We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip”
Review of Mithra Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mithra Cave Hotel
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I stayed here with a friend in September of 2012. Our transfer from the airport was running late and we arrived at the hotel in a rushed state. They took our bags, gave us a room to change in, and even brought us snacks because we were starving. Our room wasn't ready, because it was only 9am. When we returned from our day tour we were so excited to find out that they upgraded us to the King Suite (It was two stories, had a trap door, a luxurious bathroom with a jetted tub and .....the room was just amazing. It was by far the best place we stayed during our two week trip). We were able to watch the balloons every morning and got fantastic pictures. The hotel has an amazing view of the city. The breakfast was fantastic, but I was sad that they didn't have greek yogurt....until I asked for it. She brought me out a huge bowl. They also make eggs on request. I can't say enough about this place. Our flight left Cappadocia late, and they let us use a nice bathroom that had a shower etc. Amazing service! Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

After the hustle and bustle of Istanbul, it was wonderful to get away to Cappadocia. Unfortunately we only stayed one night in this beautiful setting - our last night in Turkey. The hotel was absolutely amazing ! The staff were so friendly, came out to greet us and also recommended and drove us to a stunning restaurant in the town (Orient Restaurant). We were a group of 8 women and they did their best to accommodate us all in comfort and according to whether we were balloon riders (early starters at 4am) or whether we were sleeping in and wouldn't be disturbed by balloon guests leaving the hotel (how thoughtful) ! The breakfast was the best we had in Turkey with lots of fresh meats, cheeses, olives, eggs, tomatoes, all just awesome. The view from the deck at sunset and in the early morning with the balloons is nothing short of spectacular and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Goreme. The beds were soft and the linen beautiful and each room individually decorated with stunning Persian rugs and craft from the area. We (2 of us of the 8) stayed in room No. 25 which was very spacious and the bathroom had a double shower and spa bath and everything was just perfect ! I LOVED THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravels456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

It was wonderful staying at mithra caves.everything here is perfect from the rooms to cleanliness,location,view,service.
I highly recommend people to stay in this place itself rather than cappadocia cave resort or any other which are termed to be the best.
Another advantage of this place is that you can have an unplanned trip come to the hotel and take help from mr.yuksel and maureen,a beautiful woman from belgium who has settled here now and they both shall help you'l plan the entire trip in cappadocia wothout any problem and with the beat rates.
We stayed for 3 days here and not a single day we faced a problem about anything.
We would go down to the goreme central for shopping or for our meals and if we had difficulty in coming back then one call to mr.yuksel would make him come fetch us in minutes.i think this service and help you will only get a mithra caves.
Love this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanaymaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I highly recommend the Mithra Cave Hotel! It is nestled into the hill above Göreme with great views of the valley, tufa cones and caves. The hotel is new but it mixes the best of features of an old world mansion and a modern upscale boutique hotel. Lots of charm, good taste and modern conveniences. Each room has a different layout and decor. The bathrooms are large and modern, some with jacuzzi and some with a sauna. The staff is at your service with smiles and the breakfast is delicious and plentiful. We travel a lot and this place was magical!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_braden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My family occupied 2 rooms from April 30 to May 3. This hotel sits atop a hill overlooking the town of Goreme. This fact alone is worth choosing this hotel over the rest. Imagine yourself watching the hot air balloons from your very own balcony at sunrise....The experience is truly enchanting. All these combined with GREAT service from the hotel staff---from the hotel Manager Yulsek, the Front Desk guy Yusuf, those in charge of breakfast and the rest of the team. They all went the extra mile to make sure that we had a memorable stay in Cappadocia. Special mention to Yulsek, who got us a last minute booking at Royal Balloons, when our original balloon company failed to pick us up. ( They claimed that the staff forgot to list down our names). The hot air balloon is one of the reasons we went to Cappadocia, and to miss the chance was going to be a BIG letdown for us. Yulsek was able to persuade Royal Balloons to squeeze us in for the day---just in the nick of time!!! This hotel is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peepeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The king suite is a beautiful room. The breakfast is excellent, provided you order the fresh eggs, cooked anyway you want. Most people didn't know they make you the eggs to order (hotel should put up a sign at the buffet table advising guests about offering the eggs). Internet is hit and miss. Friendly staff. They will drive you to almost anywhere in town and even bring you back to the hotel later when you're done, although Goreme is a very small town, and most places are hardly more than 15 minutes walking distance.

Room Tip: Take the King Suite if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wvzjxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We spent 9 days at the Mithra Cave while giving ourselves lots of time to explore magical Cappadocia, and it was the ideal choice. Because we were staying so long, they upgraded us to a 2-level suite--too much room for the two of us, but a big beautiful space with a great view out over Goreme. We especially enjoyed waking up every morning to the balloons floating over the town and the valleys beyond. It was comfortable, clean and very quiet (except for the call to prayer much too early in the morning from the 3 mosques nearby). The breakfasts were excellent. And the staff really made our stay special. Yusuf and Yuksel and Seher and Rasul and the rest of the team were so sweet and helpful, so friendly and affectionate. They were keen to advise us about things to do, and offered us rides to wherever we wanted to go (which would have been really useful if we didn't already have a rental car.) We had a fantastic time in Goreme and the Mithra Cave Hotel was a big part of it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrywas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 78 in Goreme
964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,048 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mithra Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mithra Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mahallesi Akgul Sokak No:10, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: £41 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mithra Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mithra Cave Hotel has a total of 32 individial rooms consisting in original cave rooms, authentic Cappadocian arch rooms and traditional stone rooms each one different from one another. We are located on the top of Goreme town, where, from our terraces, you can enjoy the beautiful view. Early in the morning while the balloons are flying, you can enjoy the most amazing view of Cappadocia. We are only within 5 minutes walking distance from the main center of Goreme town. Our rooms have been decorated to reflect the authenticity of the Cappadocian Culture and living style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mithra Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mithra Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing