We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second home in the mountains”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #35 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Second home in the mountains”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I can't say enough good things about the staff here - They are incredibly friendly, laid back, helpful, funny, and kind. They go to great lengths to ensure you enjoy your stay - whether it's breakfast outside of regular hours, a ride to the Turkish baths, or inviting you to share a raki on the patio. When there was a mix-up with airport transportation, they sent a car to pick us up right away, no questions asked. It honestly felt like home during our stay.

The facilities are also great. You are a few blocks up from the heart of the small town of Goreme and can walk almost everywhere. The patio/lawn has incredible views, and is the perfect place to sit and enjoy delicious, made-to-order french toast (the best!) or eggs. The rooms are spacious and quiet, and the jacuzzi tubs are a wonderful welcome home after a long day of hiking. That being said, there are certainly challenges to staying in a cave - it can be a bit damp and not all rooms get much light - but big windows, beautiful Turkish lamps and AC/heat/dehumidifier with a remote make these challenges easy to overcome.

This hotel gets my highest recommendation!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
193
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The room is to be paid up front on check-in. I was lucky to get upgraded to a King size suite at no extra cost. This B&B hotel is well situated and the rooms very comfortable. My room was across the street from the main building pictured in the photo. Breakfast was a bit chaotic but a reasonable selection and the rolls are especially delicious. There is no bottled water provided in the rooms, a management decision which is worth re-visiting as it is an inexpensive commodity and not everyone wants to take a chance on the tap water despite management’s assurance that it is completely safe to drink. Hotel could perhaps benefit from a woman’s touch – no criticism of the friendly efforts of the all male cast intended. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connoisseur-of-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Everything about this hotel was good to great. The courtyard with the great view, the cave rooms which were in fact very nice and modern, and the owners were fantastic. I mentioned it was my son's birthday - they got him a cake. I mentioned a restaurant I had read about - they directed me to a better one. The included made to order breakfast and buffet were great, plus it's an easy walk into town, close to a convenience store. The Dervish provided a great experience all around, and I really wanted to stay a few more days!

Room Tip: The expansion rooms across the street are way way nice and big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booktrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Best family hotel I have been so far. Very helpful staff and great advisers. We stayed in a deluxe family room and was great, spacious, very clean and neat. We arrived earlier morning travelling from Istanbul by car and they prepared us a really nice breakfast. During our staying anything we wanted and requested has been promptly attended. We left hotel early morning and asked for lunch pack which they provided us without any extra charge. I can´t describe how good, helpful and incredible those people are.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardoD527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We had a wonderful stay there. A lovely room, extraordinarily helpful staff and a fine breakfast. The managers Ibo and Cemal (pronounced Jamal) go the extra distance to make your stay fantastic — they were born there and know every detail of the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobtBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I visit Cappadocia many times and I like to stay in different hotels when I get there.So I stayed at Dervish Cave House Hotel on 29 March.It was the best cave hotel I have ever seen.I liked the room ,it was large and well-heating system and fantastic,you can use the wi-fi in your room as well.The service was excellent,I like the breakfast menu ıt was rich and delicious.I ask them what can I do and İbrahim informed me about their activities and tours I did just green tour and I was impressed all the places which we visited in the green tour,it was great.They are really helpful and they do the best for you to make you happy. It is close to the city center and there are lots of restaurants when you get down you can try the traditional foods.
So,if you are looking for a hotel you should go Dervish House and I m sure you will like it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniz k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights and really like the room and location of the hotel. Good breakfast with lots of options for hot food. The staff were knowledgable, warm and helpful. They knew the sites and were to eat good local food. 2 of the cousins who mange the hotel also flew the balloons and it was reassuring to climb into the ballon of the man who we saw that morning at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevecann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#33 of 76 in Goreme
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.3 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#20 of 76 in Goreme
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#53 of 76 in Goreme
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#9 of 76 in Goreme
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 76 in Goreme
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#26 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing