We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay!!!”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
297 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Very nice stay!!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed in capadocia for 2 days and we were well receptioned by Mr Cemal, the manager, who provided us almos everythiing: tours, baloon, rides, transfers, everything to make our stay the most pleasant possible.

The hotel is conveniently close to the city center, the rooms are spacious and clean. Would certainly come back.

Don´t miss the baloon flight!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essameninaviaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
193
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We booked directly through email and stayed in May 2012 for 2 nights. The overall experience was nice. We loved our cave room. It was spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom with a tub is large enough. The breakfast terrace has a nice view.
The hotel is located conveniently just a 2 minute drive from the bus station, near what is called "downtown" but yet far from noise, and a half an hour's walk away from Goreme Open Air Museum.
Upon arrival we were received at the bus station by Cemal. He even dropped us off even though that was not mandatory. The hotel also accepted dollars as payment unlike most hotels.
Downsides- breakfast could be better. The rooms being in caves can be a little cold at night despite the heating. But there are enough quilts, so sleeping is well.
After a miscommunication with Backpacker's Travel about our prearranged Green Tour, we took one of the hotel's tours for a slightly higher price. The tour was fine until it took us to a jewelery shop and souvenir shop in the end.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KainatK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

In a cold cold winter, snow outside and ice......the warmness of your home.... a wonderful welcome, very nice guys, comfortable and warm rooms, and everybody always at your disposal for anything you need.
The location of the hotel is perfect, the view is magnificent and all the people there made us fell like we were at home!
Absolutely to suggest!!!

Simona and Roberto

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robevend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and had a pleasant experience overall. The cave living was a novelty that we enjoyed and the people were very friendly and courteous. Breakfast was really good. The only thing that would have made it better is more lighting in the room - it was hard even to read - and a bigger mirror. There was also a really leaky faucet that made the floor of the bathroom wet. We didn't complain about it but would have been nice if they had noticed and taken care of it before we took the room.
But I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Lovely people - makes all the difference. We are a family of 4 with 2 picky boys and they really enjoyed the experience too.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geetha_P_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here and they don't even clean our rooms !!! I even found dog's tick on the bed !!!
The only good thing is it's French toast for breakfast

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zybrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Loved the place, which is tucked into one side of a small fairy chimney and rooms organised around a courtyard. The breakfast terrace has a wonderful view into the town and of sunsets, and the whole place is charming, unobtrusive and doesn't tread too heavily on the landscape. We stayed in a cave room, and it's surprisingly spacious. Tastefully decorated, with a great bathroom that comes with a large jacuzzi bath tub. Very romantic. The room can get a bit cold in the evenings (we stayed in early Spring) and the heating doesn't come on till I think 6pm, and even then, is a bit low. But get a hot bath or shower, and you'll feel ready for bed. The hot water can also take a good few minutes to get started, but once it does, it's super hot. There's a kettle in the room for making teas and coffees, a small safe deposit box and a TV. Because it's a cave room, it can get quite dark (with only one window). Breakfast is nice, with the usual cold option (olives, cucumber, breads, cereal etc) and warm (eggs, french toast).

They helped organise our shuttle pick up and drop off from the Kayseri airport, and also tour options with Nomad tour (which is very good - just enough mixture of being guided and given time to explore on our own) - we did the green tour and would totally recommend it. The staff (I think his name is Raif?) was quietly warm and helpful throughout our stay. Location wise, it's a 5 min walk into the centre of town, very conveniently located, but the walk back involves a short steep climb towards the hotel. There's also a nice walking trail behind the hotel to get a great panaromic view of the town, or of hot air balloons rising at the crack of dawn. Wifi is pretty fast and reliable, although as expected, being in the cave rooms would weaken the signals a bit.

We stayed for 3 nights here, and it was sad to leave. Really a wonderful place to stay in Goreme.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jhybe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had a mixed experience here. We had an excellent room with a lovely view. It was good value for money. Really nice to stay in a (semi) 'cave' room. Close to the centre of Goreme, but enough away from the main street to not have street noise. The gent who checked us in, and was there for our two night stay was super friendly and always very willing to help out.
However, there was a noisy extended family also staying at the hotel for the two nights we were there, and they talked and celebrated loudly into the night in the courtyard (all rooms overlook the courtyard, with the only window for the rooms there, for ventilation). We did not ask the staff to ask them to be quiet, but I was surprised they were not asked by the staff to keep it down, without the staff being prompted.
In terms to cleanliness, it was not great either. There was thick black mould on our spa bath/shower recess. It looked as though it has been building up for months. Also a new 'clean' towel was very dirty. Sheets and rest of room clean.
I know smoking in Turkey is very common and acceptable, so I largely ignored it. However, on the morning of our first breakfast, when we went in to the breakfast room, one of the staff (staff member's friends??) was in the office/food prep area, smoking away, even though they had a very large no smoking sign above the door. Maybe it's just because I am a non-smoker, but I found that pretty disgusting for a hotel. We ate in the other meal room. The same individuals who were smoking were also there late each night, talking loudly outside in the courtyard.
Overall I would stay somewhere else if I was ever in the region again. However I would not tell family/friend to definitely stay away, either, if they were thinking of this hotel...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaddyBrenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#23 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#8 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#19 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Cave House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#25 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing