We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and hospitality”
Review of Kookaburra Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kookaburra Pension
Ranked #37 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Cairo, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great atmosphere and hospitality”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great atmosphere, like a hostel with the common lounge/breakfast/rooftop area to hang out and enjoy the company of other travellers, and Isnan the owner with all his stories and local knowledge, so friendly and helpful. Stunning panoramic views of surrounding area, early-morning hot-air balloons and sunsets. We had 4 days here - and loved it, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaying182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    29
    6
    5
    11
See reviews for
4
47
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

it's a simple hotel, but good value for the money. A more intimate experience than a regular hotel.The owner was very helpfull. Bathroom could be better, and wifi in common area, but overall it was a good stay.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nowasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Kookabura Pension. We chose the pension just by passing by. The panorama view from the terrace was stunning, the breakfast tasty and the atmosphere cosy. The owner of this place made our stay perfect and unfortgetable. With his friendly and funny attitude he made our days. Thank you very much fo having such a great time at your place, which was definitively one of our best experiences in Göreme. When coming back to Cappadocia than just to Kookabura Pension!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at Kookaburra for three nights at the end of September. On our arrival, the owner Ihsan was very happy to help us out with information about Goreme and plan our days here. He is one of the most helpful and kind owners we have met on our trip. The place and rooms were very clean. Breakfast included was good. Location in town was perfect. We highly recommend to stay here when you visit Goreme.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Ihsan is very good host. Good value for money. perfect location. personal touch is given to every corner of hotel. Good view of rose valley and sunset point. walkable distance from otogar. feels being inside of Goreme national park.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpagandhindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I loved staying here for three nights - great owner, beautiful decor, convenient location and superb view of Cappadocia from the terrace.

The owner, Ihsan, is genuinely friendly and so helpful. Being a lone female traveller, I got a lot of hustle from Turkish men, but I could feel his real warm hospitality, which made me feel at home.

On top of his character, the hotel's atmosphere is enhanced by beautiful farmers' and normads' antiques and plants in Avanos pots all over communal areas. My room had a few vintage carpets and kilims and I felt like I was staying in a boutique hotel.

A bonus is a view from two terraces. I watched balloons going up at dawn.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The place is reasonable for budget stays but the owner spoils the mood.
I was traveling with a laptop and camera equipment and naturally asked the owner about how safe it is to keep things in the dorm. Every place is different and on one occasion I was already robbed of over $1000 worth of electronics, so it was natural that I ask this question, since there are no locks in the room.
If he was a reasonable person, he would answer with either one of:
1. Keep things at your own risk, things can disappear
2. No guarantees, but nothing has disappeared in a long time or ever
3. Give me your things for safekeeping

Instead he launched a long tirade about how in his 30-year career nobody has ever asked him that question and went on with a speach implying how insulted he is with the question. I didn't know what to say, so I just kept quiet. But it was strange to hear that, he has no sensitivity or understanding of what's going on in the world around.

Another day I couldn't get bus tickets to leave Goreme, all buses were full. His reply was that he's also full, even though the place was practically empty.

When I asked for advice on hitchhiking in Turkey, since I was out of options at that point, I wanted to know the gestures used in Turkey. Instead he started explaining which gestures not to show, and the consequences of that, including details of what kind of violence I will experience from the Turks when I show those wrong gestures.
I also asked how to get to certain place (a wedding) and got another offended reply in response.

I don't know what issues Ihsan has but not everything is right with him and in Turkey I've never experienced such inhospitable treatment as in Kookaburra.

The breakfast is tiny - whatever you get for breakfast fits on one quarter of the plate if he didn't spread it around.

In general the place looks OK but the experience of staying there is totally spoiled by the owner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tuborgGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
6.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 77 in Goreme
1,034 reviews
6.3 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#10 of 77 in Goreme
373 reviews
6.3 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#8 of 77 in Goreme
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#35 of 77 in Goreme
397 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.4 mi away
Family Cave Suite Hotel
Family Cave Suite Hotel
#64 of 74 in Goreme
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Pension

Property: Kookaburra Pension
Address: Orta mah. Konak Sok. No:10, Goreme, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kookaburra Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Pension Hotel Goreme
Kookaburra Pension Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing