We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cave Dweller, I'm not - but this is a charming little place”
Review of Cave Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cave Life Hotel
Ranked #36 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

First, let me say that the owners and staff are so friendly and helpful. They truly made our stay at Cave Life very comfortable. The breakfast was the typical fare that we had come to expect - cheeses, cucumber, tomatoes, bread, yogurt, olives, cakes, tea, Nescafe, etc. It was nice that it was available from 8 am - 10:30 am. Ibo and Mustafa (I hope I have the spelling right) - Thank you!

Three of us stayed in Room 10 - the bottom floor in the back. Unless you are only going to sleep in your room, I would request another room if one is available. While I am not claustrophobic, I found myself feeling like I really needed to have some opening to the outside. Remember, you will be staying in a true cave. While it has been improved and does not have the dirt floors, etc., this room will definitely give you an idea of what staying in a cave might be like (except for the bathroom, of course, which has been fixed up nicely).

You do have a good view of the fairy chimneys as well as the hot air balloons that lift off every morning. If you have any question about what to do, ask Ibo or Mustafa - they will be glad to assist.

Personally, if you are a hiker, I would definitely recommend hiking in the Ilhara Gorge, wandering around the whole Goreme area, and, in general exploring all that Goreme and the surrounding areas have to offer.

If you have never been in a hot air balloon - now is definitely the time! It's fantastic! Ask Ibo or Mustafa, Turkiye Balloons, a new company, worked very well for us :)

Overall, even though I gave this an average rating; mostly because of the "caviness" of the room, I would not hesitate to stay here again :)

Room Tip: I would not choose a room on the bottom floor; not sure about the upper floor rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAMerrill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Cave Life Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Cave Life Pension. We stayed in a cave room which was basic but clean. Excellent value for money and great views of Goreme and close to everything. Breakfast was good and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouzylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The room was basic. Hot water was not steamy hot, but warm enough to get clean. i didn't like the shower curtain rail that came loose when hanging a towel over it. The owner was very friendly; he helped us organise sightseeing tours and a balloon tour and suggested walkabouts in town, where to go for nice sunset views etc.

Breakfast was the usual Turkish spread: fresh cucumber and tomato, bread, olives, cheeses, jams, tea and coffee, very good, and with excellent views over the town.

Excellent views over Goreme from the breakfast venue, excellent location very close to town, and very good value for money. Will definitely use them again if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a true cave room hotel. We stayed in a room in a cave. The room is little old but enough for sleeping. The staff is very friendly and usefull and can arrange almost everything we need around capadoccia, for a very good price. This is not an hotel for everyone nevertheless, because of the room and even our bed was on the floor level.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maor_Miguel_Ribeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We had a perfect stay at the Cave Life Pension. Friendly, welcoming, helpful staff where money is secondary and service is no.1. Excellent value for money to stay in a real cave, great views of the city and very near to everything. Although basic, the rooms are warm, quiet, clean and have wifi, if you want anything extra, they can get it for you. We want to return and will definately stay at the Cave Life Pension to see Mustafa.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 867michellep867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

After arriving in Turkey, we had some trouble with our card, but the owner of the pension helped us out. I will not go into details, because I don't want anyone taking advantage of this very generous man. He is very knowledgeable about the area and can suggest and arrange for many activities to do around the area. He saved our vacation and we had a wonderful time! Thank you!

As for the place, it is located up on a hill overlooking the town. Breakfast is served on the terrace and the view is breathtaking!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank E.j. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Cave life is exactly that.. a room in a cave! Plumbing and water pressure are very old and there wasn't really any hot water (but this wasn't so bad as I was there in high season when it was hot out!) Down town Goreme is a short 10 minute walk away. The staff are friendly and helpful picked us up at the bus station and set up tours. The beds are comfortable although not the cleanest room, but breakfast was decent and I'd have to say that the views from this place really take the cake and no other hotel in Goreme has this view! A really good restaurant is located right next door, highly recommend!! Over all we were barely in our room and it was just perfect for what our 2 night stay .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoshked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Artemis Cave Suites
Artemis Cave Suites
#15 of 78 in Goreme
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Cave Hotel
Hidden Cave Hotel
#5 of 76 in Goreme
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden Cave Hotel
Garden Cave Hotel
#38 of 76 in Goreme
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elysee Cave House
Elysee Cave House
#2 of 76 in Goreme
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Koza Cave Hotel
Koza Cave Hotel
#9 of 76 in Goreme
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Falcon Cave Suites
Falcon Cave Suites
#52 of 76 in Goreme
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cave Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cave Life Hotel

Address: Gaferli Mah. Aydin Kiragi Sokak No: 4/1, Goreme 50180, Turkey (Formerly Cave Life Pension)
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: £27 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cave Life Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each and Every person has their own world.Service starts with respect to that world.We serve with this understanding. Located in the heart of Cappadocia in the beautiful village of Goreme, Cave Pansion Life offers its guests a panoramic view of the city and the stunning sunset views. Enjoy your breakfast on the terrace spectular and bonfires on the terrace at night. Our friendly staff speaks English. We can arrange tours, transfers, hot air balloons and everything you need in the region.Please not hesitate to ask reception for more information about the activities. Get ready to live like a caveman with all modern amenities Cavelife pension. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cave Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cave Life Pension Hotel Goreme
Cave Life Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing