We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Cave Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Turquaz Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turquaz Cave Hotel
Ranked #15 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming Cave Hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the cave hotel in Goreme and Mustafa, the owner, made our stay enjoyable.

We went with my in-laws and had two rooms next to each other on the 1st floor (2nd floor US). One faced the courtyard, and the second faced the street in the back. They were a good size and comfortable, although the bathrooms were a little small. The room facing the back also seemed to have a sewage issue as the bathroom smelled, but the room facing the courtyard did not have this problem.

The breakfast was great, traditional Turkish breakfast. We got to chat with fellow travelers and Mustafa, who was kind enough to help me with my Turkish. He also helped us to book a few excursions, including a visit to the underground cities and a hammam. When my in-laws expressed their desire to get some of the rose jam served at breakfast, Mustafa got it for them.

The location is good - it's a bit of a walk to the open air museum, but only 15-20 minutes.

Overall - great value, friendly management. Sounds like the updates will help make it even better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    32
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
82
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and we really loved the hotel. It is very close to center and has a great view from its terrace. Rooms are big enough and very clean and the price is reasonable despite its characteristics. The staff is very helpful and warm. If you want to have a relaxing holiday you should stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duyguuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My trip to Goreme was in the summer of 2012. I'm reviewing those pics now in Jan 2013, my memory of Tekkaya is just so GOOD that I think I must write a review to thank Mustafa for his warm hospitality.

Before visiting Goreme, my husband and I were in Pamukkale. After an exhausting (but lovely!) day there, we took a 10-hr overnight shuttle to Goreme. We arrived Goreme at around 8, people at the tourist info. centre helped us make a call to Tekkaya. Mustafa came to pick us up in 5 minutes. I first worried if the guesthouse is a bit far away, but it was just a two-minute ride to the guesthouse from the centre. For the rest of our stay, we just walked. Once you're familiar with the way, it's actually just a 10-min walk from the centre.

A day in Pamukkale plus a long overnight ride, we looked terrible and smelt bad!! While waiting for the check-in in the restaurant, seeing other travellers were enjoying their lovely breakfast, I was thinking to myself that it would be wonderful if I could take a slice of watermelon...

Mustafa was just so nice! He offered us Turkish tea and asked us to have breakfast while he was processing those papers. We came here a lot earlier than the check-in time, pick-up service available in 5 minutes and we were even offered an extra breakfast, how could this be possible?! But these really happened in Tekkaya~

Mustafa knew that we had a long ride the day before and immediately brought us to our room after breakfast. Before he left, he even asked us to take a shower and a nap before exploring the place~ Whenever you need his help, he's always around. He may 'look cool', but he's actually very friendly and nice. From asking us to try the Turkish yoghurt, the scenic spots around, the history of his guesthouse... we even talked about how often he went to take a Turkish bath!!

The room is a REAL cave house with traditional Turkish decoration. The guesthouse is surrounded by those funny chimneys, so the view of our room is very nice. Everything is CLEAN! The shower is good. At first I wonder why there is no air-con as it was really hot in the day, but after sunset, I know why. There is NO such need for that, even it is August!

Don't miss the terrace of the guesthouse. At night, my hubby and I went up there. There are countless of stars!!!!! We even saw a shooting star. It's such a romantic memory!!

We joined two tours through Mustafa. One is the hot air balloon and another is a day tour around Goreme. We even went to take a Turkish bath as Mustafa recommended. Both are very good!!

Since our overnight bus to Istanbul leave at eight, we spent the day at the Open Air Museum. Mustafa was so nice that he allowed us to use the bathroom after a long hot day before we left!!

With such great hospitality and a reasonable price, I highly recommend everyone who is going to Goreme to stay in Tekkaya. Hope some day I can revisit and will definitely stay there again!! Thank you so much Mustafa!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tch2013, オーナー at Turquaz Cave Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for staying TEKKAYA GUESTHOUSE. We changed hotels name "TEKKAYA GUEST HOUSE" to "Turquaz Cave Hotel". When you come here again, please find us. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Tekkaya Guesthouse offered very nice rooms, especially considering how affordable they are compared to some of the expensive Göreme options... the quality of the room fittings and furnishings was very satisfactory. The guesthouse is also located quite high up on a hillside, offering very nice views over Göreme and its incredible surrounding valleys, rock formations, and canyons.

The main assistant at the property, Abdullah, is a very kind natured and helpful person, who tried his absolute best to overcome his limited English capabilities when trying to assist guests. He is mostly responsible for preparing the breakfast buffet, and for cleaning and maintenance.

While Abdullah was a pleasure to deal with, I cannot necessarily say the same of the owner, Mustafa, who often seemed unfriendly and rather cold (to the point of rudeness at times). I would encourage him to investigate a friendlier, warmer approach towards interacting with guests, as I think it would benefit what is otherwise a nice place to stay, with good quality rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdviceTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This cave hotel was a lot of fun to stay in. It is small and family run, and you dont get the corporate run-around you get with some of the larger places where they try to sell you every tourist package at inflated prices. The prices were very good, the rooms were pretty quiet, though only basically furnished. Wireless worked very well. If you are driving on your own, make sure you get good directions and dont rely on the google maps placement of the hotel--it is wrong. It is close to the Sultan Cave Suites, which is easy to find. Keep going past the Sultan Cave Suites, and look for the sign.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The five of us visited Goreme in early July 2012 and stayed in one double room and one triple room for two nights.

Reasons that we loved Tekkaya:
1. The cave rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The guesthouse was generally a great place to stay.
2. Breakfast was simple but great and delicious. This was our conclusion after having 10+ breakfasts at the other hotels/hostels/guesthouses we stayed in in the trip.
3. Mustafa the owner was very reliable, helpful and humorous. We asked for his recommendation/advice for food and tours. We were very happy with what he recommended.
4. Mustafa's friends were everywhere in the village!! We had so much fun talking with them and apricot picking at their place!
5. Our bus was at 8pm and Mustafa let us stay in the double room till we left at 6pm. Hence we were able to shower after the hot and sweaty day before getting on the overnight bus.

It's always the people you meet that makes a good trip. Goreme itself was worth the travel but Mustafa made our time even better! Thanks so much and get well soon with the leg!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a great spot in beautiful Cappadocia. From the rooftop terrace, we had a great view of Goreme, with amazing views of the balloons taking off and floating around in the morning (make sure you get up at 6am to see them!) Breakfast was fairly simple, but really delicious and more than adequate (even after 4 days there, we did not get sick of it). The room itself was really clean and tidy. The only slight downside was that, every now and then, we would find a little bit of plaster on the floor (presumably, this cannot be helped and just a natural consequence of being in a cave room). Finally, thank you very much to Mustafa, who was a great host and always helpful (booking tours for us and even booking takeaway pizza for us).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
1,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#30 of 69 in Goreme
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#12 of 69 in Goreme
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 69 in Goreme
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#9 of 69 in Goreme
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquaz Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquaz Cave Hotel

Property: Turquaz Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mahallesi Cakamkli Sok. No:16, Goreme 50180 , Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Turquaz Cave Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquaz Cave Hotel is located between the odd shaped rocks of the Goreme Tarihi Milli Park. The hotel offers traditional styled rooms with free modem internet. Turquaz Cave Hotel has charming cave-type rooms in the style of the hotels surroundings. The soundproofed rooms come with a private bathroom with shower. For your excursions in the park, Turquaz Cave Hotel has car and bicycle rentals that are on site. The hotel also has a tour desk to help coordinate your trips. The hotel has its terrace to enjoy the view from there. Turquaz Cave Hotel serves a breakfast buffet in the morning. Free parking on site. Airport shuttle services from Kayseri and Nevsehir airports are offered at a surcharge. This is our guests' favourite part of Goreme, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turquaz Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquaz Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing