We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awakened to see 50 hot air balloons filling the sky from our window”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awakened to see 50 hot air balloons filling the sky from our window”
Reviewed 23 October 2010

The CCS hotel is a warm, friendly, cozy, boutique hotel that has extraordinary cave rooms. The staff could not have been friendlier.
Only one caveat; there are steps, up and down and around as the hotel is built into the side of a hill.
A BIG two thumbs up.
The food was very good and if you wanted a different choice than what was offered they were most accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamn_around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    204
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
186
413
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Katherine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

The room was magnificent and luxurious. The location was great. The views from the room were excellent. The resturaunt was good and the food was good.

As a paying guest I thought that the service we received from reception was poor and dismissive. We complained that the room had an offensive odour in it, however although this was noted, no explaination was given not was the matter attended to. We attenpted to book a tour through the front desk however the the attended was not interested and was not helpful at all. Needless to say we booked it somewhere else. The management seemed more interested in catering for groups on tour rather than independant travellers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWILLIKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Wow. Our suite was beautiful and spacious with a fabulous bathroom. Cave-like space with all modern conveniences (cable TV, WiFi, whirlpool bath). Windows overlooked the Goreme valley; each morning we woke up to the magical site of hot air balloons dotting the sky. Hotel service and personnel were excellent. On premises restaurant serves a great buffet breakfast, and you can dine on the terrace with superb vistas. This hotel is constructed a bit like a three-dimensional maze; one has to go up steps, down steps, under things, across, to get to one's room. No elevator, so this is not the place for people with walking issues.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We were first-timers in Turkey. Discovered Cappadocia Suites in the Lonely Planet guide. The e-mail exchanges were enough to convince me to book our 4-night stay there. We have gotten used to 5-star accommodations but realized the Goreme area would be ala Indiana Jones. I had visions of travels during my student days 40 years ago. But what a wonderful surprise. Our suite had a comfortable sitting room with Anatolian arts and crafts as part of the decor, a Nespresso machine, a jacuzzi, and a cozy feel. And the staff was fantastic. Umran helped us book our balloon and Sufi tours immediately. Everything was on time and done with sincerest concern.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feliceMetroManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I recently stayed at Cappadocia Cave Suites with two friends. Our first sign that this might have been a bad place to stay was when we arrived to check in, there was a woman screaming at a hotel person about calling the police because they were taking advantage of her. A man was screaming back at her, but it was in Turkish so we were really sure what he was saying, but she just kept saying she wanted the police to come and the hotel worker kept trying to calm her down.

Nonetheless, we checked in and, after being told it would be a few minutes while they set up the third bed in our room, the receptionist told us they had gone ahead and upgraded us to a suite. She also said the extra bed would be 4 Euro a night. We were excited about this until we saw that the "bed" they had set up was just a blanket on the couch... and not even a fold-out couch. Just a regular couch. Still, for 4 Euro a night, we decided to make the best of it.

The next sign that this hotel was a bad place to stay was when we inquired about tickets to Turkish Nights, a dance show that is popular in the area. A travel agent had told us it would be 55 Lira (~$36 US) a person for the show plus transportation and an all-you-can-eat-and-drink dinner. The hotel person told us at first it would be 60 Lira a person and then later told us that in fact it was 60 EURO (~$78 US) and it did not include dinner. She also claimed that she never told us it would be 60 Lira. Obviously we went back to the travel agent and purchased tickets through him for 55 Lira.

Finally, when we went to check out of our hotel after 3 nights, we had a horrible shock when the same female hotel person told us our bill included 40 Euro a night for the extra "bed." When we challenged this, she turned completely nasty toward us and started raising her voice, saying that she told us that on the first day. We told her that she told all three of us that it would be 4 Euro extra, not 40 Euro. The argument escalated until we had the manager on the phone and my friend reminded him that we had even called ahead of time and spoken to him directly about the extra bed and he had said that it wouldn't be more than 40 Euro total for all three nights. The hotel manager then started getting angry and raising his voice to my friend.

After much argument, we paid the bill since we didn't know what else to do. But I would honestly recommend that you save yourself the hassle and stay somewhere else. The room's aren't that great (it was actually very unpleasant sleeping there since there was no air conditioning or fans and the rooms were unbearably hot and I was sleeping on a couch). The price is incredibly high for what you get. And you can apparently get an extra 80 Euro tagged on if they feel like it without telling you. Plus, for a city which speaks English very well, the English skills of the people at the hotel are very poor. And, at the end of the day, they are just down right mean at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank SariPoage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vila
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We loved this hotel and would certainly consider going back again. The location was perfect, easy walk to town and easy walk to the plateau for viewing the balloons (or stay on your own balcony and view them). Our suite was spacious and bed was great - it all was. The breakfasts were extraordinary, however in saying that we were not told that the restaurant was only available for breakfast and at other times by prior arrangement. They helped organize the tours, which was very useful. The staff were friendly as was the owner Bora. Also highly recommend the local restaurant across the road. The reason we did not sleep so well because it was Ramadan and we were awakened in the night with a drummer going through town just before the call to prayer. Highly recommend it as a great place to stay in amazing Cappadocia.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedazzledPortVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a tour package. The hotel is one of many on this hillside overlooking the town with rooms augmented from existing cave-homes (some in the area are over 1000 years old). Our suite (room 102) only had one low spot where I had to watch my head; it was spacious and breezy with the windows open. About 2/3 of this room is truly cave... others are 100% cave, including some without windows.

Amenities are good: minibar-fridge, comfy bed, modern bathroom, LCD TV, free wifi... we asked for a fan since it's still pretty warm in August and there's no AC. We spent a lot of time on the terrace outside our door in the evenings... I think each room has one.

Breakfast and dinner were included in our package. Breakfast was a little lean (mostly cheese and olives) but dinner was spectacular... no menu to order from, but they brought 4-6 appetizers plus bread and the main dish (grilled chicken one night, beef the other night). They had a selection of Turasan wines that were very tasty.

Note that there's a mosque nearby, and at least during Ramadan the call to prayers may wake you up before sunrise; this will be true for all the nearby hotels.

Definitely enjoyed our room and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bionicsoccerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#9 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#12 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cappadocia Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappadocia Cave Suites

Property: Cappadocia Cave Suites
Address: Gafferli Mah. Unlu Sokak No 19, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#6 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#7 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#8 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cappadocia Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cappadocia Cave Suites is located in the city of Goreme, one of the most beautiful and characteristic locales in the Cappadocia region. The famous fairy chimneys and fantastic colorful shapes of the landscape, make this region a natural wonder of the world. Come to relax and explore this historic, wondrous and romantic landscape while enjoying the finest in hotel accommodations and world famous Turkish hospitality.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cappadocia Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappadocia Cave Hotel Goreme
Cappadocia Cave Goreme
Cappadocia Cave Suites Goreme, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing