We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cave hotel - good value”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
wellington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful cave hotel - good value”
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We stayed only one night as our Turkish friends could not take time off work to stay more nights. The hotel is located up a hill within easy walking distance to the shops in downtown Goreme, hence allowing one to have a good view of the area.
The hotel manager, Camal (pronounced Jammel) - a soft spoken gentleman, has a very professional, genuine and friendly attitude, and speaks fluent English. As we had our own vehicle, he gave us a fantastic tip of going about seeing Cappadocia in the 2 days. We are truly thankful for that as we thoroughly enjoyed Cappadocia.
Our room was large and cosy, and the bathroom with spa was awesome. Water pressure was excellent and the bathtowels were large and 5 star quality. The pricing of this boutique hotel is very reasonable and is definite value for money.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickE58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
193
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2010

The dervish Cave House is beautifully located close enough to the restaurants and stores but away from the noise. The rooms are comfortable and charmingly decorated with tea/coffee pots waiting. The manager is very helpful; in the airport, ready to leave Goreme, when one of our party discovered she'd left her passport in the room, Camal dropped everything and drove the 35 - 40 minute trip to the airport with the passport so she would not miss her flight. Breakfasts at the Dervish Cave House are very special. Amazing omelets or Turkish Breakfast or .... and wonderful fresh bread. Look outside at 8AM to see a band of hot air balloons over their courtyard. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonbeckon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey city, nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Dervish Cave House gave us a great place to stay for our one night in Cappadocia. Our room was lovely (the deluxe two-twin-bed room with a jacuzzi bath) and the hotel is located right up a very steep street behind the local mosque--so the evening call to prayer was part of the atmosphere.

A short walk further up the road is a place where locals and tourists go to watch the sunset over the landforms and the town of Goreme.

Dervis, the owner of the hotel, just opened recently, and his English is getting better by the day. Our bountiful Turkish breakfast was served on the grassy terrace area.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

I loved Dervish Cave House. We splashed out a bit in Goreme and spent more than our usual budget, and it was definitely worth it. The room was huge and beautifully decorated. It isn´t very old but has been made to look it, without leaving out any comforts. The bed was very comfy, the shower was brilliant as was the jacuzzi. The host was so helpful and friendly. The views from the garden over the fairy chimneys was fantastic. It´s a shame we were there in winter so it was too cold to sit outside, but the view from the dining room is also lovely. A choice of breakfasts was welcome too. I can´t say a bad word about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tahleispain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Beatiful place.We were guests in every sense. Incredible staff. We booked triple room and got a family since we came with two children.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iva51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We had a large room which slept four comfortably. TV and a lovely jacuzzi bath and walk in shower. The location was great for getting around and walking. We booked a tour which picked us up at the hotel. Dervish recommended a couple of restaurants which we enjoyed. Overall we had a great stay. Very quirky place, not to be missed. We flew into Kayseri from Izmir which was very cheap and got a mini bus to Goreme.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliottk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izmir
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We went to Dervish House for 3 days short holiday, we are living in İzmir/Turkey and it was our first visit to Cappadocia region. For the hotel we didnt have any idea but we were really surprised. Room is in the big rock, very fantastic and very big, very clean, totally different atmosphere than normal hotel, there are not to many room only 6-7 I think, staff is very friendly, for breakfeast you dont have to many choice but foods are delicious, hotel is located only 5 minute walk to Goreme center and 20 minutes to open air museum. A place to stay in Goreme

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keyifligezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#32 of 77 in Goreme
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 77 in Goreme
601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#43 of 77 in Goreme
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#54 of 77 in Goreme
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hills Cave Hotel
Hills Cave Hotel
#61 of 77 in Goreme
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#17 of 77 in Goreme
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#26 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing