We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely people, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Safran Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safran Cave Hotel
Ranked #8 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely people, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Lovely hosts, only wish we could speak Turkish to express to them how much we felt we received genuine hospitality. The omelets at breakfast were awesome!
We spent 2 nights upstairs at the back in room 106 which was clean and comfortable with adequate natural light from windows overlooking a quiet side street. It was not a "cave" room and this was fine with us.
Our third night was downstairs in the honeymoon room 101. This room was romantically decorated ( quite amusing for us after 37 years marriage!). It had suitably subdued lighting for honeymooners but was a bit too dark for our aging eyes. It was more like a "cave" room.The room opened onto the courtyard and outdoor breakfast area so would be a little noisy for those inclined to sleep in.
Despite these minor criticisms we would stay here again if we return to Goreme.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjcbvsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    54
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
83
136
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We spent 2 days in capadocia this April traveling around Turkey. Capadocia was one of the highlights. The hotel was very nice, very friendly stuff, perfect place. I didn't really feel like a caveman with all the luxary around, but was not much upset about it))

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorZh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Great Place, clean rooms, amazing hosts.
Didn't stay for a dinner but after we were offered a cup of soup and a curry while waiting for our shuttle we wish we did. The hotel is 2 blocks up the from the town centre so it's nice a quiet. Felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WSB-YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in late March and could not be happier with the rooms, service, and price. The staff were amazingly helpful from restaurant reservations to breakfast....I was excellent. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Triggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in a Deluxe Cave Room 103. The room was huge and with an equally big bathroom. It was well heated too. Very nicely decorated with stone carvings and local rugs. I loved the big selection of teas in the room. It is a family-run boutique hotel and had that warmth only a family could give it. Avni, the manager was so friendly and helpful. He arranged tours and transport for us, and even told us how us to walk to some of the breath-taking valleys. A son of the owner, Erdam wenr out of the way to send us to a place to watch whirling dervishes and even waited for us until we were done to send us to a local hamam. The wife-owner of the hotel is a fabulous cook. Her pottery kebab at dinner was the best I had in Cappadocia. She even made a nice local dessert called 'aside' for dinner. Such a change from the ubiquitous baklava or rice pudding. Her freshly made 'boreks' (cigar rolls) at breakfast were very good.

One of the most wonderful boutique hotels I've stayed in with such warm hospitality unmatched anywhere. A definite 5-star experience for the senses.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasHLNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

we had a wonderful stay at safran cave hotel and being the only guests, we're upgraded to a cave suite. Ali, dileck hanum and her family all looked after us and my wife got a cookery lesson too. the food, at breakfast or dinner, was wonderful.

the room was spacious, clean, and had character. the town centre is a minutes walk away. great stay and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quick_draw_mcgraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

it is certainly one of the best hotels. The owner, lady, and receptionist are very very kind. They provided so much favor to us and we highly appreciate it. The location is good and the rooms are clean, nice and warm. The food is very delicious. We highly recommend this hotel. As i have said, it is one of the best hotels, and you should stay here if you visit goreme.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hello10290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.4 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#29 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#20 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safran Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safran Cave Hotel

Property: Safran Cave Hotel
Address: Orta Mahalle Kagni Yolu Sokak No : 3, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Safran Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safran Cave is a small family-run hotel in the very centre of Goreme. All the 8 rooms are inside caves in what used to be a family house. At Safran Cave you can experience the Turkish hospitality at its best. The place has a very special atmosphere, it is impossible to describe it, you just have to come here and experience it. The hotel staff are happy to help you with all arrangements and organize activities and tours for you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Safran Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safran Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing