We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel in a beautiful setting...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spelunca Cave Suites
Ranked #45 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This hotel is relatively new. The standard twin room we were assigned to was pretty spacious; with very basic furnishing – bed, a small vanity and TV – would have loved to have some place to hang our clothes other than a few pegs on the wall, but otherwise, no complaints. The bathroom was lovely – modern and again, very spacious. The hotel, surrounded by breathtaking vista can’t help being pretty too. The gardens are well-kept and dotted with beautiful rose bushes here and there.
Although they only serve breakfast at the hotel, it’s not that big a deal as the hotel is very near the town centre (approx 5 mins walk down hill) where there are many restaurants to choose from to suit every budget. On our first night, Adnan even helped to call for delivery to the hotel, which we were grateful for as we had had a long day (arriving very early in the morning after a 12-hr bus ride from Antalya then continued with a full day tour). They had also helped make arrangements for a hot air balloon tour with Urgup Balloons on our last day in Goreme before catching our flight back to Istanbul. That was a blast and shouldn’t be missed by anyone visiting the area! Urgup Balloons offer a 1hr flight.
Overall, a pretty hotel in beautiful settings, smoothly run by a friendly (& funny), helpful team. Kudos to Ramazan, Adnan, Suleyman, et all. Keep up the good work. We would stay here again if we ever return for another visit and will go for the cave room!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzy7544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2010

Spelunca is an extraordinary cave hotel in place that looks like a magic story...
the landscape in Cappadocia is like magical, beautiful, amazing and the cave hotel is part of that. Me and my friends were very happy staying there, and Ramazan the owner iso kind!
very reccomended place to stay in Cappadocia. DOnt miss the baloon tour over Cappadocia! BEATIFULLLLLLLL!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinityBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

My friends and I stayed only one night, but we would have loved to stay more. The recently renovated hotel is lovely. It's in a great spot far enough out of town to be quite and have great views, but close enough that you can be in the center of town in 10 minutes. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are very large and elegant. The staff was very nice to us and let us shower in a another room since we had arrived on the night bus from Istanbul and check-in wasn't until 1 pm. Again, wish we could have stayed longer. The rpices are a bit high, but worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleTourist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

We reached goreme ın the early hours after a overnıght journey from Istanbul wıth two kıds.We were pleasantly surprısed by the warm receptıon we recieved from the hotel staff.The suıte was tastefully decorated wıth some amazıng vıews of the landscape.The bath had a jaccuzı and the room was kept warm for our arrıval.The management Ramadan,Sylvı and Adnan were marvellous.They have arranged the day tours,ballooon trıps and bus travel and hotel bookıngs for our onward travel.If ı ever vısıt the place agaın thıs would be my automatıc choıce.I would strongly recommend thıs for anyone who would lıke to vısıt Cappadocıa.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
Thank praving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Yep, it's really in a cave. Our room was a large cave with a big washroom with a jacuzzi tub. The guy who runs the place is very professional. He has excellent English and is super helpful, even booking tours, driving us to dinner, fixing problems, etc. He has 4 male staff and I think the place could use a woman's touch. The bed was decent, though there was not a bottom fitted sheet and no top sheet, so we felt a little like the bed was sleezy, even though it looked new and clean. The room was dark (it's a cave) and it could have used some extra lights. We spent 4 nights here and one night it was WAY too cold, but the other nights were comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was a weird assortment, including olives, tomatoes, cucumber, yogurt, oranges, and bread sticks. Every morning was slightly different. Again, a woman's touch would probably make it better. There is a common room that has a TV, free Wi-Fi and fireplaces. The hotel's dog is usually asleep on a chair - it's a mellow dog. We checked out a few other hotels and I think this one is good. You walk down the hill to the town center less than 10 minutes. For the price, its well worth it. I'm not sure why this hotel is listed under B&B's on TA...it's just a hotel with cave rooms.

By the way, 4 nights here is way too many. You only need night or two to see this amazing town. We checked out a lot of the restaurants and met a lot of travelers and the opinion (and our personal experience) is that the two best restaurants are the Goreme Restaurant near the tourist offices and the Orient Restaurant. Both have really excellent food. At Goreme, you can get a huge plate of 6 mezzes of your choice and it's wonderful. At the Orient, they have a fixed menu for 25 tl and everyone seems to love the steak (it's on fire), though we didnt try it. We did a two day tour with Adam from Andromeda Tours and it was good.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrazilBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2009

We loved Spelunca Hotel - the room was amazing, large and beautifully presented. We had fresh water and service each day. Because Spelunca hotel is Cave House, it is very quiet and neither too hot nor cold. we slept like logs!

The breakfast each day was delicious - freshly cooked by the in- house cook and all condiments and muesli were home made and very tasty. you coulkdn't help but feel good!
We received very useful information about the places to visit and how best to get there. Relevant bookings were made by Neriman - it was great that she spoke excellent English. All the activites suited us really well and we had a fantastic experience. Neriman also made dinner bookings for us each evening and we were always made to feel very special becuse we were from Spelunca Hotel . We were made to feel very at home and welcome.

I recommend Spelunca Hotel as the best place to stay in Cappadoccia - I loved everything about it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascal3312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

A girlfriend and I decided to travel to Turkey this October. We started in Istanbul, flew to the Aegean, and then bussed it to Cappadocia. Our hotel was overbooked and we were temporarily put up in the American equivalent of a hostel. Great owner but females at the ages of 37 and 40 do not want to redo their hostelling days. The following day we were moved to Spelunca Hotel. The thing to remember about Cappadocia is that the attraction is the cave dwellings and everyone thinks they want to stay in a cave. What you may really want is to stay in a hotel built to look like a cave, with wonderful hardwood floors, a marble turkish bath-like huge bathroom, super-clean facilities, diverse buffet breakfast, and great service. After a day of climbing into and out of above and under ground cave dwellings its nice to come back to affordable luxury. It is also just far enough out of the hustle and bustle of the town to offer quiet roof top nights. I just cannot say enough about this hotel. I want to mention that I think that some of the hotels were actually caves because they lack windows and they have really rough walls- they do have electricity, bathrooms et cetera, but be very careful if you have any breathing problems. We ran into a woman who had an asthma attack in one- so if you don't stay at Spelunca make sure you ask about windows/ventilation. The closest hospital with urgent care is in another town.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1philly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#37 of 78 in Goreme
202 reviews
1.9 mi away
Azure Cave Suites
Azure Cave Suites
#3 of 9 in Cavusin
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 78 in Goreme
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#12 of 78 in Goreme
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spelunca Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spelunca Cave Suites

Address: Aydin Kiragi Mevkii, No 4, Goreme 50180, Turkey (Formerly Spelunca Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: £30 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spelunca Cave Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cave hotel in the heart of Goreme has rooms built into volcanic rocks with vaulted ceilings and traditional Turkish style décor. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and a hot tub. All the rooms at Spelunca Cave Hotel have a private bathroom. Some rooms also offer a flat-screen TV, spa bath or a terrace with views over the fairy chimneys. Spelunca Cave Hotel's restaurant serves traditional Cappadocian meals prepared with organic products. Breakfast is served as an open buffet with homemade jams, local honey, and fresh cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spelunca Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spelunca Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing