We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Terra Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Terra Cave Hotel
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, UAE
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed for 4nights at Terra Cave and was really impressed. Stayed in cheapest room for 80Euro a night which was a really good size, clean, comfortable and really nicely decorated. Had a beautiful new modern bathroom and every room also has a working fire place that was restocked with wood for you to use every day. Room was made up immaculately everyday (even folded all the clothes we'd left out slung over the backs of chairs!). There appear to be a lot of very similar small cave hotels within Goreme and surrounding areas but Pinar, the lady who runs it is a real asset being incredibly friendly, perfect english and made sure that we felt completely at home, lending us bottle openers and adapters and arranging tours/car hire etc. Terra Cave is also in a perfect location, 2min walk down to restaurants etc in Goreme.
Stayed early October 2011.

Room Tip: The two rooms under the main reception (where we stayed) are set back off the road a little bit furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahb_DubaiNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
157
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Room was as described. Clean, nice, just perfect. The young lady who manages the hotel is very keen, helpful. She gave us excellent advices on restaurants and was reacting very quickly to our requests. Would go back, no doubt!
She booked also some wonderful activities for us.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor. Maybe we were lucky but weren't disturbed by street noisr
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubeck93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. I was even invited to share a meal. The young woman who manages the hotel is very helpful and generous. We just loved it and I wish I could have stayed longer. The room was gorgeous, the bed was really comfortable, the breakfast was the best. It was the nicest place that we stayed at in Turkey. We would go back.
Thank you for a wonderful stay that was much too short.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kosmo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

the rooms are photos from an interior design magazine that came to life.
breakfast is home-made and wonderful.
overall, "home" is the word that suits this place best.
pinar, the girl who runs the hotel, really makes you feel welcome.

the location is great, but it's a bit of an uphill walk. then again, if you have problems with walking uphill, you won't likely be visiting cappadocia, so it shouldn't be a bother.

the rooms have no AC, though i don't see how this can be a problem since during the hot season the cool stone walls are what you need, and when it gets colder, like in september, there is a nice thick quilt to keep you warm at night. there seems to be central heating here, too, which probably works during the cold season.

the bathroom floor is VERY slippery (when you walk out of the shower). don't forget to throw a towel to prevent yourself from falling and breaking something.

despite the thick stone walls, there is virtually no sound isolation whatsoever. you hear everything that's going on in the bathroom, out in the yard, out on the street (it's a rather busy street) etc., and the magnificent acoustics make it all sound REALLY loud. don't forget your earplugs if you easily awake to any noise but still choose this place.

don't forget to ask when the gate closes because we didn't think about it, came back around 9:30 pm, and my husband had to climb over the wall to open it: nobody responded to the knocking. it was a fun adventure, but what if he couldn't climb walls?

what else? there's free wifi. smoking isn't allowed. there are books to read in the room and upstairs in the hall.

despite the few flaws that i've mentioned, i'd gladly stay here again if i were ever to come back to gore me. i rate it "excellent" because the flaws didn't really bother me; i just mentioned them in case they might be important for someone who reads this.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank longsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Hotel is beautiful, and breakfast included the best olives we had in Turkey. Unfortunately, most rooms open right on the street where the ballon trucks go by at 5am. No AC.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hollyluja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights at the Terra Cave Hotel and we were delighted with our room and the hospitality we received from Pinar, the young lady who manages the hotel. When we needed to get up at 4 for the balloon ride and we didn't have an alarm Pinar actually gave me her iPhone so we could get up in time. She puts on the BEST breakfast in Turkey and even cooked up a fresh egg dish for us in addition to everything else that was served. The hotel is within walking distance of the main square and restaurants. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamabren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel oozes character with every room beautiful luxury. It is convenient for walking around Goreme and has connections with the haram and swimming pool etc just above the hotel.
The breakfast is amazing with a huge variety of food- the most we have seen in Turkey, with Pinar (the manager) cooking fresh gozleme for breakfast every day.
As if the stunning rooms and amzing breakfast weren't enough the real bonus here is Pinar. She offered us some of her lunch every time we were nearby and gave us her recipes. She was available all the time for anything you needed, cups of tea or coffee, advice, bookings for anything you want to do. Being a Goreme local she knows what is what and doesn't "push" anything. She is very friendly and charming and made coming back to the hotel such a pleasure. You felt like you were in her home with her kindness.
We are defintely staying there again next time we come back to Goreme. Stay here for the most memorable stay anywhere in Turkey!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tapoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 76 in Goreme
1,106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 76 in Goreme
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 76 in Goreme
1,183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 76 in Goreme
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 76 in Goreme
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Cave Hotel

Property: Terra Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mahallesi, Aydinli Sokak No 24, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint boutique hotel with 15 guestrooms, Terra Cave Hotel is an ancient rock dwelling built in the 19th century and faithfully restored within the original structure in Goreme, the heart of Cappadocia. We offer our guests a spectacular panorama over the unique fairy chimneys nestled in the village of Goreme. With 11 original carved cave rooms and 4 stone rooms, we offer our valuable guests the possibility of a dreamlike vacation and the opportunity to live in this one-of-a-kind culture. You can watch the sun rise, often filled with hot air balloons floating through the valleys beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Terra Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing