We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Topdeck Cave Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 106 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Topdeck Cave is a family-run restaurant, situated in the family house on the ground floor in a cave which used to be a stable. The owner Mustafa prepares and serves the food himself, making you feel as part of his family. Simple menu changes daily, offering a wide variety of local appetizers (meze), a choice of one/two soups and four main courses. All ingredients are fresh, coming from local farmers. The open kitchen offers an opportunity to watch how food is being prepared.Open daily Monday to Sunday from 6.00PM to 12.00PM
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I'm a San Francisco foodie...this was one of the best meals I had in Turkey. Had the mezzo platter and a spit roasted chicken. Simple, but flavored perfectly and cooked to perfection.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sfcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,453
    275
    73
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“must to go”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I love the soup, Meze and the rice pudding. The main course were also delicious according to my friends because I'm a vegetarian. The staff were also kind. What's the most important, don't forget to make a reservation or you just can eat the menu outside.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ubjk121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superlative!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This restaurant lives up to its reputation. The staff are very welcoming and invite us into the kitchen to see what is cooking and decide what we'd like to order. We get chicken and lamb and it is wonderful. This was our best meal in Goreme and we had a LOT of excellent meals.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

the mezzies here were the best! the main dishes we ordered were good but not great. Nice atmosphere the cave is very neat! very friendly service .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best dinner place and best cave experience...”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Reservations need to be made at least a day earlier as they are only 10 tables.
Design from inside is spectacular,you are actually eating in a cave,very neat and clean,little dark,very nice idea for romantic dinner.
A family serves you,they cook and serve you the food.
Taste wise is the best in Goreme,we tried the beef and chicken main course plates.
Service was fast...we enjoyed every single spoon of it :)
We even had a brief explanation for each plate and its historical value specially the famous turkish mezze.
The baklawa with icecream is eye tearing...i almost ordered another plate :)
You must try the experience of eating in the cave .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kareim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Topdeck Cave Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Topdeck Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing