We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, relaxing and fabulous hospitality”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #35 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing, relaxing and fabulous hospitality”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We have travelled to many places in Turkey and stayed in many hotels but none are comparable to this gem of a hotel. The hotel is peaceful, tranquil and has the most amazing view from the breakfast garden. We sat eating breakfast in the warm sunshine as a hot air balloon passed over us. The breakfast was prepared fresh every morning and the omelettes were amazing! The rooms were very large and kept extremely clean with fresh towels every day. The kindness and the hospitality we were shown by Dervish the owner was second to none. Thank you for such a special holiday.
An amazing hotel in an amazing place, you have to stay here. We will return to this hotel.

Aykut and Sam

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
193
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Fantastic location with views. Great cave rooms and terrace garden.
Breakfast was generous.
All the staff extremely helpful and kind to our family.
Most of the staff spoke English very well.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wegz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Dervish Cave House was a great place to stay in Cappadocia. It is situated in a beautiful area of the town and has a nice garden where you can enjoy breakfast or an afternoon apple tea. The scenery was marvellous and the owner went out of his way to make our stay pleasant. He not only gave us detailed info about the area and tours, but he also made us reservations for the Turkish bath and a special Turkish night dinner, and also booked us plane tickets for our next destination! He was extremely friendly and accommodating, as were the rest of the staff. We had a cave room, which was pretty cool. Breakfast in the morning was good, lots of choices and eggs cooked at your preference. We had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electronicpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Dervish was an amazing host. A third generation cave dweller with lots of local knowledge.
Staff friendly and helpful. Amazing relaxed atmosphere. Nothing too much trouble.
Allow at least three nights and do a bit of uphill fitness training so you can enjoy the many beautiful walks . Stunning scenery. Balloon trip is a must. Small town so easy to find your way around, very friendly shopkeepers and not pushy like Istanbul. Make the most of your stay and explore the landscape by yourself. Very safe to walk around the hills by yourself.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwitraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cemalim, Owner at Dervish Cave House, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Dear Our Guest

Thank you for your kind review.
We would like to see you again here.

Kind Regards
Cemal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul / Sao Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Great staff (Cemal and Dervish), central location, large cool rooms (air conditioned is not needed).
Could include a bit of more lights or candles in the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brazturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cemalim, Manager at Dervish Cave House, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Dear Our Guest

Thank you for your kind review.
We would like to see you again here.

Kind Regards
Cemal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Unique Hotel, Cave Style and 5 minutes walking from the city center.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielfs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cemalim, Manager at Dervish Cave House, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Dear Our Guest

Thank you for your kind review.
We would like to see you again here.

Kind Regards
Cemal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

It is a charming small cave hotel conveniently located near the centre of Goreme, yet quiet. There is a lovely garden in which one can have breakfast or tea. The owner, Dervish is friendly and helpful without being pushy - he arranged 2 tours for us, but didn't try to pressure us to take any. The room is tastefully decorated, and the bathroom is huge, with a superb shower and jacuzi. The room has facilities for making tea or coffee. The breakfast buffet is lavish and you also have a choice of eggs cooked to your order at no extra cost. We also had our clothes laundered by the maid at a modest cost.
On the minus side, we had specifically requested a cave room but got a room built as an exterior extension to the Fairy chimney. Also, there was no airconditioning, so it was quite hot at night. The bathroom has no window or exhaust, so had a rather musty, damp smell.
On the whole, a positive experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indiandiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cemalim, Owner at Dervish Cave House, responded to this review, 30 June 2010
Dear Our Guest

Thank you for your kind review.
We would like to see you again here.

Kind Regards
Cemal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#32 of 76 in Goreme
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.3 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#19 of 76 in Goreme
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#54 of 76 in Goreme
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#9 of 76 in Goreme
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 76 in Goreme
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#26 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing