We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spelunca Cave Suites
Ranked #47 of 78 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We booked a room at Spelunca on hotels.com and reserved a "cave suite." When we arrived, however, we were given a room that was identified on the hotel's own website as a "Deluxe Cave Room," not a suite. When we pointed this out to the owner, he proceeded to argue with us that the hotel's website was wrong and that we actually were in a suite. He then offered to show us the rooms that the hotel's website identified as suites (the 300 level rooms) and offered to give us the lower rate if we thought the other rooms were nicer. Long story short, the suites were much larger and brighter, plus they had semi-private balconies as opposed to the shared terrace the 200 level rooms have. We were eventually given the lower rate. The room itself was very nice, it was just too bad that the hotel's owner attempted to rip us off. One last point, the other reviewer's point about the morning call to prayer was entirely accurate - the longest and loudest call is at 5:30AM and it is so loud it sounds like the muezzin is in the room with you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deprosecutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

A beautifully equipped cave hotel just 2 mins walk from the centre of Goreme. The rooms are all built into the side of the hill and were beautifully equipped with bathrooms with spa baths. Some rooms are partially brick built but blended in with the surroundings whilst others are proper caves dug into the cliff behind the hotel. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We were set up in this hotel by our tour company, Travel Shop Turkey and could not have been happier. Staff and owner were helpful and accommodating in every way. The view was amazing, the rooms were spacious and first class while being an authentic cave hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrieti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Friendly staff. Good and beautiful situation. I'll recommend it to everyone visitong Capadoccia. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelesgs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This cave hotel was very nice. The only thing that really detracted from an otherwise great place was the early morning call to prayer. No where else during the trip was it as noisy and noticeable as it was in Goreme. Speakers mounted on another cave loudly called all the faithful early every morning. (And other times too, but since those weren't disturbing my sleep, I didn't find them objectionable.)

The breakfast was traditional Turkish - olives, cukes, tomatoes, bread and cheese, along with tea. Maybe not as extensive as some of the other hotels, but acceptable nonetheless.

The bathroom was very nice and very big. The sink was large. As with most places there was only a shower.

There was also no air conditioning. Although most of the rooms are naturally cool from the cave, our room was built out from the original cave, so it lacked some of those cooler temps. The bathroom was definitely cool, but we didn't sleep in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank otsthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We had a double room with a private bathroom. Fabulous hotel, limestone modern room and impressive bathroom, posh feel, impressive looking hotel that backs into a cave. Great location 10min walking distance to centre of town or hilltop viewing platform.

Breakfast better than most in the same price range.

No aircon but we did alright without it and we visited in the height of summer but do keep in mind there are mosquitoes.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We arrived in Goreme wondering what our 'cave' hotel would be like. Upon arrival, we met with Adnan, who manages the hotel. He was very welcoming, speaking fluent English, he instantly put us at ease and helped us carry our luggage to our room.

At first we were slightly disappointed when we realised that we were not living in a 'cave'. We walked into a fairly spacious room, which after coming from Istanbul seemed even larger than it actually was. The bathroom too was large and comfortable. Everything was new and spotlessly clean. We got over our disappointment of not actually being in a cave, when we discovered our own very private balcony, that overlooked the garden. We sat on this balcony every night, we were there for 3 nights, and relaxed after long tiring days of sightseeing. This hotel we learned had just opened a year ago, and was still work in progress.

Breakfast was pretty good and was served at 8am. It always included fresh bread, cheeses, olives, fruit, cereals and yogurt.

The location could not have been better. It was quiet, yet within easy walking distance to all the restaurants and shopping.

The staff here was warm and helpful, even though, except for Adnan and Ramazan, who owned the hotel, no one really spoke English. Adnan, was a fountain of knowledge and I will always remember him as the one who spent an evening with us talking about his family, about Turkey, its culture and its people. That evening will always remain as one of our very favorite memories, of our 20-day sojourn through Turkey. Thank You Adnan!!!

Of course, we will also remember the very sweet loving dog, Fistik, who was the first to greet us every morning and was always there to receive us when we returned with aching feet.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shylafit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 80 in Goreme
1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 80 in Goreme
979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 80 in Goreme
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#13 of 80 in Goreme
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 80 in Goreme
1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme Kaya Hotel
Goreme Kaya Hotel
#19 of 80 in Goreme
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spelunca Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spelunca Cave Suites

Address: Aydin Kiragi Mevkii, No 4, Goreme 50180, Turkey (Formerly Spelunca Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: £36 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spelunca Cave Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cave hotel in the heart of Goreme has rooms built into volcanic rocks with vaulted ceilings and traditional Turkish style décor. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and a hot tub. All the rooms at Spelunca Cave Hotel have a private bathroom. Some rooms also offer a flat-screen TV, spa bath or a terrace with views over the fairy chimneys. Spelunca Cave Hotel's restaurant serves traditional Cappadocian meals prepared with organic products. Breakfast is served as an open buffet with homemade jams, local honey, and fresh cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spelunca Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spelunca Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing