We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Trip to Turkey”
Review of Divan Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Divan Cave House
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have been travelling to Turkey for 30 years and have to say that this was the best trip ever. The hotel staff are very knowledgeable and friendly and the service was second to non. We particularly appreciated the recommendation to a local restaurant which proved reasonable in cost and extremely high in quality. We will be returning in the not too distant future and will recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: The family room is wonderful. Costs a bit more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

386 - 392 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Enjoyed a very pleasant 2 night stay in Oct 2013 in one of the Cave rooms at Divan. The hotel is centrally located in Goreme and offers many amenities including free Internet and hot breakfast with both local and western options. The room was clean, comfortable and truly a unique experience. The staff was helpful and friendly, especially Hanife, who made sure that we were well taken care of by helping arrange our airport transfers, booking our tour, Hot Air Balloon ride (which is highly recommended) and even recommended local dining options. Would definitely recommend staying with Divan and won’t hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJSukebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My first sight of Goreme took my breath away with its unique geological location and hot air balloon companies are aplenty here. We wanted a location that was convenient for us walk out in the morning to view the hot air balloon. Kelebek Cave, was naturally, our first choice. But the hotel was fully booked, so we opted for Divan Cave Hotel, which was just around the corner from Kelebek Hotel, though it was a bit of a walk from the town center --a small price to pay to see the hot air balloons in the wee hours of morning--. Lovely Hanife greated us at reception with cups of cay, and as we sipped tea, she did a quick orientation briefing to help get us familiarized with the environment. In the mean time, our luggages were deftly brought to our room (343) by the reception staff.
The hotel room area had a swing and sitting area, which was good for hanging out after checking out the fairy chimneys and underground cities during the day. The room itself was heated, and cozy, although you have to be mindful that you don't sleep with your mouth opened (!) as miniscule bits of the rock ceiling do fall off and you'd find your bed or comforter with some debris. A small price to pay for the lovely view. Guests at Divan also get 10% discount off two delightful restaurants that are but 4-6 minutes walk from the hotel. We made good use of the discount, that's for sure!
I have read reviews commenting about the hotel's breakfast, but honestly what was served was good enough. We signed up for a Green tour through the hotel--to get to Ihara, Deringkuyu, Uchisar-- which was thankfully done in a small group. We've had nothing but good experiences at Divan and would recommend to friends and acquiantances planning to travel to Goreme.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delphinus2330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights. As far as cost, we live in Istanbul and paid 50 euros per night, so we felt as if the cost was high in Turkish lira. I think 50 euros is a bit much considering the number of cave hotels offering cheaper accommodation. Regardless, we would stay there again and recommend it to everyone. Hanife is fantasic. She is helpful and nice and knowledgeable. Never once did Hanife or Ali push us to spend money on tours. They helped us when we asked. With that said, they have a partnership with Hitchhiker Tours. These people picked ups up and drove us to the Open Air Museum for no cost. They also drove us home from town. Also, they gave us a significant discount on an ATV rental. Breakfast is good, and definitely filling. It's a typical Turkish breakfest spread, but they also make eggs to order. The room was one of the fairy chimneys. Hanife said we could change to a larger suite if we prefered, but we quite liked being in the small room. The bed was ridiculously comfortable. It was very clean and had a TV, tea and coffee. We were very comfortable in there..and there was also a safe. By the way, this was a very trustworthy place. The staff was willing to do whatever it took to make your stay great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarjourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed 2 nights in Divan. The manager was very kind and helped a lot to arrange my flight and tour
The room was very clean and neat I stayed in fairy chimney room which is very antique and made me feel in vizantyne ages!! Strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dannynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Goreme. Staff, room decor and room cleanliness were very good. We really enjoyed our hotel.The only thing which was average, was breakfast but the rest was perfect. Especially location of this hotel is wonderfull. It has very good view and very near to center.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank tolgademirbilek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We had a superb time in divan, everything was perfect and well organized, hanife and Ali took great care of us, the rooms are clean and pretty, the hotel location is great. The hotel organized everything for us, and were in constant touch with us throughout, our entire trip in goreme, was charted out by them, they also provided us with a free tour of rose valley, which the charming ali took us, and we had a great time. Overall the greatest positive of the hotel are the people that serve you, we were very well taken care of. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saahilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 78 in Goreme
963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#3 of 78 in Goreme
1,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#17 of 78 in Goreme
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 78 in Goreme
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#11 of 78 in Goreme
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Cave House

Address: Aydinli Mah. Gorceli Sok. No:5, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Goreme
#5 Family Hotel in Goreme
#6 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £25 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Divan Cave House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Cave House is located in the old, upper part of Goreme, less than five minutes' walk from the town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Divan Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divan Cave House Hotel Goreme
Divan Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing