We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendly and botique Hotel”
Review of Sunset Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Cave Hotel
Ranked #70 of 75 Goreme B&B and Inns
Mashhad, Iran
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The friendly and botique Hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel has run by 2 old friend named: Hasan & Cheeko that make you everything friendly.But other personnel could not speak english.we was there in september 2013 for 3 night and we were very comfort. They were so friendly and help us in any case.
our room was so clean and the bath had Jacuzzy.
The breakfast also good.The price was good .Best value for money.
The hotels had these extra services also:
1- Free Landry
2- Free transport to bus station.
3- Free transport to Open Air musium.
4- Free use for shower and terrace after check-out
the room No 4-5-6-7- 8 has beautiful terrace and view to sunset and Uchisar castle.

Room Tip: room no 7 & 8 has a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank human2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    29
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
22
52
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chonqging China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I had a tour comany from Selchuk Turkey make me reservations for 4 days in Cappadoccia with tours. The hotel they made the reservations for me was at the Sunset Cave Hotel in Goreme. When I went to reception in the afternoon after a day's tour, a woman at the desk (who did not speak any English) and a young teen was in the office. I pulled out my passport and gave them my name. The woman started talking with the teen and then she said "Go to X Hotel". I said, what? I have reservations for 3 nights here at this hotel and showed them my reservation itinerary. They looked at it and talked and both left. I waited in the reception area for about 15 minutes, and then a man from the Spelunker Hotel down the street came and said that I was to move to that hotel. I told him, I have a reservation at the Sunset Cave Hotel for 3 nights and he said, "they said they are full". Yet NO ONE from the hotel came out to talk to me as the woman was not the manager (I learned) or owner. So after checking into the Spelunker, I went online to booking.com and checked room availability at the Sunset and they definitely had rooms available. I wouldn't stay or recommend the Sunset if this is how they honor reservations or treat customers. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultrarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

The attention was great!!! Best value for money hotel in Turkey. My advice is that you book all your activities from the hotel (ballon trip, turkish bath, etc.), given that they have some discounts.
Good locations, good breakfast, excelent overall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazywagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This original cave hotel is just fantastic. The rooms are large and have lovely traditional turkish decorations. It is close to the town but also far enough away that is is so quiet and peaceful. The breakfast is traditional turkish style and very delicious. The owners Çetin and Hasan are so friendly and helpful. They booked all of our tours which were amazing and the balloon ride was unforgettable! I highly recommend you stay here. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Beautiful views from the terrace...a once in a lifetime experience of staying in a cave hotel.
The hotel itself was very basic, it was more so the novelty of staying in a cave. The owner Mr. Hassan was very kind and considerate and even gave our children a room of their own as the family room was too cramped.
Hotel is walking distance to the sunset view point and 2 blocks away from the ONLY restaurant in that served us hot hot bread.
We had a great time.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aamena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The hotel is not far from the bustle of cenral Goreme but far enough out to be quiet at night and to have stunning views over the town. There were a couple of minor problems with our room on arrival, a light bulb blown and no provision for making hot drinks which I was really keen on but these were resolved as soon as they were mentioned and staff were generally helpful and pleasant. Our room was large enough for a couple of chairs and a small fridge and table and was tastefrully decorated with tradional craft work and funrniture and the bathroom was large and modern. The weather was variable during our stay but the water was pipinghot and the rooms centrally heated.
Breakfast was a help yourself buffet and the kitchen facilites were available thereafter to fix yourself a snack. We had a deluxe cave room with an extensive terrace shared with the room next to us with fantastic views out over the town and the stunning surrounding countryside. On our last morning we were lucky to have great views of ballooning as bad weather had precluded them going up for a couple of days so when they did there were hundreds of them and the conditions were right for them to come over our terrace that day. We also stayed in another cave hotel in Goreme moving there for 2 nights for our anniversay but wished we had stayed the full 5 days at Sunset. It was quieter, the breakfast was more relaxed and the room was nicer and more sympathetically decorated, staff were more helpful and less puxhy. And it cost less! We had a room in a fiary chimney room in the second place but it was on a main road and vvery noisy which really spoilt the atmosphere and the decor wasn't a patch on the sunset and the bathroom pokey in comparison. so don;t assume paying more will necessarily get you a better place.
Lots of people have writen about being made welcome and being given help to plan trips etc have bookings made for them but we actually appreciated not being constantly pressurised to have a balloon trip and being advised what kind of price to hold out for when we decided to hire a car. We enjoyed the freedom that gave us to explore at our own pace and to visit places at quieter times and more off the beaten track. We hope to return to Goreme and would definitely stay at the Sunset again.

Room Tip: lots of steps, some narrow, to the deluxe room we had but if mobility is not an issue it is dfinitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

A beautiful view and convenient location ( close to the town centre) make this budget friendly hotel a good choice. The extra star is for the helpful staff, and the owner- manager Chetin, who chalked out the program for us and made the arrangements, all at very reasonable rates.
The terrace on the 3rd floor has a beautiful view, especially of the balloons desending down the hill early in the morning!
The rooms at the top are the best, though you have to be prepared to climb a flight of steep stairs to have that pleasure!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are good, but one has to climb 3 flights of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshHyderabad_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#15 of 72 in Goreme
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Traveller's Cave Hotel
Traveller's Cave Hotel
#28 of 72 in Goreme
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#36 of 72 in Goreme
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#49 of 72 in Goreme
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cave Hotel

Property: Sunset Cave Hotel
Address: Gaferli Mahallesi Aydin Kiragi Sokak No: 5, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Cave Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing