We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stone House Cave Hotel
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This hotel was overpriced and not particularly warm or welcoming. The cave room is a "cool" idea, but sleeping in a space with no windows that is damp and smells musty can be depressing. One night is fine, but three was a bit much - the decoration was a bit old and worn (including a stained pink polyester bed cover...), the bathroom reeked of mould and the "sitting area" had silver and mud coloured velvet flowered sofas and lace doilies. It just wasn't worth the price we paid, compared with some of the other cave hotels which have put more time and thought into making the rooms warm and welcoming. If you do ask for the laundry service, be aware that their service means wash and dry and stuff into a bag - there is no ironing (and the lady at reception seemed genuinely surprised that one might want shirts ironed). Also, the courtyard is very noisy - it only takes one person on the phone to keep everyone awake. We didn't try breakfast upstairs, the food looked so drab and colourless that we opted for a little Turkish cafe down the road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegaTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

Loved staying here, we booked through Mysia tours as part of a package tour of Turkey. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They were able to converse well in English and nothing was too much trouble. They always greeted us in a friendly manner. The room is more than adequate and we even had room for an extra bed for our daughter and it didn't feel squashed. I would highly recommend staying here. Close to the main town area and restaurants and shops. Easy access if you are driving.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Bevie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I'll begin by saying this hotel is family owned and operated...and it shows. The bus brought me into Goreme early, between 8-9am. I figured the earliest I'd have a room would be noon, but the staff got me a room within 90 minutes of arriving. They also suggested I have complimentary breakfast, which included both hot and cold items. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff had several recommendations that they cooked to order. The attention to detail throughout the hotel is second to none. For example, internet is usually a second thought at hotels. I mean, who goes to Goreme to surf the web? Well, at this hotel they put a router in most rooms to ensure connectivity was available since the walls of a cave kill the signal. The staff also built a lovely lounge on the 2nd floor (not reception lobby) for guests to enjoy their time between check out and departure. Nice couches, tv w/cable, WiFi, drinks, all available at no cost AFTER you check out. There is no way I can put in words how hospitable the staff is at this hotel. Also, the tours and pricing the hotel offers are fantastic. Knowing hotels receive commissions from each sale I figured I'd try booking arrangements myself. I checked prices around town and was frustrated to realize the hotel had better prices than I could negotiate. 110 euros for a hot air balloon ride...try to negotiate that anywhere during peak season in Goreme. Plus, the providers they used were truly exceptional. Top marks to the incredible family for creating such a warm and wonderful environment.

Room Tip: Ask if the arch room is available - that room is exceptional. I was in 112 and it was nice, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freekboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We knew we made the right choice with Stone House Cave Hotel before we even go there. Just after we booked, we have received a lovely, welcoming email from the reception. Our room (114) was ready before check-in time, which gave us plenty of time to unpack and explore Goreme; Ilknur was fantastic with her knowledge of available activities and helped us with out tour and balloon bookings. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful! We had a problem with our fridge (it didnt work) it was replaced straight away.
Our room was very spacious, with lovely decor, clean and warm. It was a bit dim, but that it because of the cave style accommodation. Heated floor tiles in the bathroom were just wonderful! The Hotel is very well situated in the centre of all the activities and within walking distance to lovely restaurants - no big hills to climb! with parking options right outside the front door.
Breakfast was also very nice with a selection of cold dishes: cheeses, salami's, eggs, cereals, dry fruit and olives; spreads, tea, coffee, various juices and breads. Overall had a lovely stay and will definitely be back!! Thank You to all staff at the Stone House Cave Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kubus4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed there for three days and wished we could have taken our room with us everywhere we went. Our room was sumptuous, a haven after a days travels. The staff was friendly, helpful and gracious. It was cold when we were there but toasty inside with even a heated towel rack.
Breakfast was over the top with so much food that you could skip lunch and it was served beautifully. Next time it's the only place I want to stay when in the area.

Room Tip: don't ask for a cave room....small and without windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glowpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This family run hotel is centrally located, newly expanded and provides really good value for money. We had a double and a twin room, not cave rooms, and both were huge, well appointed and furnished with nice Turkish touches. The breakfast is served on the wonderful terrace overlooking the town which offers great views, esp at sunset. (A good selection of staples plus some individual gozleme which were soooo tasty.) However, the greatest strength is undoubtedly the staff who were so accommodating and so helpful in every respect. Ilknur, the front of house lady, speaks very good english and is a most knowledgeable guide to all the local attractions. She also sorted out a rogue trader (!) for us. Her brothers Ali and Kemal are equally friendly and equally multilingual, with German as well. Definitely worth looking at and will be our choice for a return visit.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Zektrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

The staff (especially the owner) were so kind and helpful.

The rooms are a surprise initially (I don't know what I was expecting) but are a real pleasure to sleep in. The temperature is pretty constant and the heater was unnecessary for mid April when I was here.

The linen is clean and smells so good. Having English tv channels was a nice touch as well as individual modem for strong wifi in all rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katous123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 78 in Goreme
964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#10 of 78 in Goreme
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone House Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Cave Hotel

Address: Isali Mah. Iceridere Cad. No: 22, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Price Range: £34 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone House Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Goreme, this Ottoman building houses just 10 traditional rooms and features free wireless internet access and free private parking. Stone House Cave Hotel is a 300 year old building that has been beautifully restored to offer traditional rooms with modern bathrooms and facilities. From comfortable standard rooms to spacious cave rooms with spacious living rooms, Stone House Cave Hotel has accommodations for every traveler. Dinner is served in Stone House Cave Hotel's restaurant, which has a beautiful wooden ceiling. The lovely courtyard and terrace offers spectacular views of the fairy chimneys. Tours of Cappadocia can be organized by the friendly staff, which is available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Stone House Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone House Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing