We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“:D we loved it!”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“:D we loved it!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It was love at first sight when we arrived at Dervish Cave Hotel. It has a beautiful garden with blooming roses where you can witness the sun setting over Goreme town while sipping some warm apple tea. It is just a 5min walk down a hill to the town. The room was spacious and clean though we didn't get one with a good view because of the rather late booking. Ibrahim and Cemal (the owners and pilots) are absolutely wonderful guys who made sure our plans and stay at Cappadocia was well taken care of. They also arranged for our hot air balloon ride and it was definitely a lifetime experience. Breakfast is a standard buffet spread that is offered in almost all hotels but you can order for freshly made eggs and toasts.
If you're planning a trip to Cappadocia, this is definitely the place stay in and trust me you will not regret it! Wonderfully warm experince.
Hope we will be lucky enough to visit this place again. Thanks for the kind hospitality guys. Much love from Malaysia :)

Room Tip: Book early to get a room with a good view. The hotel opposite this one is also beautiful and belongs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
193
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I absolutely loved every minute of my stay at dervish cave house. The staff at the hotel made every possible effort to make cappadocia , the highlight of our turkey trip.
The hotel is located in goreme which is just the place to be in to explore enchanting cappadocia.
Special mention to the hotel owner ibrahim who arranged everything for us, right from the balloon ride to our city excursion andall other activities.
Definitely recommend this hotel (run by a fabulous set of warm and friendly people ) to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidhi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empangeni, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a great experience in Goreme and a wonderful stay at Dervish cave house.Ibo arranged all our excursions, transfers and our balloon ride, which was very convenient.All the staff at the hotel went the extra mile for us and nothing was a hassle for them.Our room(no 8), had great views and was very unique, had tasteful furnishings and a very comfortable bed and good quality linen.Breakfast was varied and plentiful.The front terrace is great and has sweeping views of the valley and town below.Our balloon ride is worth a mention, the skill of our pilot Cemal was impressive from 2000 ft, he showed me the landing spot and landed the balloon right on the trailer!Flying a craft that size with no way of steering and at the mercy of the wind, it was impressive.
After our check out we were even offered a hot shower, before our next flight.
The check out was smooth and we were given a free transfer as we took 2 excursions.
If we visit this area again this is the place we will come back to.

Room Tip: Room 8 is very unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Good: cave house style, location (away from touristy main road), size of room (included lounge area), views.

Bad: dirty & dusty room, no airconditioning, no wifi access in room, linen and towels clean but stained & with cigarette burns, spa bath and shower disgustingly dirty (didn't even use the spa bath as a result), shower leaked on to bathroom floor, toilet brush not cleaned therefore disgusting, only creamer for coffee in room (no milk), breakfast was ordinary (instant coffee, moldy butter).

The photos, description and cost of rooms set a high level of expectation, but unfortunately failed to deliver after a 3 night stay. Fortunately the balloon ride in Cappadocia was amazing.

Room Tip: Ensure that the room has airconditioning and wifi signal (as advertised). Our room didn't have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikkelz_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
261 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Location is very good near to sunset point.Staff is highly cooperative and fluent in English.Terrace is superb with a nice view of the surroundings.Offers delicious breakfast Continental and Turkish both.Highlight is the Jacuezzi in every bathroom.Really worth the money you spend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naureen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monza, Italy
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The place is in the best location to visit Cappadocia: Goreme! just a few minutes walking distance from the centre with a lot of cafes, restaurants and other facilities.
The staff is friendly and speaks English (very rare in Turkey to find people who speak English well!).
The view from the garden is great, you can see the city with all its typical buildings!
However the room ( room with jacuzzi) was not so great as in the photos! First of all it was very dark (ok, it is a cave, but we are in 2013 and we need light!) and not so special inside, in addition the jacuzzi was broken (I flooded the bathroom having a bath) so that was useless). At this point we could have saved money by staying in a normal room with a normal bath!
Disappointed because I was expecting more from photos and reviews!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isa_monzaItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Her sey o kadar guzeldi ki zamanimiz olsa ailecek bir hafta daha kalmak isterdik. Cok memnun kaldik. Bence Goreme'deki en iyi konaklama yeri.

The best accommodation in Goreme. Everything is wonderful. Best breakfast,best rooms, best turkish hospitality and more. This cave hotel is beautiful like a Cappadocia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeozden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#41 of 72 in Goreme
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#30 of 72 in Goreme
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#20 of 72 in Goreme
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lalezar Cave Hotel
Lalezar Cave Hotel
#70 of 72 in Goreme
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.3 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#19 of 72 in Goreme
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#26 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing