We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!! Clean Unique”
Review of Koza Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koza Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome!! Clean Unique”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Price was great, Dervish cares.. we sat and talked with him for several hours having coffee... being in a true cave hotel was great... I am 6 feet tall so hit my head on occasion but was truly great location and unique experience. They helped us book other parts of our trip too as we could not speak the language. My girlfriend lost her coat and Dervish went to 3 different places to find it. He found it and it had our house key in it! Above and beyond! Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank js5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
213
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Our stay at Koza Cave got off to an unpleasant start, made all the more disappointing because the other reviewers seem to have had a wonderful experience. Before arriving in Cappadocia, I received confirmation from the family that two seats had been reserved on the airport shuttle to bring us to the hotel. I double confirmed our arrival date, time, and airport location. When we arrived in Cappadocia, there was no sign with our name on it as we were told there would be. So we waited approx. 30 minutes and went around asking the drivers if we were on their list, but no one had us on their roster. Finally, a stranger was nice enough to lend us his cell phone so we could call Koza Cave. The father said he would find out what was going on and asked us to call back in 5 minutes. We did just that and spoke with one of his sons when we called back. With no sign of our ride still, he instructed us to take a taxi and said they would pay for it. So, we did exactly as we were told.

When we arrived at Koza Cave, the father skipped right over introductions and started yelling at us about how he had done us a favor by making the booking and he shouldn't have to pay for it, how he found out someone was there waiting for us and that our name was probably spelled wrong (by the way, our names are very unique and it would have been obvious if a sign came even remotely close) and he added, "some people are so impatient." We were in absolute shock by his reaction and tried to explain that we were told by his family to take a taxi, but he couldn't be reasoned with. He stamped off and we didn't interact with him much throughout the rest of our stay.

Whether to quell the obvious tension we were feeling or because of his sweet nature, the younger son was very helpful to us during our visit, explaining the area, things to do (hiking trails, sightseeing, where to eat) and making a hot air balloon reservation for us. The room was nice and breakfast was simple and good.

I think the family felt bad about what happened, but no one ever apologized and while we loved Cappadocia, that rude welcome remains a blemish on an otherwise fun and interesting place. I hope no guests are ever treated like this again, especially on their wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JetsettingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I can't say enough about our stay at the Koza Cave Hotel, or the wonderful family that owns this boutique property. First, the hotel is both beautiful and unique. Each room (we viewed several) is individually designed and decorated with remarkable care by Dervish (the owner) himself. My husband and I stayed in the King Suite, which was an experience onto itself. Between the fireplace built into the walls of the cave, the spiral-stair case leading up to a private bedroom, luxury bathroom, and one-of-a-kind balcony overlooking Cappadocia, we couldn't imagine finding a better place to spend our time in Goreme. We're picky travelers (especially when it comes to hotels), but staying at the Koza was the highlight of our vacation. But what really made our stay was the family who owns the hotel. Not only did they arrange our outings for the day - which were fabulous, they welcomed us home in the evenings with tea, and treated us like guests welcomed into their home. At one point, I was a little concerned about a small cut on my hand that I had sustained on an outing the day before. Dervish's son volunteered to take me to the near-by clinic in the family car, translated for me, and then offered to drop us off at the museum and come back and pick us up, so that we wouldn't miss beat on our sight-seeing. This place is truly special, and we recommend it without hesitation. Thanks again! Holly & Ryan

Room Tip: The King Suite is perfect for couples or families traveling with older Children (the stairs might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Koza Cave Hotel is a wonderful inn dug into Cappadocia's fairy chimneys. The owner and his family are the staff of the hotel, and they could not have been any nicer or more helpful. Their advice insured that we were able to make the most of our 48 hours in Goreme. This is, indeed, a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Suggest that you spend a few more Euros for a larger room rather than rent a standard room, since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenaiAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Our stay at this hotel was so beautifull, the owners are so helpfull and friendly! the Manager Samed Helped us with everything like arrange a balloon flight what was the most amazing thing I did in my life. He arranged us a private tour with a very good tour guide.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Top marks in every category. Unforgettable stay. LOVE this place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marysusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Had a great sleep,my room was so comfortable,immaculate and had so much atmosphere. The family are friendly and helpful; they care about maintaining their reputation and book only top quality tours and balloon rides.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lslToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 76 in Goreme
1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#20 of 76 in Goreme
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 76 in Goreme
1,106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 76 in Goreme
1,187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#15 of 76 in Goreme
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koza Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koza Cave Hotel

Property: Koza Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Cakmakli Sok. No:49, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koza Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Koza Cave Hotel was restored using reclaimed stone, iron and wood building materials. It offers rooms fitted with traditional Turkish rugs and furnishings. Several rooms have a living room with a fireplace. Some feature a jacuzzi and a private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Koza Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koza Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing