We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Atmosphere - Great Food”
Review of Kale Terrasse

Kale Terrasse
Ranked #12 of 106 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family business Since 1983 .Traditional Turkish and Cappadocian Cuisine .Enjoy Excellent Turkish Food in a Relaxing and Welcoming atmosphere ...
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxed Atmosphere - Great Food”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our group of 7 thoroughly enjoyed our first dinner in Goreme at this restaurant. We were recommended another restaurant but couldn't find it and stumbled upon Kale Terrasse. We met Sal one of the owners who was actually from New Jersey and he took care of our group, recommending foods and quantities to share for the table. Everything we ate was amazing and the bottles of red wine were also enjoyed by all. We had great conversation with Sal as he was able to chat in English and give us some history of the restaurant, his family and his time away from Turkey. I would definitely suggest anything that is cooked in the traditional clay pots that they crack the top off of to serve. We actually went back on our last day for drinks around lunch hour because we liked the patio so much.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank bearmc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    313
    105
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Food was pretty good and they had a lovely terrace. Unfortunately it was a bit difficult to get service whilst sitting at the terrace because most staff hang out downstairs. The price is a bit expensive for what we ordered and I was a little suspicious that we might have been overcharged.

Helpful?
3 Thank trance530 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly service and nice food”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice evening diner. I had the vegetarian curry which I definitely recommend. The service is good, fast and very friendly.
Nice view from the terras upstairs, but downstairs is just as comfortable. Unlike a lot of other places, the just want to sell you food and only if you want to.
Tip: since it quite hot, real frozen glasses (500ml) would make the beer tast even better

Helpful?
5 Thank Sangam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My girlfriend and I ate here today for a late lunch snack. The front area with the umbrellas was a nice spot to escape the heat of the day. We ordered a large sharing meze plate which was amazing! The service was also perfect, will definately be going back for a proper dinner after having a taste today! Cheers guys!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Koops777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Scores on all points”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Great value, good staff and nice ambiance - food was good too! Nice outdoor seating area, ( not sure if the foam in the fountain was deliberate)? But certainly worth a visit, they are working hard at providing a good experience

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank MrPaul50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kale Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing