We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff and rooms.”
Review of Dervish Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dervish Cave House
Ranked #34 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, staff and rooms.”
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I went here with my mum and dad before they headed back overseas to live and we absolutely loved it! The rooms were great (mine was a twin and was massive, theirs was a double, not as big but had a spa bath). Breakfast in the garden overlooking the landscape was great. We ever went on a tour with (Derrish?), the proprietor who showed us the surrounding region for a very reasonable price.

Can't recommend it enough for a magical time in Goreme.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanset01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    124
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
103
193
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Goreme is where you want to stay to see Capodoccia. The other towns are too big and Goreme has everything you need and still has charm. Deverish Cave House is perfectly located for walking to restaurants and shopping. Dervish can save you money. Do the balloon trip. It's expensive but you will not experience anything like it again.

The hotel has a beautiful garden where you can have breakfast or your own food you bring in for lunch or dinner. Dervish has beer and soft drinks but does not serve food other than breakfast, We brought our own wine which was not allowed in any other place we stayed in Turkey. The breakfast was great and as said in other reviews. you can order eggs and french toast at no extra charge, The garden is beautiful. There is a 250 year old mulberry tree and Dervish serves jam his Mother made from the fruit.

One night Dervish took all us up to the lookout point (short walk) and provided free wine as we watched the sun go down. Friendly.cozy. beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank demozeleski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and found it an excellent choice. The hotel rate is very reasonable. All the rooms are crafted from real caves and the room we stayed was cozy, clean, neat and tidy. Temperature goes up to over 30c in Cappadocia during the day but the temperature in our room feels nice and cool at night with the windows open. There is a terrace outside our room. It is so relaxing sitting there and enjoy the clear sky at night. Dervish, the owner provides very good eating and travel tips to us and always makes himself available when we have questions.The balloon tour he arranged for us was really cool. We would go back to this hotel at our next visit and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

First the hotel. The rooms are great and affordable. Carved out of the rock giving them character, perfect temperature although there is air con and heating, and jacuzzi. The Turkish hotel breakfasts are rather repetitive and boring, however at Dervish there is a cooked breakfast extra included.

More importantly however, is Dervish himself and his staff. We received great advice for our further travels in Turkey (Dervish has traveled Turkey a lot himself) and insider knowledge into which tour/event operators to book with/avoid. Dervish made reservations for us, drove us to the hiking places and picked us up again. All in all an "above and beyond" service. Have a chai (tea) with Dervish on the terrace and you will gain more than average tourist experience of Turkey.

Don't go to Cappadocia without staying at Dervish Cave House.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danish2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This hotel is small and unique great place during the our stay we didnt see any cynical things
The hotel manager cemal helped us to arranging everything like tour ballon trip, he is really nice people we enjoyed much with his recommendation thank you so much. Also ı have to tell to travelers this hotel is very close to the restaurants, cafes, markets only 5 minutes walk to the all things but dont worry also very quiet another important thing hotel has a very nice view from garden. You have a many chooses in the breakfast as well in open buffet also you can order hot breakfast as well its also including. Thank you for such as beatifull holiday.......

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V0yager2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Dervish Cave House, and were very well looked after by Cemal who runs the place.

We arrived early morning via overnight bus from Antalya, very tired, and were picked up from the bus station by Cemal. Our rooms were occupied at that time but we were allowed to use another room to shower and rest, until our rooms were ready. We organised hot air ballooning (must do), one of the day tours, and the turkish night dinner and dance show through the hotel, all were very good. On our last day we wanted to do a half day tour of a few places, and Cemal offered to drive us around (at a reasonable price) which was great as we got to see things at our own pace. We had two meals, one lunch and one dinner, at a place run by Cemal's uncle's uncle, which served yummy authentic home cooked turkish food (not the typical kebabs), with tables on a terrace overlooking the town.

We had cave rooms which were very nice, perfect temperature day and night (no need for air con!), spacious and confortable, with spa baths which was a bliss after hard days out sightseeing. Breakfast was descent - they cook you eggs or french toast to go with the usual breads, cheeses and fruits. Location was good, it was just up the hill from the centre of town (Goreme is a small town anyway).

We had an excellent time in Cappadocia and must thank Cemal for his great hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d0nkeyk0ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I and my girlfriend stayed in room 4 for 2 nights it was amazing stay during the our turkey trip. The manager Cemal was very helpful to arranging our holiday in Cappadocia we joined balloon trip and green tour which is the cemal organised it was perfect so thank you so much cemal we realy want to see your cave house again. I really recomend this pleace.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripawaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#42 of 72 in Goreme
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#31 of 72 in Goreme
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#22 of 72 in Goreme
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lalezar Cave Hotel
Lalezar Cave Hotel
#70 of 72 in Goreme
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.3 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#19 of 72 in Goreme
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dervish Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dervish Cave House

Property: Dervish Cave House
Address: Gafeli mah no :6, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Goreme
#26 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Cave House offers enchanting and elegant accommodation in restored 8 old Cappadocian house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Dervish Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dervish Cave House Hotel Goreme
Dervish Cave Hotel
Dervish Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing