We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value, great location, A+ service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing value, great location, A+ service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Dervish Cave House for two nights while visiting Cappadocia. This place is very quaint, minutes from "downtown" Goreme, and Dervish and his family are terrific. The breakfast every morning is included in the price, and quite good. Highly recommend staying here.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Foam4Daze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
192
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Cappadocia was our last stop in Turkey trip. Drive from the airport was very scenic as we could still see the last few snow capped mountains. As we entered Goreme the surprise started about the place. CAVE HOUSES!!! Its unique and never seen before. We passed through many small hotels and stay ins...and finally reached Dervish Cave House. Most places we passed had very good view of the Town of Goreme but not our hotel :(

The place is nice, comfortable and not very big...just the way we like it. We were given a large room as we were traveling with our teenage son (very thoughtful). The room was very large and cozy with 2 extra beds. The bathroom even had a bathtub with a jacuzzi! Bfast was served hot and eggs made to order. All the helpful tips were given on request and even a english speaking taxi was organised. As it is a small town language can be barrier. Cemal directed us to a nice place nearby for turkish home made food called Koyevi Restaurant...all you can eat at TL 25!

Minus the view the place is worth staying. Go on...explore Cappadocia...its a once in a lifetime destination!

Room Tip: Try and book a hotel which has a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shomzworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I found Dervish Cave House on Tripadvisor and made my travel arrangements via email. Cemal, the manager, was very responsive via email and he arranged a hotel pick-up and provided info about balloon rides. As promised, a ride was waiting for us at the Kayseri Airport. Upon check-in, we were not asked for our credit card upon. Instead, we were offered a seat and tea, which is most atypical of travel in 2012, but was the most pleasant way to begin our vacation and get in a Turkish frame of mind after 24 hours of planes, trains and automobiles. It really sticks in my mind as something special.

Accommodations are modern. The beds are very comfortable. Housekeeping each day. Fresh towels. Breakfast included, with a wide variety of cold and hot options. The location is prime. Although there is no restaurant for dinner at the hotel, it is in close proximity to many restaurants which allows you to explore Goreme.

The best part of staying at DCH is the staff. Everyone is happy, hospitable and helpful. We shared many smiles and laughs with them during our stay. They answered our numerous questions throughout our stay. Cemal listened to what we wanted from our hot air balloon ride, and was able to make it happen for us. We also approached each day with a blank slate and made our own agenda. DCH will arrange tours for guest, but we wanted something less structured. So the staff called taxis and airlines for us, making it easy for us to create the kind of daily agenda that we wanted.

After 4 nights, we were sad to leave our temporary home and our new friends. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The town is very quiet, so no matter what room you have it will be a peaceful stay. We had room 6 wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-EllenCallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our family group of 4 just spent 4 amazing days in Goreme, cappadoccia, turkey. The dervish cave house itself was a memorable experience. Set in the side of the volcanic rock face the rooms take on a cave like appearance but with all the conveniences at hand. We had a spacious family room, 1xdouble, 2 x single beds that were quite comfy. The room itself could do with a little more ventilation but we coped very well. There is wi fi avail though often not extended to rooms. It's avail in common lounge area. Breakfast is very good with a cooked option available. The owner, Dervish, was very friendly and helpful and arranged. A horse riding tour for us and a shuttle service to kayseri airport. All in all it's a wonderful area to explore with so much to do. A balloon ride is an absolute must!

Room Tip: Only 8 rooms so all much the same. Hotel 5mins walk down hill to city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at Dervish Cave House Hotel in March. Our room was very spacious, tea and coffee making facilities were a welcome treat and the beds comfortable, having a bath was great with kids. The view from the outdoor area is fantastic, it's worth the short walk up hill to have this advantage. The wonderful staff, especially Raif behind reception who made our stay all the more special. Our girls will keep so many lovely memories, the staff went out of their way to make them feel so at home, they even shared some soccer tips with our youngest. Our stay in a cave was one of the highlights of out trip to Turkey. Thank you to everyone at Dervish, we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
296 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed in capadocia for 2 days and we were well receptioned by Mr Cemal, the manager, who provided us almos everythiing: tours, baloon, rides, transfers, everything to make our stay the most pleasant possible.

The hotel is conveniently close to the city center, the rooms are spacious and clean. Would certainly come back.

Don´t miss the baloon flight!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank essameninaviaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We booked directly through email and stayed in May 2012 for 2 nights. The overall experience was nice. We loved our cave room. It was spacious and nicely decorated. The bathroom with a tub is large enough. The breakfast terrace has a nice view.
The hotel is located conveniently just a 2 minute drive from the bus station, near what is called "downtown" but yet far from noise, and a half an hour's walk away from Goreme Open Air Museum.
Upon arrival we were received at the bus station by Cemal. He even dropped us off even though that was not mandatory. The hotel also accepted dollars as payment unlike most hotels.
Downsides- breakfast could be better. The rooms being in caves can be a little cold at night despite the heating. But there are enough quilts, so sleeping is well.
After a miscommunication with Backpacker's Travel about our prearranged Green Tour, we took one of the hotel's tours for a slightly higher price. The tour was fine until it took us to a jewelery shop and souvenir shop in the end.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KainatK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#10 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#8 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#37 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#33 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Stone Palace
Cappadocia Stone Palace
#42 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#25 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing