We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like home (in a good way)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caravanserai Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Felt like home (in a good way)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Besides the great location, beautiful hotel, and the wonderful breakfast that Caravanserai offers, their owners Oruc and his family go way above and beyond to take care of their guests.

Oruc and Serdar helped us tremendously in planning our trip by responding to our emails before our extended family from two different countries arrived at Goreme. Once we were there, Oruc helped organize activities for us that made everybody engaged and excited throughout the time (our group had people ranging in ages 4 through 65).

We had some scheduling issues towards the end of our trip after visiting Goreme and Oruc continued helping us by calling the other hotels and making sure that we were taken care of even if it meant convincing the other hotels to let us check in at our next hotel 700 Kilometers away at 3:30 in the morning.

Oruc treated us like he was our older brother or uncle and prevented us from doing activities that were not suitable for our group even if it meant less opportunities for them to upsell services.

We can't wait to visit Goreme again and staying at Caravanserai once our kids are old enough to hike some of the trails we could not do during this trip.

Room Tip: Cave rooms have less light but they are absolutely goergous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamalHashim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    100
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
90
173
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

A nice hotel with the nice tailor- made adventure tour which including many deep exploring of some attritions around Goreme, even futher to Lhlara or eastern to Soganli, which not be leaded by general tourism company. Such as the deep trip to Ihlara Valley, some nice campaign places which may not be known by general tour in low season. But finally we have experienced that place that day. It was wonderful!

The boss of the hotel is a very nice and experienced manager, who I received many suggestions of information about the places to visited in my 4 full days holiday in Cappadocia. if you would like to discover yourself with nature beauty, their hotel could be your choice especially on the plan of your short trip. Reasonability, the tour service in their hotel is excellent and the price of the tour was relatively a little bit high. Besides, I have enjoyed the breakfast in the hotel as well, and all the facilities in my room keeping clean during my four days. Besides, I got some local price information such as Hammar, bike renting, restaurant... it did really helpful somehow.

But the transferring service from my bus station is not good. I have called the reception to ask for picking up service when I arrive Goreme but no one answered me. Also, it seems no one knows me as a guest when I arrived the office in the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alysia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Perfect example of the mindset that the hotel is always right not the customer. Booked on expedia which clearly stated that the airport transport was 9 turkish lira round trip per person but upon departing he stated it was $40 lira per person despite showing documentation stating otherwise.' He stated that price error was expedia's issue. On top of that we had decided to leave a day earlier than originally booked - and had spoken with a staff member who had stated we would not be charged for the third night. When checking out however the owner refused to honor this agreement stating that his staff did not have the power to make these decisions. Not impressed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fareen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

A wonderful location to start exploring the beautiful landscape on foot. At the same time very centrally located to shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the warm welcome, the good hospitality and felt very much at home. The Owner Mister Celik was very helpful, with good advice, dropping us of at starting points for hikes. We also enjoyed a good tour we booked with him.
The rooms 105 and 106 were very nice, with a little living room section. The breakfast was very good with a stunning view over the city. We enjoyed the perfect silence at this hotel at night (off season). Since we are from a big city, it was very impressive to lie in bed and to hear nothing. Yes there is a mosque very close to the hotel and the muezzin sings at 5.30 in the morning for 5 minutes. We were able to consider this as romantic and after three days, we actually slept through it.
The heating worked very well and it was a pleasure to come back to these warm cozy rooms.
We stayed for 9 nights at this little treasure and can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inken b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a very nice time at the Caravanserai Cave Hotel! A very nice and warm welcome from the manager and the staff! The service was great, the manager explained a lot about the valleys around Göreme and possibilities to go hiking on our own and helped us get around there! The room was nice and clean and quiet. The breakfast was really nice with lots of variety and a nice view! If we visit Göreme again, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had a good stay at Caravanserai. The rooms are well furnished and clean. The breakfast is top class and the staff at the hotel do everything they can to make your stay pleasant and comfortable.

The tours they arrange are also very good. We had a great time!

Room Tip: The cave room had no windows. The standard rooms have better ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prajnakirtane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

A few months ago, my husband and I stayed here for 3 days and wished we could have stayed longer! Serdar and his father (can't remember his name!!) were so kind and helpful and went out of their way to do nice things for us. We felt honoured to be a guest actually. Out of the many places we went on our four month trip, Goreme and this hotel stand out at the top of the list as an absolute favourite. Thanks guys for showing us your town and true turkish hospitality. We will be back one day!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#13 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Cave Konak
Hotel Cave Konak
#2 of 64 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bedrock Cave Hotel
Bedrock Cave Hotel
#7 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravanserai Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravanserai Cave Hotel

Property: Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Address: Haci Ismail Efendi street no.13 | gaferli mah., Goreme, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#11 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravanserai Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Caravanserai Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravanserai Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing