We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place.. Turkish hospitality”
Review of Kookaburra Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kookaburra Pension
Ranked #47 of 75 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely place.. Turkish hospitality”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights at kookaburra pension in June.. What a lovely place !! Only a minute away from the center up the hill with amazing terrace and views of goreme. Cozy and comfortable, with great turkish hospitality! Ihsan is friendly, helpful and can answer all questions regarding tours or things to do around the area.. He is very good at recommending places and giving options on cheaper alternatives to tours! He can arrange everything for you !! You will feel right at home at his place, perfect place to relax and chill after a day of hiking, or ballooning .. It's great for couples , families , solo travelers, anybody who wants to experience the turkish hospitality, beautiful views and a comfortable clean place . Thank you Ihsan for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    29
    6
    5
    11
See reviews for
4
47
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We found the Kookaburra Pensıon to be one of the cheaper optıons ın Cappadocıa and we were welcomed by the owner, Ihsan, wıth a coffee (though ıt was only 7am when we arrıved). We enjoyed the tranquılıty and the vıews from the roof terrace. Our room looked tradıtıonal, wıth carpets hangıng fromt the old stone walls and the hot shower was great on the cloudy days!! Ihsan ıs a real local and has lots of good tıps of thıngs to do for the ındependent traveller and can also arrange tours of the area wıth other operators. The breakfast was fresh every mornıng and you get value for money. We had fun and ended up stayıng longer!

Room Tip: There ıs a dorm and there are nıce double rooms wıth bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Kookaburra Pansion for three nights over May. The host Isahn was very helpful- he's happy to recommend activities, places to eat or just challenge you to backgammon! Rooftop has a great view over Goreme. Rooms clean. Easy walk from town centre.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a lovley stay at kookaburra pension! The terrasse is great, the rooms are clean and ishan, the owner is friendly and helpful. You can ask him for recomendation about where to go... he even made a cuple of phonecalls for us to organise transportation and accomendation for further travelling.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevsehir, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were so lucky we decided to stay in kookaburra! Ihsan is such a funny host and adding to that, he makes great breakfast. Only regret: not being able to stay longer! And the view from the terrace is spectacular. You will have a great stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Salih G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This pension is very clean and well-located in the city. The owner is incredibly friendly and accommodating and will arrange any tours, balloon rides, etc. you like. It is a great feeling, much like the homey Riads of Morocco. While here you will feel welcome to his home. Highly recommend a stay at this pension.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Had a gteat stay at the kookaburra. Great location and view over town.It is well decorated and the owner Ihsan very friendly.Also a very good breakfast and the owner is very knowledgeable about the area.Highly recomend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank gurugeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
6.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
6.2 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
6.3 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#9 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
7.1 mi away
Ufuk Pension
Ufuk Pension
#9 of 33 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
6.6 mi away
Nirvana Cave
Nirvana Cave
#20 of 33 in Goreme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookaburra Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookaburra Pension

Property: Kookaburra Pension
Address: Orta mah. Konak Sok. No:10, Goreme, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kookaburra Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookaburra Pension Hotel Goreme
Kookaburra Pension Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing