We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gerdis Evi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
78
24
3
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
24
3
0
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent accommodationturkeybus stationthe ownerfairy chimneysomeletperfect locationkadirsuitetourscappadociacomfortcaves
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Have to report back on this hotel as when I first visited it was very early days!

I fell short of giving it the highest rating as it was definitely a 'work in progress' well it isn't now.

My husband and I got the same fantastic welcome from the owner (Ali) and our stay was superb, aided by the amazing local knowledge of the owner, she has been living in Turkey for many years and the information we were giving made this stay even better. I can honestly say that if you are going to Turkey, this hotel is a must....oh and the breakfast was lush.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadir B, Owner at Gerdis Evi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Hi Rosina, many thanks for taking the time to review our guest house again!! We loved to see you a second time and are now thinking to put your name over the door of the room :) Come back please, we enjoyed your company. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The Gerdis Evi Guesthouse gave us large smiles! The large room was very cozy with everything we wanted to find in Cappadocia; nights are coldish, so the efficient hot water heating system worked well. When we arrived early morning after an long travel by night bus, we were pleasantly surprised to find our room already warm and the welcome so friendly. Equipment in the bedroom met all our needs: confortable queen size bed, ample space for storage, large bathroom with a hair dryer and a towel heating hanger! The room was not a "cave version" but the atmosphere, the decoration and materials used did well represent the unique cappadocian features.Turkish breakfeast was very good. Wifi worked well; no tv in the room but the guesthouse has a surprisingly nice communal tv room. But who needs to watch tv in stunning Cappadocia! The Gerdis Evi was truly a good deal for us in Göreme with very reasonnable rates. The owner was attentive to our needs and comments; he offered to help us at free transportation to sites and to trekking valleys.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadir B, Owner at Gerdis Evi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of our guest house. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Turkey and Gerdis Evi has one of the warmest atmospheres I've experienced, from beginning to end. The proprietors speak English (one is from the UK) and Kadir, the Turkish owner, is fabulous - funny, interesting and knowledgeable. Apparently it opened this year. Had there not been so many other activities in the area I would have been content to just hang out on the terraces and chat. For a single woman, this is a boon.
Comfort is a priority and the beds were indeed comfortable - bedding was nice too, which is not always the case in pensions of this country.The place was clean and breakfast was hearty enough for this big eater. Needless to say, this is not one of those charmless concrete block places :)
Gerdis Evi has a really nice vibe and I would not only stay there again, I would recommend it highly to any other visitors to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadir B, Owner at Gerdis Evi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Awww, thank you for your kind words. We loved having you to stay and hope you had a great trip home. Come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Very cold room during the night, because heating was on lowest level. Seems they wanted to save energy.
Naphalene pellets were in the washing shell, maybe to prevent cockroaches to crawl out of the drain. The smell of this toxic pesticide was intensive and causing headache and dizziness.
The bathroom is dirty and the wet tiles get slippery, so you unavoidable slip at leaving shower and risk a serious injury.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
Thank from0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadir B, Owner at Gerdis Evi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

We are saddened that you were unhappy with your stay in our guest house and if you had informed us at the time we could have resolved your issues – staff are available 24hrs. The central heating radiators in each room have individual temperature controls and we can provide extra blankets and an electric fire for guests who feel the cold (usually for the –C temperatures of winter months).
The bathroom is a wet-room with a separate shower area and a bath mat for use on wet tiles. As we the owners/managers do our own cleaning we are surprised at the term ‘dirty’ bathroom and pride ourselves on the praise from other guests regarding cleanliness. Our cleaning agents are not toxic but safe, hygienic materials and there is no record of any sighting of cockroaches at our or any other hotel in Goreme.
To-date none of our guests have expressed feeling cold or suggested the danger of an injury being inflicted in our bathrooms.
You also stated, on another review site, that staff “pretended” on check-in to be full the following day – as explained we were fully booked for the following 4 days because it was the Bayram week (Turkish public holiday), although the offer was made to make room available to extend your stay if at all possible.
We strive to maintain the highest standards of customer care in a warm and inviting atmosphere and hopefully succeed almost all of the time – as illustrated by other guest reviews on this and other review sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed in sept 12 for three nights in room no 5 in Gerdis Evi. We just loved the room: no cave (who wants a dark crampy cave if you can sleep in a room like this?) but a beautiful new room made with big yellow stones from the area, high wooden ceiling, wooden floor and three big windows on 2 sides of the room. The room is decorated with eye for detail and has a modern spacious bathroom. Outside is a terrace for just the 2 upstairs rooms with a table and some - unfortunately - not so comfy chairs but the owners are thinking of buying a swingchair. Do! ;-) Breakfast was the most divers we have had in Turkey and you can eat ourside. The English owners who run it with a Turkisch co-owner are very laidback and helpful.
The place is not so big so we had no tourgroups but only other individual travellers staying there. Location is on your way to the museum and near the centre and busstation.
Okay, here the critical comment: the matras of the bed felt like a cheap thing, although it is pretty new the iron innerwork sticks trough the matras and was not so compfy on my hips and the water in the shower had in the morning in problem with keeping a constant temperature.

Last thing: we made a balloonflight wit butterfly balloons (the husband of the female owners runs that company) and we had the most terrific experience! It was very well arranged with nice details and we saw almost all valleys from the air, which not all companies do. It is a lot of money but for us it was money well spent!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are newly build and really a lot better than the standerd rooms, they are bigger, newer and nice decorated.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kadir B, Owner at Gerdis Evi, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Hey guys, thank you so much for your positive review of our guest house. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you will return again. We took your constructive criticism and have changed the mattress in the room and also this winter will work on making the hot water pressure consistent during busy periods. Enjoy all your future travels and keep up the backgammon! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews