We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Goreme”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Ranked #35 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in Goreme”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

All staffs are friendly and helpful, especially the hotel manager, Serdra provides many useful information about Turkey.

The cave room is a very new experience, you cannot image how wonderful of nature air conditioner.

The hotel locates at the center of downtown, not matter sunset, sunrise or shopping, you can make it in minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wing0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    101
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
95
175
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel in June for my mother's birthday and, as other people have reported, the owner was very friendly and helpful. I had picked this hotel primarily because it seemed near to thecentre of Goreme and my mother, who is in her 80s would not have far to walk to the centre of town. That proved to be the case and I can recommend it as a place which has easy access. Breakfast was up several flights of stairs (although they said they could serve it to us in the garden) but we made the effort as she wanted to enjoy the lovely views.I was quite disappointed by our room which was really basic. The website says there is TV and tea/coffee facilities but there were neither (not that I wanted a TV, but that is not the point). The shower looked amazing but didn't work properly, the door to the bathroom fell off! There was no bedside table so my mother had to put her reading glasses etc on the bare floor. There was nowhere to put stuff in the bathroom, apart from toothbrush and soap. Our room was not a cave room so was pretty light. I found Serdar's father a bit pushy and when we first arrived he kept saying, I will drive you round - no charge, yet when we let him do that, it was clear he wanted paying. It made us feel very uncomfortable indeed. I would much have preferred him to say 'I will take you to such and such for this price or that price'. So I would recommend the hotel from the accessible point but there was no 'wow' factor. I think perhaps we were unlucky as Serdar was pretty bound up in the imminent arrival of his second child but we did really leave with a bit of a sour taste because of the interaction with his father.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyanna1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kervans, Owner at Caravanserai Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay as much we would hope. But I must point out that we are always happy to drop customers off to sites close by, such as the Open Air Museum, Love Valley and Pigeon Valley free of charge, and we did not seek any cost from for you this. However, one day I spent nearly 2 hours taking you and your mother to a number of places. You offered to give some money and my reply was that 50 TL was enough. As I am sure you probably know petrol is very expensive is Turkey and really that was all I was asking you to contribute to, as well as a little of my driving time. I am sorry that you were not happy with the room however, I do recall that we offered to change your room a number of times and you told us you were OK and did not want to change.We know you are living Turkey I hope next time you will come to our hotel and I am sure we will look after theyou and good time in here.
Regards,
Oruc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Cave rooms were great. Very cool in summer. Breakfast was excellent . Serdar and Orac were great hosts with good advice on what was best to see and the best way to see it. Amazing walk guided by Muja through rosé valley with the best apricots I have ever tasted and they were straight from the tree. In fact the walk through the rock formations turned into a fresh fruit safari straight from the trees. White mulberries , apricots, green plums, red plums all added to the experience of walking through incredible rock formations and cave churches .All in all a great 4 days.

Room Tip: Ask for a cave room in summer. They stay cool all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wet-paddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

This is paradise on earth: perfect breakfast, wonderful people that give you advise on goreme and all turkey... Charming rooms in a spotless cave! Beautiful luxury showers... All this in a total caravanserail atmosphere! Loved it, loved it, loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenceja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent three beautiful nights in this wonderful hotel in centrally located Goreme. Serdar and his father were wonderful hosts who made sure we had a wonderful time and organized tours for us, as well as gave us a lift to nearby sights when we wanted to wander. On Saturday morning early (like 5:30am) make sure to go out to the balcony area and watch the balloons go right over head!

Room Tip: Room 106 was great for a couple - big bed and room to move.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We spent 3 nights here in early June and had a great stay. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was quite nice. Serdar helped us with a bunch of things in town, including booking the airport transfer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifofifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incheon
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I have traveled over 15 counries, so I have stayed in many hotels. Even though this hotel is not luxurious, I think it is the best hotel where I have stayed. That is why there is a special and kind hospitality. The owner of this hotel, "Oruc" and his son treated my mother and me like their close friends and they always tried to slove my problem and fulfill our needs. It made my mother so happy and relieved our of country. They are so humorous and kind. It made me forget a little dissatisfaction about accommodation, and they also changed my room to another that my mother wanted to stay in. I really recommend this hotel to travellers who want to feel like home after a long journey...*^^*

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 77 in Goreme
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#33 of 77 in Goreme
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#19 of 77 in Goreme
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#39 of 77 in Goreme
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#23 of 77 in Goreme
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anatolian Houses
Anatolian Houses
#21 of 77 in Goreme
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravanserai Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravanserai Cave Hotel

Property: Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Address: Haci Ismail Efendi street no.13 | Gaferli Mah., Goreme, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#11 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravanserai Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Caravanserai Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravanserai Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing