options for different touring/sightseeing options, but it never came across as a hard sales pitch. He said he was a hot-air balloon pilot, but recommended another company as it would save us about 140 Euro but not cost us on safety. The staff always smiled and said hello. THE BEST PART was on our departure. We had a 6:40am pickup to head to the airport in Kayseri, so we were leaving before breakfast (which was good itself). The staff made all four of us massive cheese and salami sandwiches - very tasty! - that we were able to eat for breakfast AND lunch. It was such an amazing touch.

One couple on our trip stayed in Room #8 (all the room pics on their website are accurate), and it had some high up holes in the cave walls blocked only by plastic. It got to be a bit cold in their room at night. We stayed in Room 7, and it was perfect other than the bathroom being a bit humid/musty smelling, but closing the door fixed that problem easily.

I don't know how this compares to other budget options in Goreme (we payed $375 US for two rooms for two nights), but it was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: They're all pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
193
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Nice views of Göreme, short walk to the restaurants and shops, and to the lookout point over the town and landscapes. Yummy breakfast, wonderful terraces, lots of outdoor seating for lounging. Cemal can get you a good deal on a balloon ride (a must!). The staff is very helpful with tips and info for seeing the sights.
Very nice and modern bathrooms, with great water pressure in shower and bath. Rooms #2 and #6 were spacious, with plenty of light.
We highly recommended this hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Me and my husband stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and it was great. The room was a beautiful cave room and very authentic. The view was great, it was clean, centrally located, and the owners were very hospitable. One even drove us to Rose Valley (in his own car, just because he wanted to!) when we said we were interested in hiking. They booked bus tickets for us, daily tours, and made great restaurant recommendations. Only minor thing was the weather. It was cold in Cappadocia in April and since the "windows" have little openings (to allow circulation in the cave room) it got a bit cold at night, even with the heat on. But this isn't a worry if you're staying there in the summer. Overall a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a cave room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roula_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adana, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

My family had a great time on this small hotel, the people at the hotel were great and helpful, breakfast was good and the location is fantastic a 5 minute walk from the center of Goreme. The rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aguirreferman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Our Stay at Darvesh cave hoyse was extremely warm and welcoming. we were greated with drings and snacks. MR. Cemal and mr. levent were very kind and helpful and accomodating in everything. They helped us with our food, siteseeing, price, toom service and comfort, and delicious breakfast and their friendly nature

We were 2 couples, had our most memorable stay as compared to all our countries we have visited in the past.

I definitely recommend all who want to visit turkey must visit cappadokya for adventure and relaxation. and stay and DARVESH CAVE HOUSE.

Good luck and good wishes

GAGAN AND RUBY
SAMIT AND CANNIFER

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAGANSINGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Should've written this a while back --- I stayed here for three nights (60 euro a night) in October with a friend and had a truly fantastic time. As soon as we got there, Dervish offered to give us the choice between two rooms: We could stay in the one we had booked, or we could move to another that was higher up and brighter and officially more expensive (#8, I think) at no additional price. Like any New Yorker, I immediately assumed this was a scam. Luckily, my friend talked a little sense into me. We took the better room and loved it -- comfy and cave-like in the best sense, with nice perks (satellite TV, a tea pot, and a shower better than the one I have at home). After staying there a couple days, I realized that not only is Dervish definitely not the kind of guy to rip you off, he's the kind who offers you a lift to the open air museum, gives great restaurant recommendations (a place called Nostalgia, I think, just up the hill), and is happy to arrange the day trips and balloon ride you were too lazy to book until the night before. And the cave house really is a special place. There's a gorgeous little rose garden, a cozy kitchen, and free WiFi (perfect for Skype), all right up the hill from the center of Goreme. Not a deluxe hotel by any means, but rustic and clean and charming for a great price.

A few other tips: The hot air balloon really was incredible. Don't miss Selime Monastery. Don't bother with the day trip that includes the open air museum -- it's only a few minutes away, and you can do it by yourself. (Go early or late to avoid massive crowds.) Ask Dervish how to walk over the lookout ridge to Love Valley; we stumbled over one afternoon and it was a highlight of our trip. If you take the public bus to Uchisar (a 10 min ride), make sure the driver knows to let you off there. We ended up doing an accidental roundtrip to Nevsehir, although the guy didn't charge us because we looked so hapless.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emu02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The advice offered by Cemal re getting around Cappadocia without a car and ballooning (going with a professionally trained pilot in a not too large basket) was fantastic. Breakfast was one of the best we had in Turkey and the room lovely. It was winter and we found the room a bit too warm for comfort with a big doona at night - but the mattresses were comfortable and it was lovely to be warm in the room during the day. These guys went out of their way to be kind and helpful and even insisted on driving us with our suitcases to the bus stop in the evening of our departure - only 500 metres down the road! And they had a laptop available in the reception area for the kids to use anytime they liked, untimed and uncharged. Just the sort of place to stay when you're away from home.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#8 of 69 in Goreme
357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#25 of 69 in Goreme
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#15 of 69 in Goreme
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#19 of 69 in Goreme
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#13 of 69 in Goreme
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Stone Palace
Cappadocia Stone Palace
#45 of 69 in Goreme
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#25 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing