We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average price, average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Cave House
Ranked #49 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average price, average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

I want to start by saying, I highly recommend staying at this hotel if you are looking for a less expensive option. I picked it for its price range and I felt like I got what I paid for, which is important to me.

We arrived late at night and were ushered right to our room, it felt a little awkward but it was late. The room took a little getting used to but then again, it is a cave-literally. I image this would have been the case in any cave suite. It was a a giant room, awkwardly decorated. The bed was comfortable and the there was good water pressure in the shower, which is necessary in dusty Goreme. There is only all purpose soap provided. The view was amazing as our room was at the very top of the hotel with a terrace right out side (I highly recommend getting up early to see the hot air balloons taking off at sunrise). Once we got to know the ladies at reception they were very nice and friendly. They answered all of our questions and were a wealth of knowledge about various tours and activities. The breakfast was typical for Turkey, as described in other reviews so I wont take the time, other then to say, average breakfast for an average price. If you ask, they will make you fried or scrambled eggs. :) The hotel is located up a hill but so are a lot of things in this region. The town is small, getting around by walking is easy and the hotel is centrally located.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alibseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    16
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
35
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nevsehir, Nevsehir, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Fantastic service from Fatih and his family. They looked after us like family members and were very helpful and provided great recommendations for places to visit and restaurants to eat at. They also arranged our transportation and tours with no fuss. Very nice views can be seen from the breakfast area and multiple terraces. Breakfast was comprehensive.

We stayed in room 204, which was part cave and was very spacious, quiet and private. Loved the double shower heads too.

Highly recommended and will stay here again if we return to Cappadocia.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustafaOguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafina, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I don't know from where to start...I am shocked from the positive reviews and I feel sorry that I chose this hotel.
1:When we arrived at the hotel they told us that our room was not ready, despite the fact that it was after the check in time.So we had to wait for a while in order to clean it.Totally unprofessional.
2:I had booked a cave room and they gave us a different room, the standard one which was cheaper.When I asked Durmus if this was the cave room he replied yes.He lied.Finally I demonstrated and they gave us the real cave room,the one I booked.
3:The bathroom was not clean.They did not even put paper toilet.There was a really bad smell and I could not breath inside!Really smelly!In addition the waters from the bath were going outside so every time I had a shower there was water everywhere. No light also.
4:The breakfast was not sufficient.The brekfast area was not nice at all.It was really decorated in a bad way.Many times I didnt have anything to eat.
5:The staff was not friendly and helpful at all!!!They didnt care about us and they didnt help us at all!I didnt feel welcome and I there was no anatolian hospitality,They destroyed my trip.
6:When we checked out the german woman asked us how we would like to pay.We responsed by credit card.And she sharted laughing.Can you imagine?They didnt even have the machine for credit card.And they had to ask it from their friend!So Durmus woke up, he didnt wear shoed and they were laughing at us!When we paid them they didnt say thank you and goodbye to us!!!He was greeding only like an animal.Really they were rude and not professional at any way...It was the worst experience in a hotel in my whole life....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elenaki1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Wonderful hotel in the centre of Goreme- just a short walk down the hill to the centre of the town. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They organised airport transfers and advised on what to see in the area. The room was clean and comfortable and there's free tea and coffee in the reception at all times. There's plenty of choice at breakfast. The views of the surrounding area from the hotel are amazing. We had a great time and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Very nice cosy hotel with great host and manager. They are very helpful and the location of the place is just amazing. The place is nice and clean, the tends to get a bit cold at night during our stay in May but nice cooling temperature in the day.
Its location is very near the city centre and just a short walk up the hill at the back of the hotel, you will get an amazing view of the whole place. Nice place to stay in cappadocia! Definitely a must try!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffloh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I'm a little late-visited Castle Cave House in December of 2011. It was COLD outside, but each time we came back to the CCH we were greeted in the lobby with a hot cup of tea, snacks and a warm fire. The view is amazing-such a beautiful place and the location is great. I just can't say enough about Fatih and his family, friends and employees. They all made us feel right at home. The breakfast was always delicious-they made us warm breakfast even when we said we were OK with the cold. They all go above and beyond! And we had a blast playing with Alex the puppy!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovestotravel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokai-mura Naka-gun, Ibaraki, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

nıce locatıon and very kınd staff.very good breakfast.
the room ıs very confortable and nıce vıew.
bath room supply hot shower.
the staff 'DURMUŞ' arrange a daıry tour whıch you want.
ıf you come to kappadokıa,you shuld choose thıs hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masatakanemoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Bedrock Cave Hotel
Bedrock Cave Hotel
#7 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#27 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nirvana Cave
Nirvana Cave
#18 of 33 in Goreme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Cave House

Property: Castle Cave House
Address: Gaferli Mahallesi No: 24, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Cave House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a traditional cave house in the heart of Goreme, the Castle Cave House offers luxurious cave rooms with free Wi-Fi. It is only 550 metres away from the Open Air Museum and 150 metres from the city centre. Bright traditional carpets, luxurious, marbled bathrooms and stone-carved walls provide a unique feel of the Castle Cave. Every morning, guests can enjoy a full Turkish buffet breakfast. Free coffee and tea are available throughout the day. Hot air balooning is the best way to see this unique landscape. Other activities in the village include horse riding, quad-bike and mountain bike tracks can be arranged for you. The Castle Cave House is 80 km away from Kayseri Airport and 30 km away from Cappadocia Airport. An airport shuttle service is posible and can be arranged by the hotel and free private parking is provided on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing