We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Place”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in early December. I think I had the best room which was cut into a chimney and very nicely appointed. I didn't spend much time in my room though as the living room was very inviting as was the rose garden with excellent views over town. The hotel was very well located between the main part of Goreme town and the lookout, a 5 minute walk to see the balloons at sunrise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gglleennnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Dervish Cave House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had a great stay at the Dervish Cave Hotel. The staff was so very helpful and friendly. Even though it is not a normal service for them, because we were desperate they even did our laundry for us and dried it on the line.
The views from this place were amazing. Breakfast was great.
They helped us rent a 4-wheeler for much less than the price the owner was originally asking. The owners are locals and so they know how to get things done. They gave great advice.
We booked on booking.com and arrived at about 8:30 a.m. We did not give them any prior notice of our early arrival, but they quickly offered us breakfast and got a room ready for us by the time we were done eating breakfast. The room was a little cold when we first got in it, but we were amazed at how warm and comfortable and SILENT it was a night.
Amazing Experience!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camlajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a suite which is well worth it. Breakfast was good and staff was welcoming if a little tired (Ibrahim the manager is also a balloon pilot). Nice room, big bed, big bathroom. We arranged a whirling dervish show but the van didn't show up to get us there so we all five (including the hotel staff driver) crammed into a very small car with the heat turned up to tropical (also nearly out of gas) and went on a rather interesting high-speed ride to the caravanserai where the show was.

Only negative was there were periodic power outages which given the cold, could be uncomfortable. That may well be a city problem, I don't know.

Room Tip: Get a suite to have all the room you want.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at Dervish cave hotel from 22-24 Oct 2013. We had a wonderful time. The hotel is very close to all attractions including the balloon ride, ticket agencies, tour operators and restaurants. The hotel owner Dervis himself can arrange for many of the tours in Cappadocia. He is extremely helpful. When we missed the last bus at a sunset point and were stranded- he sent us a taxi within 10 mins (do keep the hotel card handy and check the timings of the last bus if relying on public transport!). The rooms and bathrooms are very clean, comfortable and views from the balcony area are very picturesque. You can even see the balloons pass by in the morning. All in all, we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sree N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My friend and I visited Cappadocia mid October. The city is wonderful. A very unique experience. We signed up for the Green tour, Red tour, Whirling Dervish show (I would recommend skipping this), and also the hot air balloon ride. We also arranged pickup and drop off to the airport which was seamless.
Mustafa was very friendly upon check in. We had a late arrival and he carried our luggage to our room. I met Ibrahim the next day. I had corresponded with him via email regarding the various things I wanted to do. Everything we priced and said was the same as was quoted.
The tours were the great, Cappadocia is wonderful and the hotel and staff is as well.
Wi-fi does not work in the cave rooms but wi-fi works well in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed last week at the Dervish Cave House hotel and the experience was great. Staff is very friendly and they make you feel at home. Breakfast that they include is healthy and complete with all that you need in the morning to get out there. The experience of staying at a cave as a room was something special. The only thing I have to say is that WIFI does not work at rooms so you have to get to the lobby area. In general it was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosueVazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Good:
-Location is in the centre of town. Convenient to walk to nearby shops and restaurants. Other hotels require taking shuttles or long uphill walks.

-Family run establishment type, so staff are friendly and helpful. Very informal atmosphere. After checking in and getting ourselves organised, the staff helped us plan our tour itinerary in the comfort of the lobby over hot coffee. Our entire tour and hot air balloon itinerary was planned, booked by the hotel staff. They patiently explained and helped us choose the tours that were suitable for us. Having our elderly parents and two year old daughter with me made the tour selections crucial to keep everyone happy.

-Rooms were adequately large and furnished.

- Other conveniences such as wifi (although only at the common areas due to the cave rooms difficulty in getting wifi signals), breakfast and amenities were adequate enough.

Not So Good:
- Our room was a bit chilly at night. Room heating was mild as it wasn't the cold months yet. They however provided us with a portable heater which solved the issue.

Bonus Point:
- We got upgraded rooms which was huge and more than what we paid for.

In Summary:

The best location, competitively priced hotel, with friendly helpful staff right smack in the middle of Goreme town. We were satisfied with the hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#42 of 78 in Goreme
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#17 of 78 in Goreme
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sarihan Cave Hotel
Sarihan Cave Hotel
#64 of 78 in Goreme
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 78 in Goreme
593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#39 of 78 in Goreme
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nature Park Cave Hotel
Nature Park Cave Hotel
#43 of 78 in Goreme
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#26 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £28 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing