We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hosts in terrific hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone House Cave Hotel
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane, australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“great hosts in terrific hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel, where the hosts made every effort to ensure our comfort, including giving us a pedestal fan - there is no a.c. here, but really on such hot nights as we experienced it would have been appreciated, but the fan was better than nothing. They are doing large extensions and hopefully will put a.c. in those new rooms. Unfortunately, when we went out for the day and left our windows open, the dust from construction all wafted in and coated all our gear, so after Day 1, we wised up and closed the room up. Although we had hoped there might be a computer in the reception that we could access, this was not the case, so we had to go to an internet cafe - we found 2 in Goreme - and the rating would be improved were there a computer we could use at the hotel.Having said that, we did meet a lovely owner of an internet shop, Sayit, who was helpful and loves to talk. Not everyone travels with their laptop, especially backpackers!

Room Tip: Cave rooms sound exotic, but in reality they have a musty smell, so we were really glad not to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jusjuly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    84
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
67
160
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Cappadocia is a must visit in Turkey and staying in a cave hotel like this one was the best experience. This hotel had great sized rooms with comfortable bed. The decor was fitting with the whole cave concept. The tours from here were excellent taking in the amazing sites and experiences such as the early morning balloon ride. The help at the hotel was great. Fabulous breakfast on the roof top was a wonderful way to start the day. Lots of places to eat along the street as this hotel is very centrally located. The most likely noise to disturb sleep if any was the Muslim call to prayer - otherwise very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This whole area of Turkey is like living the childhood fairytale dream, and this hotel just added to it.Our room was stunning and the manager was extremely helpful,totally fluent in English and German as well. He picked up on the fact that my husband and I love wine, so he took us personally to a winery very close by with an amazing view. Breakfast was also good.Would recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: If possible Room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele176210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

My friend and I have been back 2 weeks now so must write a review about the Stone House Cave hotel. It is a delightful family run hotel where nothing is too much trouble. They speak German if that is your language and great English. Breakfast was delicious and our twin bedded room was very comfortable, especially the beds. Bathroom large and clean. Goreme is a great village, lots to see and lots of places to eat. Great for an evenings walk after supper. One of the owners even drove us up to see the marvellous sunset where the landscape turns pink.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank van035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Nice hotel. Good service. Great location in the center of Goreme.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karlu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The hotel is in a great location in town in easy walking distance to everything. The room we stayed in was beautiful with high arched stone ceiling and really spacious. The bed was comfortable and it was nice to go to sleep with such a high ceiling above us. The bathroom was clean and also a really good size.
It was so peaceful to sit on the roof terrace and stare out at the surroundings. Such an amazing area!
Booking in was great and we were able to book a hot air balloon flight for the following day at a good rate. The guy who checked us in (sorry I didn't get his name) was really helpful and we had a wakeup call for the early morning balloon flight.
I would thoroughly recommend staying at the Stone Cave House and Goreme is an amazing town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie_3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The nice and friendly hotel is centrally located in "downtown Göreme", the rooms are very clean, the two brothers both speak fluent german (and english, I suppose) and are very helpful, breakfast is good - but the best is the for turkish hotels quiet big bathroom ! You can move in there ! The room in general was bigger than I expected. If I would mention negative points: 1. there is no "common" area like if you would like to read a book and don't want to stay in your room (even if there is the nice terrasse for breakfast, which seems to be used just for breakfast) and 2. the mosque is just in front of the hotel so be prepared for 5 times (loud) prayer (f.ex. at 4.10 in the morning now by the end of may).
But in all together a highly recommanded hotel !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izmircanadese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 76 in Goreme
1,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 76 in Goreme
1,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 76 in Goreme
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#19 of 76 in Goreme
942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anatolian Houses
Anatolian Houses
#22 of 76 in Goreme
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 76 in Goreme
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Cave Hotel

Property: Stone House Cave Hotel
Address: Isali Mah. Iceridere Cad. No: 22, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone House Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Goreme, this Ottoman building houses just 10 traditional rooms and features free wireless internet access and free private parking. Stone House Cave Hotel is a 300 year old building that has been beautifully restored to offer traditional rooms with modern bathrooms and facilities. From comfortable standard rooms to spacious cave rooms with spacious living rooms, Stone House Cave Hotel has accommodations for every traveler. Dinner is served in Stone House Cave Hotel's restaurant, which has a beautiful wooden ceiling. The lovely courtyard and terrace offers spectacular views of the fairy chimneys. Tours of Cappadocia can be organized by the friendly staff, which is available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stone House Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing