We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knew a cave could be so cozy?”
Review of Taskonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taskonak Hotel
Ranked #12 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Who knew a cave could be so cozy?”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I spent a magical four days and three nights in Capadocia, and one of the highlights was definitely staying in a cave suite at the Taskonak Hotel. Room number three is a split level, spacious, comfortable, womb like cave room, with a huge bathroom including a spa tub. The tub was very welcome after my overnight bus ride from Istanbul. I arrived early in the morning, and was lucky enough to be able to check in right away. Also I was graciously offered and very much enjoyed the lovely breakfast upon my arrival. The homemade jams and the view of the fairy chimneys from the terrace set the tone for the next four wonderful days. The owners arranged a balloon ride and two full day tours for me which were fabulous. They also own Fat Boy's restaurant in town and offer a 10% discount for gas, and the food was delicious and the service special. They provided a ride for me to and from the bus station which was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Room number three which was a key room suite was spacious, warm, and welcoming. However, as to be ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi Christine,

Thank you for such a great review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it so relaxing!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and maybe we shall wee you again one day!

thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    47
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
123
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a great stay at Taskonak from the moment we booked our hotel. Angela helped set up our airport transfer, and upon hearing that it was our honeymoon, upgraded us for the last night to a bigger room. The breakfasts were wonderful as was the view from the terrace. Angela went above and beyond to suggest things for us to see and do, even drawing maps for us and arranging to rent a car. We loved our stay here - the rooms are all great, and we were so excited when we got in, even though it was on the late flight at 3am, we could hardly sleep, because we were in a cave, and caves are cool. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi Liz! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we feel honoured that you chose Taskonak to celebrate your honeymoon.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we hope to see you again - maybe for an anniversary trip!
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Taskonak is a great base for exploring Goreme and the surrounding area. The cave rooms are spacious and comfortable. Angela and Louisa had some great tips for walks in the different valleys around Goreme. Breakfast on the terrace was excellent with fantastic views over the town.

Room Tip: The suites are good fro spreading out, but all the rooms were of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pashab05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for writing such a nice review for Taskonak. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in Goreme as a whole. Maybe we shall see you back on your next holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was converted from two traditional family homes so no two rooms are alike. Access is via two entrances on different levels. This is a quaint hotel with little nooks and crannies, made all the more delightful by having comfy sofas and seating everywhere. A casually placed pair of harem slippers by the rock-cut stairs, wooden chests and other touches of traditional homey relics gave it a great casual ambience. Angela, and Louise her assistant, were good hosts and helpful with guests' needs. The staff were friendly and non-intrusive.

Breakfast is a daily highlight as, apart from the typical Turkish standards, it included four varieties of cereal, several bowls of different fruit jams (looked homemade), three choices of bread and four different juice options. To top it off, Angela offered some of her own homebaked cookies to her staff and guests (that morning it was cornflake honey crumble) -- a regular practice I gather. It's a breakfast spread any top tier boutique hotel would be envious of.

Room #8 is on the second floor which overlooks the courtyard and the surrounding hotels and homes in the canyon above the town. There are also two other lounging/breakfast terraces from where the distant and imposing Rose Valley can be seen (amazing sunset transformations!). Our room had a great view especially at night when the lights come on in the canyon. Reminds me a little of Oia village on Santorini where we were the week before. Our room was previously the family kitchen although you wouldn't know it now as it had been remodelled with an ensuite shower and WC which is tiny but quite adequate for us -- two ordinary-sized orientals (?).

Room #8 is small without a clothes cupboard but sufficient space for living out of our bags. It would be nice to have more hooks or shelving as the existing small table for the courtesy daily bottles of water, tea & coffee packets and electric kettle had to jockey for place with a traveller's usual nick-nacks. (Yes – coffee, tea, sugar, bottled water and electric kettle are provided complimentary and restocked every morning!) This is not a room for messy travellers. With a bit of space-saving planning, it's not a big problem.

The hotel's location is up a slope from the main street in Goreme. Far enough away from the noise but close enough to all the conveniences. Of the four hotels we stayed in whilst visiting Santorini, Bodrum, Goreme and Istanbul, Taskonak in Goreme has to be the most memorable due to the combination of great hotel character, service and location.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms (on lowest level) has easy access to pedestrian lane. Second floor rooms above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kl_novitiate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and lovely review for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We do realise our standard rooms are small and we have taken your comments on board in terms of adding shelving etc so guests will have extra space for all those travel bits and pieces!

Thank you and we do hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thanks the lovely host. They helped us to experience the impressive days in Goreme.
They took care of us just like family, recommended us the balloon trip and the restaurant.
If my friends want to spend several days in Goreme, I will recommend them to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZHANG Bingxue 张
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much, you are so sweet to write this lovely review for us. We are very happy that you felt so at home here and we really enjoyed having you stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Turkey.

many thanks
Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked our hotel directly with Angela who also arranged the transport and ballon tour for us. Our room was much better than we expected, tastefully decorated, spacious bathroom, and warm heating. The slight drawback was the very week wifi signal. But then we were not there to surf the internet. To top it off, Angela and her husband were more than just your host; perhaps more like friends. Thoroughly enjoyed our stayed.

Room Tip: The junior suite (room 3) is full of characters. It gives you a taste of the old Turkish living/cook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
thank you so much for writing such a great review for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will definately see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Really nice hotel, beautiful view and delicious breakfast! Angela was so helpful that not only did she give me tips for tours, she also found me walking companions! I felt really welcome during my stay, and highly recommend both Taskonak and Fat Boys.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank azorinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
thank you so much for your lovely review! I ma so glad that you enjoyed your stay an especially enjoyed walking in the beautiful valleys! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 77 in Goreme
1,035 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#7 of 30 in Uchisar
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#8 of 77 in Goreme
568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#15 of 77 in Goreme
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taskonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taskonak Hotel

Property: Taskonak Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Gungor Sok. No 23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Taskonak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Taskonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taskonak Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing