We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taskonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taskonak Hotel
Ranked #15 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed here for four nights in October 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Positives:
-The entire place (from the rooms to the dining area) is completely spotless. Rooms were the cleanest we experienced during our 5 weeks in Turkey. Hot water showers with loads of pressure.
-The breakfasts were amazing. Picture you're standard Turkish breakfast plus FRESH bread, homemade jams and spreads, pancakes and freshly baked muffins! Amazing.
-The outside terrace. A little cold during our stay, but great views across Goreme. Perfect place for a bottle of wine.
-The service was amazing. The owner (Ange) helped us plan walks throughout all the valleys near bye. The Red and Rose valleys are an absolute must. They also went out of their way to help us anytime we had a query or needed advice. Ange's husband runs Fatboys (a local pub/bar/restaurant). The food here is unassuming yet delicious!

Negatives
-Hard to think of any...... Enjoyed our experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloNZ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    45
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
123
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cockburn Town, San Salvador and Rum Cay, The Bahamas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed here 3 nights. Our first day we arrived early and the owner, Angela, welcomed us and made us feel right at home (even though we were early for check-in!). The entire hotel is exactly as everyone else has said, fairy-tale Flinstones, type deal. Elegantly decorated. The room was a nice, big comfortable size, with a large toilet/shower combination. The bed was very comfortable and very warm for the cold October nights. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic. Including boiled eggs, pancakes, home-baked banana bread, assortment of pastries, yogurt, cereals, and on top of that home-made jams and preserves, along with the typical turkish cheese and veg. Excellent French press coffee in the mornings too!!

The owner Angela is very knowledgeable of the area and is happy to help you with tours or give you ideas on things to do. She also booked us our bus tickets to the next town which was very helpful to us. The young man who works at cleaning and cooking was also very friendly!

A perfect choice for your Goreme holiday.

Room Tip: Room 210 is much bigger than 208, so if you have to choose between the two, pick 210. Also look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherlocktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gebze, Turkey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We usually stay at a hostel when in Goreme, run by a very nice family. When we had guests coming from New Zealand, we wanted them to stay in a cave hotel for their first trip to Cappadocia. We had absolutely no idea any hotel could be this much fun! Winding halls cut though the rock, the rooms on different, asymmetric levels, and secret terraces here and there. The delicious breakfasts on offer are eaten on the bigger, open terrace overlooking the gorgeous valley and the many-colored balloons, while another terrace is perfect for shady book-reading or conversations with strangers. The image of the Evil Queen coming around with her keys to check up on you is very compelling, but the only queen there is the lovely Angela, working her legs off, being everywhere at once and making it look easy and gracious. The rooms are perfectly decorated, the food is good, the beds are cozy, and the price is right. Angela and her husband Yilmaz are really doing it right. Now we have to figure out how we can stay here and somehow not offend our hostel buddies, but we will have to work it out because Taskonak is our new favorite hotel! Unfortunately, though, like all cave hotels we have seen in Goreme, this is not the place for folks with disabilities related to walking and climbing hills and stairs, but if were possible, I am sure that Angela and Yilmaz would make it happen.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elsie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in September and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was lovely, comfortable and spacious, down on the ground floor with a patio outside with seating. And the breakfasts here are incredible; you cannot possibly leave hungry. In addition, Angela is a brilliant hostess and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Rose Valley which is on the ground floor, so no view, but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeliperCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I had a very clean, comfortable room with picturesque views over Goreme. Waking up to the hot air balloons each morning was a beautiful sight. Angela (hostess) was very welcoming and more than happy to assist with any enquiries we had. The staff are friendly and the breakfast was fresh and homemade. I would be very happy to stay at the Taskonak in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janettedaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

this is a lovely cave accommodation although be warned the stairs are steep - probably only for the able bodied.Beautifully decorated room with tea and coffee making facilities - a rarity in my turkey travels. our host angela was so friendly, and we learned a lot about living in turkey from her. Great breakfasts too - i loved the home made jams, yoghurt and cheese. Watching the balloons drifting across this beautiful country, while eating breakfast is a great experience, and angela helped with recommmendations for tour companies and balloon flights. Plus its cheap!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chillichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We booked our stay at Taskonak after Kelebek was not available.. i'm SO extremely happy with the Gem of a hotel we found. As others have said, Angela does have the gift of hospitality! She made us feel comfortable and welcome from the minute we arrived. She helped with advising places to walk to and sights to see, and gave us really good directions how to get back. :) Also, she makes delicious home-made pancakes, muffins, breads every morning, along with a beautiful spread of traditional Turkish breakfast items. The hotel is beautiful and spotless clean and has great outdoor space to lounge around after a hike. If Angela is available to take you on a hike - take advantage of that... she knows some great spots. also... they offer 10% discount at their restaurant Fat Boys down the road.. definitely go there!

Room Tip: we were in Swords Valley.. a very small room under the stairs. Very comfortable and had a window fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathi_lglp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bedrock Cave Hotel
Bedrock Cave Hotel
#7 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taskonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taskonak Hotel

Property: Taskonak Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Gungor Sok. No 23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Taskonak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Taskonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taskonak Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing