We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, solide location, good deal”
Review of Kookaburra Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kookaburra Pension
Ranked #41 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, solide location, good deal”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We dropped into Cappadocia in the middle of the night and were welcomed with a warm no-stress, comforting smile that characterizes this unique hotel. The rooms are the colonial stone type (not a cave hotel as is often the case) and all open onto a little private courtyard. On the roof you'll find a cozy terrace where breakfast (included and tasty) is served while overlooking the village. Beautiful spot. Totally recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We had room 8 for 40TL per night per person and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy boo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    29
    6
    5
    11
See reviews for
4
47
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My first night in Turkey was spent at the wonderful Kookaburra Pension. I arrived jet lagged and late at night. I was greeted with a pre warmed, clean and comfortable room. Ihsan was extremely helpful with information and planning my days. He also makes a delicious breakfast and chickpea curry for dinner. The location is great and you definitely get more than you pay for. The upstairs terrace has great views both day and night. I will be coming back to cappadocia and definitely staying at kookaburra pension.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I like a low budget hotel/hostel/pension for the type of traveling I enjoy. This place was very clean. The beds were super comfortable. Considering it gets quite cold at night in the autumn, the rooms were reasonably warm. The breakfast was great and the view of Goreme from the rooftop terrace was amazing. The pension is right in the town. It isn't hard to get anywhere. The owner, Ihsam, is a very helpful gentleman. He is friendly and welcoming you into is home. The only thing I didn't like, is that the dorm room didn't have one single power outlet. So you have to charge your phone/Ipod/camera in the common area or shower room. Not the end of the world though. I never saw the private rooms, but I would imagine they are great too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingwilbury1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Great atmosphere, like a hostel with the common lounge/breakfast/rooftop area to hang out and enjoy the company of other travellers, and Isnan the owner with all his stories and local knowledge, so friendly and helpful. Stunning panoramic views of surrounding area, early-morning hot-air balloons and sunsets. We had 4 days here - and loved it, thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaying182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

it's a simple hotel, but good value for the money. A more intimate experience than a regular hotel.The owner was very helpfull. Bathroom could be better, and wifi in common area, but overall it was a good stay.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nowasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Kookabura Pension. We chose the pension just by passing by. The panorama view from the terrace was stunning, the breakfast tasty and the atmosphere cosy. The owner of this place made our stay perfect and unfortgetable. With his friendly and funny attitude he made our days. Thank you very much fo having such a great time at your place, which was definitively one of our best experiences in Göreme. When coming back to Cappadocia than just to Kookabura Pension!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at Kookaburra for three nights at the end of September. On our arrival, the owner Ihsan was very happy to help us out with information about Goreme and plan our days here. He is one of the most helpful and kind owners we have met on our trip. The place and rooms were very clean. Breakfast included was good. Location in town was perfect. We highly recommend to stay here when you visit Goreme.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
6.3 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 76 in Goreme
1,187 reviews
6.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 76 in Goreme
1,028 reviews
6.3 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#9 of 76 in Goreme
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Emre's Stone House
Emre's Stone House
#44 of 74 in Goreme
64 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sun Rise View Hotel
Sun Rise View Hotel
#1 of 8 in Nevsehir
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Family Cave Suite Hotel
Family Cave Suite Hotel
#62 of 74 in Goreme
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Pension

Property: Kookaburra Pension
Address: Orta mah. Konak Sok. No:10, Goreme, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kookaburra Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Pension Hotel Goreme
Kookaburra Pension Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing